Samsung Beam?

Dyles

heard that starhub got no stock till end of the month and price will increase by $100 when restocked.
no stock is due to shortage of SUPER AMOLED screen.

rumors are rumors until its true lol..
if got news such stuff will be announced de ma..
furthermore its not the only super amoled phone

JuXn5566

well,not rumors.:s22:
u can go starhub and samsung mobile singapore facebook page to check it out.
Quote from Samsung Mobile Singapore:
yes, StarHub still selling Galaxy Beam. But there are no stocks now as yet due to SUPER AMOLED supply shortage from the phenomenal demand for Galaxy S.

raoxii

It is the "only" 3.7'' super amoled phone. Wave is 3.2 and Galaxy S is 4.0. These are the only 3 super amoleds atm :p

RipperJack

Hey people, I rooted my Beam today :D So hav access to all the better apps needing root access!~

I did some research and the OMAP3440 (beam cpu) is capable of reaching 1.2ghz on overclock! Sadly I was not able to do this because I would need a custom kernel to put it anywhere above 720mhz :(. I'm pretty sure at 1~1.2ghz it will be very snappy!
what kind of better apps are you talking about here? :s11:
and what improvements can you feel after rooting? :o
is it worth the trouble?

RipperJack

last night, while waiting for movie to start in the theatre, ripper was beaming all around the theatre. had so much fun with moi friend :s13:
ripper's friend kept commenting "your phone is sooooo cooool :love:"

heng, not many people watching the show, so never kena complained =:p

ripper is so going to miss the 黄脸婆 :(

raoxii

what kind of better apps are you talking about here? :s11:
and what improvements can you feel after rooting? :o
is it worth the trouble?
What trouble? Is a 1 click root that takes 10 seconds! I have already taken the plunge for everyone and tested it out, you cant lose anything!

The two best app you can use to increase performance is the memory tweak one and overclocking CPU.

Basically android's OS has its own ATK but the stock values set in that so damn crap that it is quite bad. With root access you can use an app to tweak these values eg if you ram gets below 90mb it will close all background app etc. Basically it is tweaking the native ATK to make your ram sitting at 50 to 70+ at most times. Before this my ram will be 20-40 using normal ATK apps.

Most importantly with root access this allows overclocking of the CPU. The same cpu OMAP3440 has been overclocked to 1.2ghz with no trouble (Xt720 uses this too). Now imagine your Beam running at 1.2ghz instead of 720mhz. 80% performance increase? It will be faster than the stock SGS!

I can tell you such a OC app is in the works right now. :s12:

RipperJack

What trouble? Is a 1 click root that takes 10 seconds! I have already taken the plunge for everyone and tested it out, you cant lose anything!

The two best app you can use to increase performance is the memory tweak one and overclocking CPU.

Basically android's OS has its own ATK but the stock values set in that so damn crap that it is quite bad. With root access you can use an app to tweak these values eg if you ram gets below 90mb it will close all background app etc. Basically it is tweaking the native ATK to make your ram sitting at 50 to 70+ at most times. Before this my ram will be 20-40 using normal ATK apps.

Most importantly with root access this allows overclocking of the CPU. The same cpu OMAP3440 has been overclocked to 1.2ghz with no trouble (Xt720 uses this too). Now imagine your Beam running at 1.2ghz instead of 720mhz. 80% performance increase? It will be faster than the stock SGS!

trouble as in ripper is refunding the 黄脸婆.
rooting it will pose abit of a risk or not :(

butt at the same time, ripper is thinking about rooting the 黄脸婆 to see if the marriage can be still be saved onot :s13:

Dyles

well,not rumors.:s22:
u can go starhub and samsung mobile singapore facebook page to check it out.
Quote from Samsung Mobile Singapore:

It is the "only" 3.7'' super amoled phone. Wave is 3.2 and Galaxy S is 4.0. These are the only 3 super amoleds atm :p

was referring to the rumor of +$100
no stock is always the case.. regardless the size of the screen..
even SGS also keep no stock lol

Dyles

trouble as in ripper is refunding the 黄脸婆.
rooting it will pose abit of a risk or not :(

butt at the same time, ripper is thinking about rooting the 黄脸婆 to see if the marriage can be still be saved onot :s13:

go try.. haha

but IMO, if you're into video, getting iphone4 may just be the choice..

JuXn5566

was referring to the rumor of +$100
no stock is always the case.. regardless the size of the screen..
even SGS also keep no stock lol

regarding to $100 increase,need to wait and see liao.:s7:

JuXn5566

go try.. haha

to me,iphone4 is the best in both still image and video capture.:s12:
dun wan to talk more about it as this is beam thread.:s13:

goaheadbingostan

last night, while waiting for movie to start in the theatre, ripper was beaming all around the theatre. had so much fun with moi friend :s13:
ripper's friend kept commenting "your phone is sooooo cooool :love:"

heng, not many people watching the show, so never kena complained =:p

ripper is so going to miss the 黄脸婆 :(

:)

How to root ah? Can teach Gostan? Gostan is i.t. noob. :o

raoxii

:)

How to root ah? Can teach Gostan? Gostan is i.t. noob. :o
i started another thread titled rooting the galaxy beam. lets discuss rooting and the etc in that thread :). it is as easy as putting and installing this app and then running it by pressing 1 button.

no risk at all. because I already tried it! I risked and proved that it works!

goaheadbingostan

i started another thread titled rooting the galaxy beam. lets discuss rooting and the etc in that thread :). it is as easy as putting and installing this app and then running it by pressing 1 button.

no risk at all. because I already tried it! I risked and proved that it works!

O.K., will proceed to another thread, thanks.

RipperJack

go try.. haha

hokays, divorce is finalised.....
not just coz of cam quality.

ripper's 黄脸婆 just frozed for the 4th time :mad:
knn. sibeh tulans and pekcek. :s27:
ripper this time neh even do anything out of ordinary. it just happens. :s22:

that's it. we are through. :s27:

ripper tmr has a long day ahead, starting from morning 9am+ all the way till night. dun know how to spare time to go Samsung Service Centre :s22:

anyone knows how to flash firmware over the pc? pls teach ripper? :(
or does rooting requires the set to be powered on first? :s11:

silencer22

for those on singtel line, singtel is doing a roadshow over at mindef nex week, e beam is being listed as one of the fone

RipperJack

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.