Samsung Beam?

pilotsnoopy

wanna get the beam...sorta an impulse...and like the bulk...had an E90 communicator...though this seems 'plastic-ky'

no stocks from SH till 3rd week of August...by that time other telcos be avail...

and new bb 9800 shld be too...

Bimb0s

is it the version 8 firmware? :s11:

is it smoother than out of the box? :D

nope, i kept it at v2, yes i believe its smoother then when i just unbox :)

BUT!!! theres another problem, i cant use the GPRS, it just keep searching for my location -.-"tried the whole day. didn work. got the GPRS settings from starhub, didn work either -.-"

PPkiller

damn dulan.. starhub suppose to deliver the phone to me yesterday... end up wasting my evening waiting for a man who didn't come....

RipperJack

nope, i kept it at v2, yes i believe its smoother then when i just unbox :)

BUT!!! theres another problem, i cant use the GPRS, it just keep searching for my location -.-"tried the whole day. didn work. got the GPRS settings from starhub, didn work either -.-"
oh, so there's no more Starhub loading screen right? :D

for GPRS configurations, try hard reset w/o the sim card then put in SIM card after hard reset see if it works? :s11:

coz ripper remember, first time ripper put in SIM card, starhub sent an sms for ripper to reply to auto configure the Beam for 3G services

if it can't call 1633, they can send a sms to u to configure it irrc :D

RipperJack

wanna get the beam...sorta an impulse...and like the bulk...had an E90 communicator...though this seems 'plastic-ky'

no stocks from SH till 3rd week of August...by that time other telcos be avail...

and new bb 9800 shld be too...
actually hor, ripper also starting to embrace the bulk :D
makes it feel very solid :D

as for plasticly feeling, it's the just surface bah.
it gets greasy abit, but alot better than Omnia2, dunno why.
of coz, who dun like the cold feeling of a metal cover, but something's gotta give, hard to pack in everything and still keep costs low :D
look at motorola XT, nice build in terms of materials, but everything else is subpar :(

and if u use swype input, u will welcome greasy screen surface :s13:

RipperJack

damn dulan.. starhub suppose to deliver the phone to me yesterday... end up wasting my evening waiting for a man who didn't come....
:s13: can understand your frustrations :s13:

Beam is very fun and great if there is no freeze.
Hope you get your 黄脸婆 soon. :D
ripper strongly recommend you to stay away from Pattern Unlock to save you some grief :o

quah71

Hello to all experts,

is there anyway to get rid of the pre-installed programs (e.g aldiko ebook)? :s11:

If I unmount my external SD card, is there a way to mount back without restarting the phone or reformating the SD card?

Thanks in advance:D

RipperJack

just now ripper jitao installed 8-10 apps,

after every install completed, ripper runs the app to test.
rinse and repeat. then the Beam started to lag by ard 5th app
by the time reached the 8th app, it WENT INTO ANDROID screen and stuck there! :eek:

ripper thought siao liao, another freeze :sad:
took out battery with dread feeling and put it back in.
restarted the Beam..... heng it loaded :D

it seems like Stability issue is definitely there.
for this case, is it Android or is it the Beam? :s11:
haiz~

RipperJack

Hello to all experts,

is there anyway to get rid of the pre-installed programs (e.g aldiko ebook)? :s11:

If I unmount my external SD card, is there a way to mount back without restarting the phone or reformating the SD card?

Thanks in advance:D
straight off w/o any testing, ripper would say that pre-installed apps are there to stay.
dun think u can uninstall :(

just leave it there bah :(

if u unmount le, simply plug out USB cable and plug back in, pull down notifications and mount again. no need to restart phone

raoxii

got my beam today but am having issues with video playback. Anyone tried mp4 videos and etc? My beam says they are unsupported file format! But it was working on my older acer liquid... any ideas?

RipperJack

got my beam today but am having issues with video playback. Anyone tried mp4 videos and etc? My beam says they are unsupported file format! But it was working on my older acer liquid... any ideas?
install and try playing it on Rock Player? :s11:

raoxii

install and try playing it on Rock Player? :s11:
I did and while they at least can open they shutter very badly! Like video must be 30% speed.

I am not sure why this is happening at all... anyone have better luck playing some video besides .avi or something? very frustrating because my old acer liquid can do it! n is near 1 year old!

according to default specs it should handle mp4 easily!

RipperJack

I did and while they at least can open they shutter very badly! Like video must be 30% speed.

I am not sure why this is happening at all... anyone have better luck playing some video besides .avi or something? very frustrating because my old acer liquid can do it! n is near 1 year old!

according to default specs it should handle mp4 easily!
hmmm.... the mp4 i downloaded from youtube works just fine.
i do have the same issues u had with .mkv files though.

incompatible codecs with the particular mp4 u r playing i guess. not sure if there are codecs u can install like Winmo.

pilotsnoopy

may i ask where did you get it?

Levizt

Hey bros,

Been thinking of getting the Beam but i just have a few questions to ask >_<

1.) Is the Beam laggy in terms of launching applications, typing SMS, answering calls etc
2.) Is the rendering speed of web pages fast compared to iPhone 4 and the Galaxy S?
3.) Any issues with the phone like dropped calls and such?

Thanks in advance for your help ^^

goaheadbingostan

Hey bros,

1.) Is the Beam laggy in terms of launching applications, typing SMS, answering calls etc
2.) Is the rendering speed of web pages fast compared to iPhone 4 and the Galaxy S?

No disrespect to anyone, so far I've no issues.

Bimb0s

i am having lag with sms.

i realise. ATK is causing all the shiet. o.0

After Reset:
Pre-ATK = Smooth like fck. no idea why, even sms is crazily smooth.
Post-ATK=Phone lag like fck. no idea why, i cant even press 3x . while smsing... Scroll of page. needless to say. sluggish.

The thing is, when i unbox, it was quite sluggish other den smsing. now Post-Atk making things more sluggish.

Tried reset 2nd time. confirmed my fears.

i think i will get an additional batt and carry along with me while android eats up my batt life brainlessly while loading uncessary apps. =) (with no ATK installed)

RipperJack

Hey bros,

1) no
2) never compared to the 2 phones but not slow. if it's slow, it's prolly starhub tt screws it up :crazy:
3) no

RipperJack

i am having lag with sms.

i realise. ATK is causing all the shiet. o.0

After Reset:
Pre-ATK = Smooth like fck. no idea why, even sms is crazily smooth.
Post-ATK=Phone lag like fck. no idea why, i cant even press 3x . while smsing... Scroll of page. needless to say. sluggish.

The thing is, when i unbox, it was quite sluggish other den smsing. now Post-Atk making things more sluggish.

Tried reset 2nd time. confirmed my fears.

i think i will get an additional batt and carry along with me while android eats up my batt life brainlessly while loading uncessary apps. =) (with no ATK installed)
buttie, did u try putting your sms process on ignore list?

ripper is using Handcent, then put it in ignore list.
smsing is snappy :)

Levizt

Haha thanks for your help bros. Now considering whether to take Beam or Galaxy S. I guess response speed is very important to me. I cannot stand laggy phones or phone that hang twice per day like my HTC Snap

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.