Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

Massacre01

No update means good news?

Ya no good. I kena sabo outside.

Firstly I keep get marked for:
1) fail to check blind spot ( which i'm very very positive I did!! )
2) fail to confirm safety ( anyone can teach me on this? )

At road, got this BBDC car stopped by the side. So I had to filter out, when I was going to filter out, this red car (behind me) suddenly filter out and cut me. Then I was marked evasive action and step brake too hard. 12 points awarded.

Damn unlucky :s27:.
Anyone here passed TP (private) first time?

I booked another TP straight after I took my results, mid april. This time the timing I hope is better: 1100 - 1130. Is it better?

Massacre01

Its good if he has more lobang for private circuit, students can save the money. The one that I went to looks like a deserted army barrack camp. Mr Yeo mentioned that he has to pay rental for it, thus he has to charge us for it.

Its not the newbie student that took your slot, its actually the more 'senior' students who are going to take their TP test. If they want to book more slots for practice and no more slots are open, Mr Yeo will then 'release' the slots that are booked but unpaid yet, to them. Priority has to be given to them to ensure that they have more practice and have a better chance of passing. Your turn will come soon, no worries. That's what I did too when not enough slots were available to me.

When it comes to booking slots, I was abit kiasu:

1. When I just started:
Eg, this week I have one lesson, end of lesson, I will book the next lesson and pay him on the spot. So no one can cancel mine.

2. When I'm more familiar with driving:
I will try to book 2-3 slots at one go. Eg, this week I have 3 lessons, on my 1st or latest 2nd lesson, I will book my 2-3 slots for next week already. And on my 3rd lesson, I will one shot pay everything for the 2-3 slots next week.

Most ppl will book for the next lesson for the coming week, so if your slot this week is at Fri-Sat, all the good slots for the coming week will have been taken students who had their lesson on Mon-Thur. So sometimes you have to be kiasu and plan in advance.

3. After I book my TP test:
I book 3 slots for that week, inclding warm-up. And I also arrange to go to BBDC circuit with Mr Yeo. One week b4, I one shot paid all the fees, car rental.

When you paid consistently upfront, firstly, he knows that you are a good pay master. And he wont play you out. I remembered booking for BBDC circuit. Mr Yeo has got the ticket for it and it was still a few weeks later (closer to my TP test date). I offered to pay him first but he declined and told me to pay when the date is closer and thet he will keep the circuit slot for me.

Sometimes it helps to build up trust with your PDI and it can be as simple as paying upfront and promptly.

Hope my experience helps. Cheers!

Seems like Mr Yeo is a good PDI huh. I wished I had read this thread earlier so I could book him right from the start. :s27:

zuldevil

Valuesniper, I never paid for any private circuit fees leh.

At road, got this BBDC car stopped by the side. So I had to filter out, when I was going to filter out, this red car (behind me) suddenly filter out and cut me. Then I was marked evasive action and step brake too hard. 12 points awarded.

I booked another TP straight after I took my results, mid april. This time the timing I hope is better: 1100 - 1130. Is it better?

Ergh, sorry to hear that man. I passed TP first time... Private too. But then I've had prior driving experience in NS. But my NS driving tests, I failed 3 times. :x

Checking blindspot, you must really show (wayang!). Check over your shoulders when you're turning.

Confirm safety, I think mostly show that you really check that it's safe to move before you move. Even if you've checked, before you move, you check again.

For example, if you've stopped at a traffic-light-controlled junction and the traffic light turns green, you check left and right first, to see if there's any oncoming vehicles or pedestrians dashing or not. Then you move. Don't drive off immediately once it's green. Pause a bit, wayang a bit, then move off (but don't take too much time!).

Basically you just need to exaggerate your movements a bit when checking. Sometimes the testers just don't feel like the student is ready or the student is not a safe driver, then they just put whatever points they can to fail you.

Seems like Mr Yeo is a good PDI huh. I wished I had read this thread earlier so I could book him right from the start. :s27:

Can still book him mah. If you feel like your PDI is not that good.

Marcus

I'm looking for instructor (auto car) that can pick up/ drop off at Queenstown area. I already have my class 3 so this will be a refresher course. Thank you. :)

mori1983

Hi, u took ur test on the 25 rite. me same also. 9:15 am. sori to heard that u kena sabo. confirm u will pass the next 1, 11 am is a gd timing to. base on my PDI.

mori1983

Ergh, sorry to hear that man. I passed TP first time... Private too. But then I've had prior driving experience in NS. But my NS driving tests, I failed 3 times. :x

Checking blindspot, you must really show (wayang!). Check over your shoulders when you're turning.

Confirm safety, I think mostly show that you really check that it's safe to move before you move. Even if you've checked, before you move, you check again.

For example, if you've stopped at a traffic-light-controlled junction and the traffic light turns green, you check left and right first, to see if there's any oncoming vehicles or pedestrians dashing or not. Then you move. Don't drive off immediately once it's green. Pause a bit, wayang a bit, then move off (but don't take too much time!).

Basically you just need to exaggerate your movements a bit when checking. Sometimes the testers just don't feel like the student is ready or the student is not a safe driver, then they just put whatever points they can to fail you.

what zul say is true. Need to wayang..

mori1983

Private circuit $50? but me yeo tell me it free. he got 3 circuit. and i think mr yeo is getting more and more student. someone snatch my slot :(
it best to book the date early and pay first, so no people can snatch ur slot. (mr yeo tell me). e.g if u book a date. and intend to pay after ur lesson. most poperly ur slot is taken if someone wans ur slot and pay for the slot.

standard ah.. same thg happen to me, when i heard he say ppl take oready, heart pain. but lucky got book him pior to my TP. 7am to my test time at 915am.

valuesniper

I passed 1st time with 18 points though. Sorry to hear abt your case.

11am-11.30am is the best test timeslot that everybody should go for in BBDC.

11am is the lunch time for BBDC school instructors. So the only cars that you see in the circuit are mostly students taking TP test. So circuit traffic will be damn smooth.

Road traffic will also be at most moderate as weekday most ppl are in the office.

Hope you get better luck in your next test.

valuesniper

I was quite surprised also when he told me that need to pay for private circuit but Mr Yeo mentioned that he need to pay rental for it and he's incurring a loss for it, thus no choice have to charge for it.

For me, it was $30 as I am already halfway through learning from him. For new students though, its $50.

I wanted to suggest that to Massarce01 also but then he has to incur $50 registration fee 1st. Additional expenses.

valuesniper

Hi, u took ur test on the 25 rite. me same also. 9:15 am. sori to heard that u kena sabo. confirm u will pass the next 1, 11 am is a gd timing to. base on my PDI.

Hey mori1983, didnt hear from you for quite some time leh.

1. So you passed your TP, right?

2. Did you pay $50 for the private circuit also?

zuldevil

I was quite surprised also when he told me that need to pay for private circuit but Mr Yeo mentioned that he need to pay rental for it and he's incurring a loss for it, thus no choice have to charge for it.

For me, it was $30 as I am already halfway through learning from him. For new students though, its $50.

I wanted to suggest that to Massarce01 also but then he has to incur $50 registration fee 1st. Additional expenses.

Ah, I see... A new fee. I was told by another PDI (before I stuck with Mr Yeo) that the private circuits charge about $6 bux per entry. If he got an unlimited entries deal for $50, then it's not bad lor. But these fees were never passed on to me, no matter which PDI. Oh well.

Well, Massacre01 has to weigh his pros and cons, for sure, but if the instructor he has right now is quite the cmi type, then he'll be wasting more money in the long run if he has to keep re-taking his tests or pay for extra lessons. He mentioned he's changed PDIs about 6-7 times (I really feel your pain, Massacre01! I changed PDIs a few times too!), and I know it's a lot of money for the registration, but as he can witness here, there are several forumers who recommend Mr Yeo, and I really do think he's worth it.

Then again, mid April is like 15 days away, so... Not sure if Mr Yeo has enough slots to accommodate him. (It feels really weird talking about Massacre01 to you when it's shown to everybody. lol.)

Yunnnn

Private circuit $50? but me yeo tell me it free. he got 3 circuit. and i think mr yeo is getting more and more student. someone snatch my slot :(
it best to book the date early and pay first, so no people can snatch ur slot. (mr yeo tell me). e.g if u book a date. and intend to pay after ur lesson. most poperly ur slot is taken if someone wans ur slot and pay for the slot.

yeah i've learnt to pay for my lessons first with mr yeo :s13:...otherwise will kena taken! :D

but he's a really good pdi :)...

Seriously, is he really that busy??

yah man!!! mr yeo really busy now :p
when i just started, i can still book a lesson for the week after the one im having.
now its like 2 weeks later then got slot! :s13:

Weird Guy

Anyone has private driving instructor to intro ?
( located at lakeside or Tah Ching ) Tks again

mori1983

Hey mori1983, didnt hear from you for quite some time leh.

1. So you passed your TP, right?

2. Did you pay $50 for the private circuit also?

Sori for the MIA. Got problem logging in by iphone and were bz for the arrival of my newborn son. ;)

Yah, pass my TP test with 18 pts.

I did nt pay for the private circuit. He nver say abt paying, he say it is free. What i pay is the admin fees n rental of his car, other that his lesson fees.

valuesniper

Anyone has private driving instructor to intro ?
( located at lakeside or Tah Ching ) Tks again

Hi guys,

Just passed my TP this morning! (First Attempt)

He teaches manual.

If anybody look for PDI around west area can contact my instructor, Raymond.
He's pickup point is as lakeside MRT station there. Rate is 26/hr for non peak, 28/hr for peak.

He have teaching experience of 30years, driving a white mit lancer.
Basically, he's very patient with me and always say "There's no "un-teachable students unless the students itself don't want to learn." He will let you drive around Jurong West area till he feel that you're ready for TP route. Learning from him, you will feel that your on road driving is much better compare to those school learners 1. He got his own ways of teaching and own theory of booking test date. So is either you want or don't want to listen.

One thing to note is that, he can't stand stubborn people that always talk back. He is those responsible type unlike some will fall asleep or don't care about you. If you don't mind him listening to oldies and eating tidbits while teaching, then it should be alright.

There's a one-time registration fee of S$50, and for test day, there's a charge of S$78 for use of his car(26 x 3). He will explain and calculate everything nicely for you. So don't have to worry.

Those who want his contact can PM me. :)

PM Stan91 for contact number. Hope this infor helps. Cheers!

valuesniper

Sori for the MIA. Got problem logging in by iphone and were bz for the arrival of my newborn son. ;)

Yah, pass my TP test with 18 pts.

I did nt pay for the private circuit. He nver say abt paying, he say it is free. What i pay is the admin fees n rental of his car, other that his lesson fees.

Congrats for both your passing of TP test and newborn son! Being a Dad is more important than being in this forum. Pls remain MIA and come back only when you are free :D

valuesniper

Ah, I see... A new fee. I was told by another PDI (before I stuck with Mr Yeo) that the private circuits charge about $6 bux per entry. If he got an unlimited entries deal for $50, then it's not bad lor. But these fees were never passed on to me, no matter which PDI. Oh well.

Well, Massacre01 has to weigh his pros and cons, for sure, but if the instructor he has right now is quite the cmi type, then he'll be wasting more money in the long run if he has to keep re-taking his tests or pay for extra lessons. He mentioned he's changed PDIs about 6-7 times (I really feel your pain, Massacre01! I changed PDIs a few times too!), and I know it's a lot of money for the registration, but as he can witness here, there are several forumers who recommend Mr Yeo, and I really do think he's worth it.

Then again, mid April is like 15 days away, so... Not sure if Mr Yeo has enough slots to accommodate him. (It feels really weird talking about Massacre01 to you when it's shown to everybody. lol.)

Your information tallies with mine. At that point in time, Mr Yeo gave me 2 option: 1. pay $8 per entry or 2. pay $30 for unlimited entry (I was halfway through with him). Newbies pay $50 for unlimited entry.

Obviously, it makes more sense for me to one shot pay $30 rather than limit myself to going 4 times ($8 x 4 = $32).

In any case, based on what mori1983 and xiaode1987 confirmed, they have not been charged, so most probably Mr Yeo has absorbed these fees or maybe he found a better lobang.

My take on this will be that when I was learning from him, there was period of time when business was a bit slow and he had quite a number of free slots (I noticed it on his schedule book). So he has to trsf this cost to us but now that business has picked up, he can afford to absorb it.

In any case, I'm glad that he didnt charge the newbies for it. Its good news for everybody and everybody saves $$.

And for Massacre01, with regards to our suggestion of changing PDI, I hope that you pass your TP test so that you don't have to go through the hassle of our suggestion.

mori1983

Congrats for both your passing of TP test and newborn son! Being a Dad is more important than being in this forum. Pls remain MIA and come back only when you are free :D

Thanks.. Dun wori, when i am free i will be in this forum, this thread. Wish to thanks those recommend me to mr yeo. :D

valuesniper

yeah i've learnt to pay for my lessons first with mr yeo :s13:...otherwise will kena taken! :D

but he's a really good pdi :)...

yah man!!! mr yeo really busy now :p
when i just started, i can still book a lesson for the week after the one im having.
now its like 2 weeks later then got slot! :s13:

Glad to know that you have make a good decision by starting off with a good PDI. A bit surprised though to know that Mr Yeo is so overwhelmed by the number of students - have to wait 2 weeks for the next slot!

Btw, can you (or any current students of Mr Yeo) feedback to him to create a waiting list for newbie students.

There was a forummer smile_daphne who got only PDL but no FTT yet, Mr Yeo was quite busy and told him/her to call back after getting her FTT.

Damn! Why is he rejecting business when we keep trying to recommend him to the whole of Singapore?

He can create a waiting list and take down the students' name and contact number. When ppl pass their TP and slots are freed up, he can then call back the newbie students and ask if they wish to learn from him. This ensures that he has a steady stream of newbie students and he doesnt have to worry about his income.

He can then concentrate on ensuring the senior students have sufficient slots to practice and clear their TP test and junior students won't always kena cancel slots.

Newbie students can pass their BTT first and then call Mr Yeo, put their name on the waiting list, at the same time go for FTT. Apply PDL only when Mr Yeo call you to start lesson.

shalome

hello

anyone knows Mr Leong pte driving instructor from SSDC?

Mr Leong, SSDC manual , car plate 7380 . teach in Yck
contact no : 96893963
enrollment fee of 50 and 28/hr

is he a reliable instructor?
any comment on him?

anyone has/had experience with this pdi?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.