Samsung Beam?

RipperJack

Haha thanks for your help bros. Now considering whether to take Beam or Galaxy S. I guess response speed is very important to me. I cannot stand laggy phones or phone that hang twice per day like my HTC Snap
then SGS. Beam cannot be as snappy as SGS. ;)

raoxii

whoever was asking, i got it off whymobile. had it all the way sent to new zealand :p

still having some trouble playing some video files. have you tried playing rmvb,mkv with rockplayer reaper? does it slutter? I find that I must convert to watch many videos properly! :(

RipperJack

whoever was asking, i got it off whymobile. had it all the way sent to new zealand :p

still having some trouble playing some video files. have you tried playing rmvb,mkv with rockplayer reaper? does it slutter? I find that I must convert to watch many videos properly! :(
u very ons siah! :s13:

rmvb files run fine.
mkv stutters :(

raoxii

u very ons siah! :s13:
rmvb files run fine.
mkv stutters :(
my rmvb slutters too! they are just normal quality ones too.. like 100mb for 20min... so i doubt is cpu too slow! am confused.

avi runs smoothly thou...

also the usb cable is SO SHORT. i can barely put the phone on my table after is connected. n my usb port is like half a metre away only

RipperJack

my rmvb slutters too! they are just normal quality ones too.. like 100mb for 20min... so i doubt is cpu too slow! am confused.

avi runs smoothly thou...

also the usb cable is SO SHORT. i can barely put the phone on my table after is connected. n my usb port is like half a metre away only
ripper watch entire rmvb movie w/o problem leh :(

think it's down to encoding of that particular rmvb file bah.
avi super smooth.
so far only .mkv giving me lag. :(

Levizt

Anyway to root Galaxy Beam? Seems like there is no news about Froyo coming to Beam >_<

RipperJack

Anyway to root Galaxy Beam? Seems like there is no news about Froyo coming to Beam >_<
Singapore is the first place to launch Beam :o
think rooting for Beam is not out yet.
not to mention Froyo :(

but anyway, if response time is impt to u, u should really go for SGS.
while Beam doesn't lag jialat, it's still no speedster, especially when multi-tasking. :(

raoxii

I have 61 apps installed and so far no freeze... i never use pattern unlock thou!

I have the OS suddenly restarting it self however...

I hope i never get the freeze :p

ronangan

Tis time I nvr use da Pattern Lock! So, I think we can rule tat out! Spent another hour at Causeway Point 2 get it reflashed... The CSO however told me tat the new software is scheduled 2 b released on 6th of Aug. Anyway, I'll b gettin a call from da branch manager 2molo! I'm requesting a full REFUND! Even if I nd 2 bring tis 2 CASE. I hv my fcking consumer right! Freeze once, my heart for my 黄脸婆 broken into halves, second time, my heart broken into pieces n now into dust! Cannot b saved ord! Seem like it's destined tat I hv 2 stuck wit iPhone 4!

RipperJack

Tis time I nvr use da Pattern Lock! So, I think we can rule tat out! Spent another hour at Causeway Point 2 get it reflashed... The CSO however told me tat the new software is scheduled 2 b released on 6th of Aug. Anyway, I'll b gettin a call from da branch manager 2molo! I'm requesting a full REFUND! Even if I nd 2 bring tis 2 CASE. I hv my fcking consumer right! Freeze once, my heart for my 黄脸婆 broken into halves, second time, my heart broken into pieces n now into dust! Cannot b saved ord! Seem like it's destined tat I hv 2 stuck wit iPhone 4!
singapore got this kind of consumer rights meh? :eek:

if u are able to get a full refund, let ripper know, ripper would like to have that option also :s34:

RipperJack

I have 61 apps installed and so far no freeze... i never use pattern unlock thou!

I have the OS suddenly restarting it self however...

I hope i never get the freeze :p
ripper oso hope u will never get the freeze :D

coz once u got it le, it's very sian.
coz u always scared dunno when it's gonna happen again :(

goaheadbingostan

This new software release is meant for all Beam users, right?

ronangan

Yes... The software release is meant for SGB... I think they r still testing G6 version... Da software v r using now is G2...
Ripper, I'll keep ya updated!

Bimb0s

my SGB is fixed after Restore factory settings, , den Restore factory settings w/o sim card.

den reinstalled apps and stuff. remove those most probable that makes SGB go haywire,

things i removed:
ATK
Launcher Pro
Handscent

works like a charm, waiting for the software to come out to try reinstalling those apps again.

anyone knows where to get battery for SGB? i am more than willing to carry an extra few grams in my pouch :)

AnA

So far using the SGB for 2 and a half weeks. Lucky that the phone not frozen yet. However, it restarted to android screen once while playing with the Task Manager to kill apps.

Notices that this phone lag badly when it encountered the situations as below.
1) Battery low power when less than 15%.
2) while downloading from the market.
3) when running the JuicePlotter app. in the background.

For faster speed, think it would be better to go for SGS or even ip4. I noticed from one of the ip4 demo set had installed at least 40 over apps/games and still running smooth when running any apps. Not sure why but still think ip4 smoother and more consistent in general as compare to android phone. Maybe is the way they write the apps? Not sure.

Bimb0s

wahahahhahahahahaa
fcking hell..
i tio the android loading screen hang, after i restart my phone when GPRS failed again.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.