Retirement Life

highsulphur

Looking for inspiration for retirement hopefully in 5 to 8 years time.

Good luck to all the retirees

Would be a good idea to have a thread for retirees

standarture

But the point of retirement is to not be busy!! If you feel bored then..... Lol.

yokine3a

Ppl who only like to travel tend to give me a feeling that they need to see new things need new stuff to occupy their time their mind, once they stop, they feel bored n dunno what to do.

Unless you find joy within travelling, eg do photography, look into the details of your focus objects, or start writing, write books on your encounters, else you will need to keep moving keep going to see new things, your mind can't stop.

endlssorrow

11 months liao into retirement and I am still not bored and still think I dun have enough free time for myself yet.

But slowly slowly getting to the scenario where I can relax and watch netflix, surf net, sing K, and even play video games that I missed out on.

And once I am bored of the above, plan is go neighbouring countries holiday and stay a few days spontaneously as and when the mood hits.

A lot of things to do after retiring even if U dun plan for it. Your time will be auto fill up. Eg. Bring parents to medical appts, join others holidays, ppl come visit, dinner gatherings etc.
Even random encounters with animals like stray cats will turn into daily one hour activity for bonding. Now looking forward to dec cos calendar filled up to November. But by time hit November, December should be filled up so time is still never enough.
Really meh
I watch Netflix for 2-4hrs i feel shaggy n sian Liao Lor

Braun8

TS is one of those young senior. Good for you. Yes, it’s good to retire early if one can make it. Life is not only about job and work. It’s also about living. Great to hear so many in EDMW share their retirement experiences or plans. Wouldn’t it be good if there is a young senior group here for sharing or get together?

Thank you, feel free to share your retirement experience here

archie7

Ppl who only like to travel tend to give me a feeling that they need to see new things need new stuff to occupy their time their mind, once they stop, they feel bored n dunno what to do.

Unless you find joy within travelling, eg do photography, look into the details of your focus objects, or start writing, write books on your encounters, else you will need to keep moving keep going to see new things, your mind can't stop.

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/retirement-life.7070155/post-153971683

Braun8

I wish you all the best..i want to have the choice to retire early too..ie, can retire comfortably anytime if i want to..not there yet and aiming for it..

Thank you, sincerely hope you can achieve your retirement goal, good luck

stingray1211

TS so young, Gahment ask us to work until 70.

no one ask you to work until so long.
the choice is yours. plan properly.
learn to be contented.

then can retire anytime.
got people 30s 40s 50s also retired.

not everyone craves retirement.
some people old and work in jobs that they just go in few hours everyday.

basically many people just do retirement jobs not for money. just to past time. the money is not so important already.

tellyphone007

Thank you, sincerely hope you can achieve your retirement goal, good luck

Congrats for getting out of the rat race!

Can you teach us, how do you have $2M savings on top of a fully-paid condo?

I'm a few years younger but everyday is grinding and stress meeting demands of customers...

not the choice of job i want, but its the only choice i have.

With schooling kids, and housing loan, I can only continue in the rat race.

Braun8

Chiu stay in HDB or Pte? How to have so many trips yet expenses so low? Somemore got 2 young kids

2k is my monthly general expense, it excludes kids expenses and overseas vacations. I have no housing loan.

I share the kids and vacation expenses with my wife. My wife is still working as she doesn't want to retire yet.

coyote

My first three days of retirement life

First day , took a train ride to Simei to buy some stuff, then went to Pasir Ris to take a look at the new Pasir Ris Mall. Returned home and spent the evening walking and running in the nearby stadium.

Second day, took a bus ride to Sembawang to walk around and have lunch there. Returned home and spent the evening walking and running in the nearby stadium.

Third day, took a bus ride to Clementi to walk around and have lunch there. Returned home and spent the evening walking and running in the nearby stadium.

In a few days I will be taking the train to JB and spend the whole day in JB with my wife and kids.

In three weeks I will probably run out of things to do and places to go in SG.

Where are the wife and kids?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.