Restaurant owner: Yes, we can hire S'poreans, yes we can pay more for the (S Pass) levy, but who’s going to foot the bill? Ultimately..the consumers

tomasulu

pls la...f&b industry is well known to suppress salaries for both locals and foreigners
talk until so jialat
really is full of shyt
Because the govt slaps a crazy high levy on all foreign workers. F&Bs are one of the riskiest businesses you can get into.

KnyghtRyder

they learn from the best. Profits must guarantee and reserve first. otherwise how to afford their big houses and cars.

aang1971

For food and beverage (F&B) businesses, the adjustment to manpower costs would trickle down to affect customers, suggested Cedric Tang, a third-generation owner of Ka Soh & Swee Kee Restaurants.

“At the end of the day, the cost is going down to the consumers. Yes, we can hire Singaporeans, yes we can pay more for the (S Pass) levy, but who’s going to foot the bill? The companies are not going to absorb all the cost increase,” he said.

“It’s not that business is bad; business is okay. But you have to hire the manpower to keep moving forward and to recover. We have faced two years of losses and now it's a recovery period.”

Mr Tang added that Singaporeans might not realise the levy, in addition to the raise in minimum qualifying salaries for S Pass holders, also hurts F&B businesses.

“And that’s the cost that will ultimately trickle down to the consumers. Everyone loses, but the consumer is the one that loses more,” he said.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/foreign-worker-pass-permit-salary-ep-s-pass-2508201
We stopped eating at their restaurants, who is paying for their Benetley

Evil_Boss

no one goes to eat ka soh... location so out of the way.. only boomers go eat de...

qwerty_hippo

Sinkie has to foot the bill for his change of rolls Royce and bmw.
Say yes to $20 fried lice excluding gst service charge. Song bo

kamhwee72

mybossarrivedat-workfnabrand-new-lamborghini-hereplied-if-you-work-hard-put-28141558.png
Solid

Sultana

bashing business owners earning tons of money.

U also can do business.. what's stopping u . they took the risk of losing their capital and sacrifices to make things happen and get rewarded la. similar to those who work hard trying to climb corporate ladder..

of course there are some ah xia kia who didnt really put in much effort to make it successful, same goes to corporate world who automatically get promoted due to background or scholarship..

cant stand this kind of typical people. kao bei alot but no guts to do it,
At these current levy on FW & SPass, I would not advise ppl to go do it. See how many biz fold. Hv u got a biz oredi?

justice89

At these current levy on FW & SPass, I would not advise ppl to go do it. See how many biz fold. Hv u got a biz oredi?
Ya totally agreed. I saw alot young aspiring one cannot get help or fold because of rising cost and because they aren't financially strong.

End of day younger generation 🤣 unless ya daddy rich better work as coolie don't be ya own boss better .....wait no huat still incurred debts and ah long chasing.

Someone was say MOST f&b huat wor.....yeah maybe lah those big brands lo or those so called social enterprise that mandate and control the kamgong aspiring YP via their contract lo.....end up the YP thought they are their own boss by actually ish working for the enterprise.

PS ish only limpeh subjective opinion Nia........

Stop tokingkok lah..all the F&B owners are richb45tards, just cos they got michellin star, they jack theirprice of food up by ridiculous price just like Tai Wah mince pork noodles. Not even worth $5 a bowl.

kl2015

For food and beverage (F&B) businesses, the adjustment to manpower costs would trickle down to affect customers, suggested Cedric Tang, a third-generation owner of Ka Soh & Swee Kee Restaurants.

“At the end of the day, the cost is going down to the consumers. Yes, we can hire Singaporeans, yes we can pay more for the (S Pass) levy, but who’s going to foot the bill? The companies are not going to absorb all the cost increase,” he said.

“It’s not that business is bad; business is okay. But you have to hire the manpower to keep moving forward and to recover. We have faced two years of losses and now it's a recovery period.”

Mr Tang added that Singaporeans might not realise the levy, in addition to the raise in minimum qualifying salaries for S Pass holders, also hurts F&B businesses.

“And that’s the cost that will ultimately trickle down to the consumers. Everyone loses, but the consumer is the one that loses more,” he said.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/foreign-worker-pass-permit-salary-ep-s-pass-2508201

just straight to point.

I will never sacrifice my money for luxury life to maintain price and increase wage

kl2015

Giving u a heads up dont kpkb when they raise price, it’s all the govt fault.. they also bo bian and cry victim..

Anyway end of the day is to maintain their level of profit la.. they had enjoyed this amount all along and increasing over the years.. with the increase cost, naturally they will increase their top line to maintain the increase in bottom line..

(of course to some that are really struggling to breakeven then yes this is a harsh news to them, maybe time to exit)

why must make the top management happy? dun like dun be a shareholder

kl2015

it helps if they stop thinking of changing cars every 2 yrs or so

it helps too if they stop thinking of expanding and neglect the quality of food as well
no, must change
later shame in front of relatives

kl2015

Business is not bad means good 👍🏼 business can absorb the cost increase, instead of always pushing for higher profits margins for the boss to change big house and big car 😂
u do that they wun have interest to do business already
why do business if cannot earn more profit for my luxury life

hmsweethm

pls la...f&b industry is well known to suppress salaries for both locals and foreigners
talk until so jialat
really is full of shyt
Yup. All these fnb bosses wan drive big cars and buy properties.
Then suppress the salaries and working conditions.

kl2015

Consumers will boycott, F&B business which cannot survive will close down, consumers will only lose some choice of F&B outlets they can patronise only .. isn't that the way it's suppose to work ?
then when they see this nobody wanna do business anymore
if cannot jackup price to earn extra profit

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.