Rolex or tudor?

Ivanpaseo

Show off then Rolex. Tudor like a cheaper Rolex isn't it? Or go Japs. Gs or credor, the parent coy has longer history then Rolex and better crafted.

Sent from Google PIXEL 4 using GAGT

Architeck

Got 39 or 37mm. If not even smaller got 34mm, 33mm.

Can also get extra thin version.

37mm Royal Oak wears like a 40mm sports Rolex.

It's not the diameter that matters here, it's the length of the lugs that affects the fit to your wrist.

osirisx

Get a DW, xmm gcps wet wet
Even better than that uncle lolex

Sent from HUAWEI LYA-L29 using GAGT

Architeck

Your wrist so small ah?? Minimum must get 40mm lah

Sent from Samsung SM-N960F using GAGT

The style in Europe for the last few years was to wear a watch that fits your wrist: the lugs mustn't hang off the side of your wrist. Any longer than that, it's too big.

So 40mm to 42mm with standard sized lugs generally fits the European and American male wrist, but it seems too big for many Asian male wrists, unless you're BBFA.

These days if you wear a watch the size of a belt buckle on your bony wrist, will look like those boomers, very clownish and unstylish.

Just wear something that fits.

Seannie

A 10K Rolex is far better in worth than a 5K Tudor.

To me 5K for a Tudor is over priced.
Even if it rolls off a Rolex factory.

The Tudor brand is not worth a 5K

I bought mine 4 years ago at $4k only... now i want to get the new tudor 58 i think also need to queue on waiting list ah..

Seannie

Grand seiko is better than rolex imho in terms of finishing and movement

But a pity it doesnt do marketing and branding

no servicing centre in sg also? Spoilt liao need send back japan duno how long...

Mr.Dohz

0CybuIi.jpg

The explorer 39mm and sub date are my all time fav.

but i also like iwc pilot.

LordKuroda

I stand by Rolex as well, it is a tool watch that keeps time very accurately. The COSC Certification really no joke.

Seannie

Lol saw many insurance/ property agent ppl hao lian with Rolex... but end up every lunch go coffee shop jiak $2.5 cheekon rice, monthly bills also got problem to pay..... what’s the point?? :eek:

Need it to get sales la. Need convincing power to close deals mah. Just like u go out with clients want to clinch biz deals but drive a cheap car, success rate might be lower than if u drive a branded car... clients perception of u as a successful biz partner.

Seannie

Good thing about rolex is that the brand itself is reputable and retains value. I still think getting a tudor is by no means lesser quality but for preference sake. Both good brands but if preference and style wise, I'd take the tudor black Bay 36 cause its so simple and nice. The snowflake hand is also a nice touch imo

Rolec style not nice meh? Mercedes hand bo swee??

Seannie

Even the first generation rose logo smiley text Black Bays are coveted items now, the last production Tudors with tried and tested, proven, tough as nails ETA movements.

How much does it cost now to buy from resale market?

OctopusPrimeZzz

The only luxurious thing about Rolex is the price and build quality. In terms of finishing and movement, Rollie's rough edges stands out. Rolex is probably Volkswagen if you want to compare it to cars. It doesnt even display its movement because they are so ugly. Put it under a loupe, compare it against Grand Seiko and you will hit yourself.

If your job requires you to impress the middle class e.g. car dealer, insurance agent, real estate agent,there is no better watch than Rolex because brand recognition is high. If you really want to go into luxury timepiece or really impress your HNW friends or clients, then you need to move into the Holy Trinity of AP, PP and VC. Even Grand Seiko will show your refined taste for exquisite craftmenship.

Architeck

The only luxurious thing about Rolex is the price and build quality. In terms of finishing and movement, Rollie's rough edges stands out. Rolex is probably Volkswagen if you want to compare it to cars. It doesnt even display its movement because they are so ugly. Put it under a loupe, compare it against Grand Seiko and you will hit yourself.

If your job requires you to impress the middle class e.g. car dealer, insurance agent, real estate agent,there is no better watch than Rolex because brand recognition is high. If you really want to go into luxury timepiece or really impress your HNW friends or clients, then you need to move into the Holy Trinity of AP, PP and VC. Even Grand Seiko will show your refined taste for exquisite craftmenship.

Quoted for truth

Architeck

https://millenarywatches.com/tudor-poor-mans-rolex/

https://www.bobswatches.com/rolex-blog/resources/rolex-vs-tudor.html

https://beckertime.com/blog/a-rolex-by-any-other-name/

Poor man's Rolex? To boomers who grew up in the 60s to 80s, yes. These is the same age demographic stuck in the old mindset and old thinking like Conti>Jap, PAP>Oppo, gold>steel, AMDK>East Asian products, and so on.

These are also the same people who will never pay the money for a Grand Seiko, preferring a vastly inferior Swiss watch at the same price.

Seannie

Grand seiko no service centre in sg leh. Thats the main con. Until they set up a service centre in sg then i consider buy..maybe next generation peeps bah. This generation of people in sg just stick to rolex/tudor. Grand seiko maybe wait until the japan watchmaker decides to emphasise sg market then say. Not now.

Cobra!

I would argue anyone regarding a watch a store of value to be treading on thin ice.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.