Retirement Life

charliebrown

My first three days of retirement life

First day , took a train ride to Simei to buy some stuff, then went to Pasir Ris to take a look at the new Pasir Ris Mall. Returned home and spent the evening walking and running in the nearby stadium.

Second day, took a bus ride to Sembawang to walk around and have lunch there. Returned home and spent the evening walking and running in the nearby stadium.

Third day, took a bus ride to Clementi to walk around and have lunch there. Returned home and spent the evening walking and running in the nearby stadium.

In a few days I will be taking the train to JB and spend the whole day in JB with my wife and kids.

In three weeks I will probably run out of things to do and places to go in SG.
sad to break to u, there is no U turn for this road. :frown:

charliebrown

Retirement makes one dull if you don't plan it well. Rather you'd stay on working. If not that then go do some charity or volunteer work. You must wake up every morning with a purpose. Otherwise a lot of bad things will creep up upon you. Slowly but surely. First hand experience watching my dad when he retired in the 80's at 55.
tat is e problem. either retirement and stay working are at extreme end.
if stay working, yes money will keep coming in but cannot choose to lessen e load or work less.... :frown:

yokine3a

quite true oso
started off from say 23/24 yo

made it to the top by 30?
til' they've made it enough before throwing in the towel

tho' to retire at 40 imo kinda too early to slack around ..

but anw to each their own way of thinking :o
40 is too early unless you start 2nd career, something that you enjoy. I saw a late 30s or early 40s china guy on YT who quit his job due to illness, then due to boring life he started making automated toys. Now he can make money to pay for medical bills while making cute toys.

Medicated Oil

- Visit the tourist spot here that you have not went.
- Visit all the GRC and SMC. Every town have their unique pattern.
- Enjoy air con in Changi Airport.
- Perform some part time job to pass time and get some routine in your life.
- Start a exercise routine.

yokine3a

tat is e problem. either retirement and stay working are at extreme end.
if stay working, yes money will keep coming in but cannot choose to lessen e load or work less.... :frown:
True, this is the problem. Maybe take up part-time job is something in-between? Though the pay is little.

mickey88

My first three days of retirement life

First day , took a train ride to Simei to buy some stuff, then went to Pasir Ris to take a look at the new Pasir Ris Mall. Returned home and spent the evening walking and running in the nearby stadium.

Second day, took a bus ride to Sembawang to walk around and have lunch there. Returned home and spent the evening walking and running in the nearby stadium.

Third day, took a bus ride to Clementi to walk around and have lunch there. Returned home and spent the evening walking and running in the nearby stadium.

In a few days I will be taking the train to JB and spend the whole day in JB with my wife and kids.

In three weeks I will probably run out of things to do and places to go in SG.
Every Fri to Mon staycation at jb lor..they sure can afford more places to walk , see n eat than sg. Much more economical to your wallet also

tuxguy

Retirement makes one dull if you don't plan it well. Rather you'd stay on working. If not that then go do some charity or volunteer work. You must wake up every morning with a purpose. Otherwise a lot of bad things will creep up upon you. Slowly but surely. First hand experience watching my dad when he retired in the 80's at 55.

That why planning is crucial. Plan and design your own life rather than typical sinkies- err, stay at home stare at 4 walls nothing to do so I work

There’s so much to life than work

Tiny Shrimp

That why planning is crucial. Plan and design your own life rather than typical sinkies- err, stay at home stare at 4 walls nothing to do so I work

There’s so much to life than work
How nicely designed is your life now? What do you do daily that's atypical? 😅

Kenzer11

TS is one of those young senior. Good for you. Yes, it’s good to retire early if one can make it. Life is not only about job and work. It’s also about living. Great to hear so many in EDMW share their retirement experiences or plans. Wouldn’t it be good if there is a young senior group here for sharing or get together?

Hello_Kitty

get a dog or cat, confirm will have lots of enjoyment in your retirement

eggie011

Need to have hobbies or projects to keep your mind active. Otherwise you find your brain will start to calcify and your thoughts processes seemed to be flowing through molasses.

I have a couple of projects to keep my mind active. One is studying chess openings. Another is doing subbing. I used to love programming, but it's no longer possible to have that kind of focus and concentration.

Oh, retired for 13 years.

Kain999

11 months liao into retirement and I am still not bored and still think I dun have enough free time for myself yet.

But slowly slowly getting to the scenario where I can relax and watch netflix, surf net, sing K, and even play video games that I missed out on.

And once I am bored of the above, plan is go neighbouring countries holiday and stay a few days spontaneously as and when the mood hits.

A lot of things to do after retiring even if U dun plan for it. Your time will be auto fill up. Eg. Bring parents to medical appts, join others holidays, ppl come visit, dinner gatherings etc.
Even random encounters with animals like stray cats will turn into daily one hour activity for bonding. Now looking forward to dec cos calendar filled up to November. But by time hit November, December should be filled up so time is still never enough.

GoodEnergy

I wish you all the best..i want to have the choice to retire early too..ie, can retire comfortably anytime if i want to..not there yet and aiming for it..

The_Davis

Yeah, will probably go Malaysia for some short holiday trips.

The 2025 plan is going to Australia for another driving vacation with wife and kids, and also another vacation to Japan.
Chiu stay in HDB or Pte? How to have so many trips yet expenses so low? Somemore got 2 young kids

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.