SBF excercise-sep2012

charel_ong

Ouh Topaz! Why not residences or regilia or arcadia? Near MRT n town center very accessible. If i get Opal we will be in the same estate n will go thru ur devt to rush to soo teck lrt! But thinking of the last stop to mrt station i guess it will be hard for us to squeeze ourselves in the lrt. So might wait for 2-3 lrts hehe

Haha cus my bf only wants the flat to be done in 2016 onwards... Hence choices are limited thats why i duno why he go ballot for sbf...

nevelle

mm..yes we need own roof urgently..currently squeezing in in-law's house with 2 kids..planned to move rental..but rental fee skyrocketing..so dropped the plan..we also write many letters to Hdb,MP,khaw boon wang and finally Prime minister..all replied said only "we are looking into ur matter seriously".. but didnt work..Hdb always insist u to apply bto..apply bto then wait for 3-4yrs stay where??
so planned to apply for last attempt..and here we go...good no..light-hearted now...:)

best of luck to u too..

i'm in a rented room w my boy while hubby bunks in with his bro, for the past 2 years.

queue 388 out of 152, first timers, 4th attempt.
every failed attempt = another min. 10 months wait (from application to results, another sbf, or even flat selection)

we've also written many many letters to hdb, seen our MP godzillian times, went khaw boon wan twice - both response were 'you should have went for BTO'.
hello uncle? seriously? 'should have'? I 'should have' struck toto, seriously!
i'm disgustingly appalled by the way he acted on both occasions, (maybe he had too many 'needys' for one night, i wouldn't know, but he 'should have' at least acted like he cares, like on his facebook or something la) but i have to say i'm super amazed at his speed in showing us out - 3 mins, after our over an hr wait to see him.

are we being 'punished' for not taking up the BTO program he's hosting?
ok, we are stupid to assume that SBF is for people who cannot wait 3 years, for those who need a roof urgently.
we are lagi stupid to think that SBF should be easier for those who are willing to trade the wider options available (in BTO) for a home within closer reach but what exactly is the objective of SBF ar? extra round of lucky draw for fun?

do they need people to get out of jobs, throw themselves out in the streets, make the situation really dire n pathetic, get media attention before they 'help' with angelic halo over their heads?

we're going to see PM tonight n hopefully .. i dun even know what to hope for ...
we're so stuck with our heads deep in sh*t, i dunno what to do liao.
should we try another round of SBF? or go BTO?
BTO means kissing our family plan goodbye.
in fact, we may also be kissing our marriage goodbye, to have to live separate lives for the next few years, if we are not careful.

they 'say' they want all citizen to own a roof of their own.
they 'say' they want more babies, more kids to grow our population.
they 'say'.
but they 'do' it in a way that citizens' top priority in basic needs - housing, is done in a lucky draw.

sorry for the long ranting, been cooped up super super badly.

taqiyuliy

Haha cus my bf only wants the flat to be done in 2016 onwards... Hence choices are limited thats why i duno why he go ballot for sbf...
Ouh ic :) great! U shld be happy at least u knw u have a roof on top of ur head in few yrs time. Actually parc vista oso nice but really far frm mrt! But nice place to live in behind the park. Go n venture ard punggol :)

couch.potato

in ur hdbpage did they tell u wen Punggol will start to select their flats? Coz i heard Sengkang start in Jan n HDB wrote it in their page. Err...

never lor. that's why idk how they know O.O
Heard some starts next month. zzzz Grrrrr.

i'm in a rented room w my boy while hubby bunks in with his bro, for the past 2 years.

every failed attempt = another min. 10 months wait (from application to results, another sbf, or even flat selection)

we've also written many many letters to hdb, seen our MP godzillian times, went khaw boon wan twice - both response were 'you should have went for BTO'.
i'm disgustingly appalled by the way he acted on both occasions, (maybe he had too many 'needys' for one night, i wouldn't know, but he 'should have' at least acted like he cares, like on his facebook or something la) but i have to say i'm super amazed at his speed in showing us out - 3 mins, after our over an hr wait to see him.

ok, we are stupid to assume that SBF is for people who cannot wait 3 years, for those who need a roof urgently.
we are lagi stupid to think that SBF should be easier for those who are willing to trade the wider options available (in BTO) for a home within closer reach but what exactly is the objective of SBF ar? extra round of lucky draw for fun?

do they need people to get out of jobs, throw themselves out in the streets, make the situation really dire n pathetic, get media attention before they 'help' with angelic halo over their heads?

we're going to see PM tonight n hopefully .. i dun even know what to hope for ...
in fact, we may also be kissing our marriage goodbye, to have to live separate lives for the next few years, if we are not careful.

they 'say'.
but they 'do' it in a way that citizens' top priority in basic needs - housing, is done in a lucky draw.

Understand your frustration. It's really not right.
I was scared to get stuck like that also... That's why try both SBF and BTO, at least by 3 years will get a house? Than keep waiting for SBF and not getting it?

nrsa.2010

so pity u..:( lets hope the next year will be better for those with kids to have more and more priority for selection as PM stated before.but i hate the system increasing additional chance in the balloting. i think they have to clear those with kids and then married couple and finally fiance -fiancee scheme..and also they have to conduct different balloting for different needy pple instead of throwing all in to one pool..and get a ugly number for needy..

anyway best of luck..:)

they 'say'.

twinklingstars

Mine was a very special case but nothing to do with kids etc, the MP went all his way out to appeal for me so that I can move out ASAP. But in the end also fail. Maybe I should email PM the next time round.

richie.george

Yep - ur understanding is correct.. I went to HDB and the CS rep confirmed it. Bummer is NO one knows whats the real number of 2nd timers ahead of u.. Everything is under wraps!!!

I'm in same situation my queue # is 95 and avail units is 83..

Hoping for a more 2nd timers with queue # ahead of me and also drop-outs..

All, pls help to clear my understanding.

Say for example, in one estate for SBF are 100 units. So, 95 units for first timer and 5 units for second timers.

Say also, for example, there are 1000 applications. 800 second timers applicants and 200 first timer applicants.

Will there be a situation where my queue number is 999/100? I believe not right? What is the "cut off" queue number before the authorities say "we regret blah blah".

Also if I am in queue 200, can it also mean that 1 to 199 are all second timers (based on law of probability) then after the quota of second timer (5) is filled, I am "automatically" the 6th in queue? Am I right?

drop out rate for those in front of the queue should technically be lower right?

thanx for reading and thanx in advance for your reply. (trolls and "haters" pls stay out. appreciate it)

purplehydrangea

Mine was a very special case but nothing to do with kids etc, the MP went all his way out to appeal for me so that I can move out ASAP. But in the end also fail. Maybe I should email PM the next time round.

can try.. but useless. alot of hope was given to me but end up with a lot of disappointment.. ALOT! i was 'kicked' around different departments, end up it only makes me feel super demoralized.

twinklingstars

can try.. but useless. alot of hope was given to me but end up with a lot of disappointment.. ALOT! i was 'kicked' around different departments, end up it only makes me feel super demoralized.

Same here, my MP also gave me a lot of hope, now can only llst.

pasutida

they 'say'.

Sorry to hear that. I suggest u try next year march sbf and remember to choose the estate within 2 km from your in-law' or your parents' house under married child priority scheme. You will have 4 chances (from MCPS) + 4 chances (from the past 4 failed attempts). Total 8 chances I guess.

acetylcholine

Sorry to hear that. I suggest u try next year march sbf and remember to choose the estate within 2 km from your in-law' or your parents' house under married child priority scheme. You will have 4 chances (from MCPS) + 4 chances (from the past 4 failed attempts). Total 8 chances I guess.

Unsuccessful attempts under the SOBF scheme do not give rise to additional ballot chances. Only those who failed to get a flat via BTO in a non-mature estate will qualify for additional chances...

suryach78

Hmmm.. there are a lot of two room flats left over after every SBF exercise at mature estates.

Availability of Flats

Guess it boils down to : space needed vs how badly you need a place..

ya noticed about that too. i guess maybe people dont want to use their precious 1st timer chance to get 2 room flat only (1 bedroom right?, so if have kid it won't be enough sooner or later)

but if no kid yet, can get that first and then use 2nd timer chance to try to upgrade to 3/4 rm bto flat within 5 years. too much hassle maybe

suryach78

i think ur bf really applied for wrong scheme lol. most of sbf units will be ready in about 1 year time, 2 years max maybe.
2016 should go for bto

another irony here coz u can get good q number. congrats anyway :s13:

Kelvin_87

ya noticed about that too. i guess maybe people dont want to use their precious 1st timer chance to get 2 room flat only (1 bedroom right?, so if have kid it won't be enough sooner or later)

but if no kid yet, can get that first and then use 2nd timer chance to try to upgrade to 3/4 rm bto flat within 5 years. too much hassle maybe

It is too much hassle and that with a 4-room it is alr very small not to mention 2-room...

suryach78

All, pls help to clear my understanding.

Say for example, in one estate for SBF are 100 units. So, 95 units for first timer and 5 units for second timers.

Say also, for example, there are 1000 applications. 800 second timers applicants and 200 first timer applicants.

Will there be a situation where my queue number is 999/100? I believe not right? What is the "cut off" queue number before the authorities say "we regret blah blah".

Also if I am in queue 200, can it also mean that 1 to 199 are all second timers (based on law of probability) then after the quota of second timer (5) is filled, I am "automatically" the 6th in queue? Am I right?

drop out rate for those in front of the queue should technically be lower right?

thanx for reading and thanx in advance for your reply. (trolls and "haters" pls stay out. appreciate it)

Yep - ur understanding is correct.. I went to HDB and the CS rep confirmed it. Bummer is NO one knows whats the real number of 2nd timers ahead of u.. Everything is under wraps!!!

I'm in same situation my queue # is 95 and avail units is 83..

Hoping for a more 2nd timers with queue # ahead of me and also drop-outs..

there's been discussion about this too in previous sbf.
the higher possibility is the balloting already considering 1st and 2nd timer, so number 1-100 will have 95 1st timer and 5 2nd timer. but again noone can confirm this, coz they said different HDB officers can give different answer.
so to play it safe, just consider the q number already consider 1st and 2nd timer quota. so can only expect for real drop out, not those because of out-of-quota for 2nd timer before u.

charel_ong

i think ur bf really applied for wrong scheme lol. most of sbf units will be ready in about 1 year time, 2 years max maybe.
2016 should go for bto

another irony here coz u can get good q number. congrats anyway :s13:

Thanks! Ya he even go print out the waterway cascadia *alamak* theres one punggol topaz that complete in 2016.. V limited lor, tts y i duno why he want ballot for sbf instead of bto

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.