Rolex or tudor?

lycheehello

so all last time edmw talk abt german watch heritage and in-house movement is to masturbate to each other and justify why it is better than most mainstream watches ???? hahaha jkjk

Yes I admit last time I bash Rolex obiang, all marketing no substance, etc......RM design convoluted.........:vijayadmin:

anyhowsaysay

Rolex not bad. Solid built but then now many popular models like Daytona, GMT and Sub cannot get at retail and need to pay premium for grey.

But then nowadays i can see those people wear exp watches PP, AP etc...slowly moving to Apple watch.

I think i will go move to apple watch...more functions than mechanical watch..

palmpda

TS,

U need to do proper research on such costly purchases.

At same time, your purpose of purchase seems really weird.

Also....you need to be worthy as a person to suit certain brands.... Not insulting you, if you don't understand this statement, better don't anyhow throw money.

Minty Mint

I know almost all who once owned a tudor upgrade to a rolex...

Just like a tern / dahon foldie to brompton

Architeck

I know almost all who once owned a tudor upgrade to a rolex...

Just like a tern / dahon foldie to brompton

Means they are all one-watch-men lor. When buying new watch, must sell the previous watch then can afford. LOL

Why not you go over to the watch forum in HWZ or Rolex FB groups, or Rolex Forums.

These guys have tens, hundreds, thousands of watches. Old, not so old, new, Rolexes, Omegas, Tudors, JLCs, IWCs, Pateks, APs, VCs, Seikos, even Sinn, all in the same collection. Every watch tells a story during that period in their lives.

What's the difference between these guys and those "watch value" poseurs?

One group loves watches for what they are. They know every watch is a different animal, to be appreciated, to be understood.

The other group loves watches for their pawnshop market value and feel song wearing that value on their wrist, and also cannot afford to keep "worthless" watches in their collection.

bwaysaigan

Means they are all one-watch-men lor. When buying new watch, must sell the previous watch then can afford. LOL

Why not you go over to the watch forum in HWZ or Rolex FB groups, or Rolex Forums.

These guys have tens, hundreds, thousands of watches. Old, not so old, new, Rolexes, Omegas, Tudors, JLCs, IWCs, Pateks, APs, VCs, Seikos, even Sinn, all in the same collection. Every watch tells a story during that period in their lives.

One group loves watches for what they are. They know every watch is a different animal, to be appreciated, to be understood.

The other group loves watches for their pawnshop market value and feel song wearing that value on their wrist, and also cannot afford to keep "worthless" watches in their collection.
Every piece is a milestone

https://imgur.com/mg10EuV

Architeck

No woh initially u didnt mean that. U bashed tudor by saying once you have rolex you wont consider tudor leh.... its like tudor is inferior gao gao compared to rolex.

I know Ferrari owners who also buy Maserati, as well as BMW and Mercedes. In addition to a Toyota MPV. They have a stable in their houses.

I also know women who own Birkins, who also own several Chanel 2.55, Prada's, LVs as well as Saint Laurent and keep buying them.

By that guy's rationale, once you hit a certain level of luxury product, you aren't allowed to buy, or even like, a lower level of luxury product... Not sure what kind of logic that is :s13:

Ah I get it... It's the typical Ah Tiong nouveau riche logic

https://www.asiaone.com/lifestyle/b...hina-tv-show-cements-birkin-holy-grail-luxury

Minty Mint

What i meant by upgrade does not necessary mean to sell away the watch....

Of course, there are keeper and there are people who dont

But from tudor to rolex is definitely an upgrade be it the owner still keeping his tudor or sold his tudor

Somehow most people who bought a tudor would still look at rolex watches in later year....

stupiporean

I know Ferrari owners who also buy Maserati, as well as BMW and Mercedes. In addition to a Toyota MPV. They have a stable in their houses.

I also know women who own Birkins, who also own several Chanel 2.55, Prada's, LVs as well as Saint Laurent and keep buying them.

By that guy's rationale, once you hit a certain level of luxury product, you aren't allowed to buy, or even like, a lower level of luxury product... Not sure what kind of logic that is :s13:

Ah I get it... It's the typical Ah Tiong nouveau riche logic

https://www.asiaone.com/lifestyle/b...hina-tv-show-cements-birkin-holy-grail-luxury

2 hours later you still at it ah?

Chill it up bro. It is a Saturday night.

Why keep bashing people's character and opinion on how they see luxury watches?

Pompipiii

U like u just buy lo. Why need to even ask. I have friends who keeps Rolex, also buys Tudors Longines AP Rm... list is not exhaustive.

But if me I will buy sport Rolex to keep. Still got 70% value despite having it for so many years.

All in a Day

U like u just buy lo. Why need to even ask. I have friends who keeps Rolex, also buys Tudors Longines AP Rm... list is not exhaustive.

But if me I will buy sport Rolex to keep. Still got 70% value despite having it for so many years.

Hmm u count in inflation?

If based on nominal $ value quite high chance to be worth more than your cost price if u bought many years ago

Pompipiii

Hmm u count in inflation?

If based on nominal $ value quite high chance to be worth more than your cost price if u bought many years ago

Maybe, but e value of money is v different now.

My laobu left me a 30yo 26mm Classic steel datejust with 10 sparkly diamond dials n I sold it to pawnshop for 2k. Then pawnshop resell it for 4k. I think my mum bought it for $1500. Not that I pok gai needed e money but e design is simply too ahma looking...

N despite being so old, it’s amazing that e parts r still working fine...

I think can invest in one, if u have spare funds.

apriliasiao

Lai Lai, intro Producer Michael's collection. Got 4 parts:s13:. Very eye opening for all mountain tortoises here (including me). ALL of us can only dream of such collection.

OctopusPrimeZzz

Skip the Tudors and Rolexes. At the sub 10k price point, I think Grand Seiko makes the best watches. But it wont impress alot of people, some may laugh at you for spending so much on "just a Seiko". But the satisfaction of wearing one, can only be felt by the connoisseurs.

dannytan87

tudor is ETA derivative is not near rolex 3136 or 3132..... omega 8801 or similar maybe a better comparison......

ETA got free sprung balance and regulated....... free sprung i think is 21600 Hz......

Omega is more approperiate comparison against rolex.... but omega dun hold value that well...... omega got british military heritage, rolex too.....

daniel craig sea master aquaterra is chio...... the 38mm teal color yacht deck dial......

lycheehello

Skip the Tudors and Rolexes. At the sub 10k price point, I think Grand Seiko makes the best watches. But it wont impress alot of people, some may laugh at you for spending so much on "just a Seiko". But the satisfaction of wearing one, can only be felt by the connoisseurs.

Grand Seiko divers like a bit too big rehs.......if got subby size reco me lehs.....:vijayadmin:

dannytan87

b37b1b4f52ca3d6dc3c3c27e19a83509.jpg

Grand-Seiko-SBGR097-Limited-Edition-Automatic-9S61-42mm-Blue-dial-cover.jpg

chio GS.....

apriliasiao

Want impress ppl just wear Rolex. Most ppl dunno what is PP, AP, Jaeger-LeCoultre, Blancpain, Jacob & Co. or Vacheron Constantin even though it might cost 6 or 7 digits.

rlskyline

Maybe, but e value of money is v different now.

My laobu left me a 30yo 26mm Classic steel datejust with 10 sparkly diamond dials n I sold it to pawnshop for 2k. Then pawnshop resell it for 4k. I think my mum bought it for $1500. Not that I pok gai needed e money but e design is simply too ahma looking...

N despite being so old, it’s amazing that e parts r still working fine...

I think can invest in one, if u have spare funds.

how do u know the shop sold at 4k? u should have kept the watch for memory

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.