Sep 2012 BTO

acetylcholine

kallang whampoa tenteram heights that place is crap, damn ulu ..
even if it were free i wouldn't live there ..

If it is free, I will definitely take. Use the money I saved to get a nice car...that place very near to CTE. Convenient! :s13:

regis6

Tenteram Peak subscription rate is extremely low, will they cancel the project if the take up rate is less than 65%?

abumble

Dont think they would cancel the project. But im pretty surprised of the low take up rate esp for the 3-room flats. The location is not exactly that bad. For those who recce the location, u would find out that it is actually a few bus stops away frm toa payoh interchange, and walking distance to boon keng mrt via a underpass at mar thoma road. Perhaps the proximity to CTE is a problem for applicants?

star_star_crystal

Currently aiming for amk bto..but feel that price is on a high side for cheng san...my SO is thinking of getting a 3 room as he says its easier to afford while i feel like going for 4 room as the 3 room seems really very small..and downgrading in future is easier than upgrading..taking for instance if both of combined salary is around $5k..which one should we go for?

And 1 thing i have been trying to find out is..for repayment of home loan..do we pay back using cpf or cash? I cannot seem to find the answer for this...

tofuguy

Currently aiming for amk bto..but feel that price is on a high side for cheng san...my SO is thinking of getting a 3 room as he says its easier to afford while i feel like going for 4 room as the 3 room seems really very small..and downgrading in future is easier than upgrading..taking for instance if both of combined salary is around $5k..which one should we go for?

And 1 thing i have been trying to find out is..for repayment of home loan..do we pay back using cpf or cash? I cannot seem to find the answer for this...

IIRC payment for loan can use both.

Silverboi

Pay via CPF..if not enough, use cash top up.

You're actually in the same predicament as I am and I have already applied for 3 room with my SO.

The reasons why we decided to go ahead with it is that the location is great and will be very convenient. Also, the uncertainty of the future made us take the safer route, which is to go for something we can afford instead taking a 4 room flat, which requires us to top up almost $500 a month in cash.

We're quite confident that there will be no lack of buyers, should we decide to sell after the MOP. At that time, prices for the flat would have risen and our salary should be higher. Can always sell to get another BTO as 2nd timer or a cheaper resale flat.

DW

I went to check out the Kallang/whampoa site to recee. It's quite quiet and the nearest bus stop to town is about 400m. Not too bad.

I did notice that it's rather near the CTE so noise can be a problem. My current home is near the PIE and it's rather noisy.

There's also a lack of amenities within walking distance.

Still on the fence about this site.

pinkkoala

I live very near to the Kallang Whampoa site, it's really not ulu. In fact it's very near to town.. take bus 124 from Jalan Bahagia bus stop only 15-25 mins to Orchard, if you drive maybe only 5-10 mins. And there's a bus stop beside PIE which has lots n lots of buses to everywhere.. toa payoh only 2 bus stops away.. max 5-10 mins. Honestly I rather stay there than Woodlands (very far!!), Punggol/Sengkang, CCK or even Tampines...

In few years time I think they're also building school/education site in one of the empty lot nearby.

Downside is that the site is just beside CTE, units facing CTE will be noisier, and not walking distance to any MRT as of now. Food, saw that there will be eateries n supermarket within the site. If not, need to walk to Whampoa market (huge n super complete)

tofuguy

I live very near to the Kallang Whampoa site, it's really not ulu. In fact it's very near to town.. take bus 124 from Jalan Bahagia bus stop only 15-25 mins to Orchard, if you drive maybe only 5-10 mins. And there's a bus stop beside PIE which has lots n lots of buses to everywhere.. toa payoh only 2 bus stops away.. max 5-10 mins. Honestly I rather stay there than Woodlands (very far!!), Punggol/Sengkang, CCK or even Tampines...

In few years time I think they're also building school/education site in one of the empty lot nearby.

Downside is that the site is just beside CTE, units facing CTE will be noisier, and not walking distance to any MRT as of now. Food, saw that there will be eateries n supermarket within the site. If not, need to walk to Whampoa market (huge n super complete)

Are there any new MRT coming up near there ?

DW

Thanks Pinkkoala...like the nick too. =:p

Is traffic there during peak hour very bad since it's near the CTE?

The PIE bus stop seems quite far to walk from the BTO site

star_star_crystal

Pay via CPF..if not enough, use cash top up.

You're actually in the same predicament as I am and I have already applied for 3 room with my SO.

The reasons why we decided to go ahead with it is that the location is great and will be very convenient. Also, the uncertainty of the future made us take the safer route, which is to go for something we can afford instead taking a 4 room flat, which requires us to top up almost $500 a month in cash.

We're quite confident that there will be no lack of buyers, should we decide to sell after the MOP. At that time, prices for the flat would have risen and our salary should be higher. Can always sell to get another BTO as 2nd timer or a cheaper resale flat.

Sounds feasible..and 3 room is more cozy right? I saw someone recommended saying that people usually think of downgrading instead of upgrading, thus, think there will be value for 3 room years later..And, is it really possible to sell away the flat after 5 years and then get another BTO?

ohkc69

Make sure you do site survey .... especially AMK Cheng San Court.
Unit you buy must face South and 12 storey above.
Or elase you can greet your neighbour next block every day.
Heard the block near to street 51 is just 20 meters away from next block (Park Central) facing north.

pinkkoala

DW the PIE bus stop is around 5-6 mins walk from blk 16-19 jln tenteram (opposite the BTO) that got 3-4 buses to toa payoh, but from toa payoh to there you have to alight at the PIE bus stop opposite side, and cross over to tenteram side, this one around 8 mins walk from the bus stop to jln tenteram. The buses are very fast because it's in PIE. As far as I know, no jam at jalan bahagia / whampoa. Balestier road is crowded and sometimes jam if you are coming from that direction, but if coming from CTE, just exit at Jalan Bahagia, and I'm home :s13:

tofuguy nothing announced yet, some say might have Seletar Line at Mar Thoma (literally just cross CTE via underpass from the BTO - 5 mins maybe). But I think it might take sometime (if the plan is real) in 202x to complete, now with so many MRT lines in progress.

Looking at the take up rate, is it possible that the BTO will be cancelled? =:p I have mixed feeling for it as it will be noisy with the BTO going on... and less greenery too. But more neighbours normally means more amenities coming =:p

Silverboi

Sounds feasible..and 3 room is more cozy right? I saw someone recommended saying that people usually think of downgrading instead of upgrading, thus, think there will be value for 3 room years later..And, is it really possible to sell away the flat after 5 years and then get another BTO?

Cozy, probably depends on how you design your place ba..
And yes, it's possible to apply for 2nd BTO but be reminded that you will no longer enjoy a lot of previledges as you will be a 2nd timer. Best is to buy resale flat instead.

As for the upgrading/downgrading thing..I really have no idea.
For me as a person who will have a growing family, I will upgrade, whereas for my folks, they might think of downgrading instead.

Polar Bear

Make sure you do site survey .... especially AMK Cheng San Court.
Unit you buy must face South and 12 storey above.
Or elase you can greet your neighbour next block every day.
Heard the block near to street 51 is just 20 meters away from next block (Park Central) facing north.

How old are those existing HDB blocks south of Cheng San Courts? Who can guarantee few years later those older blocks won't be selected for SERS and new 30th story HDB blocks built at that location?

KopRulez

AMK BTO SUCKS! PLEASE DON'T APPLY! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DON'T APPLY AND FIGHT WITH ME :s13:

Hello... no longer no see...

You applying AMK BTO/SOB units meh? :D

Which blk you stay? Knnz.... never jio me go lim kopi. :mad:

KopRulez

1st timer and am planning to apply for AMK 3 room.
Small and expensive..Seems like not many 1st timer applying for it, probably because for the price of a 3 room at AMK, can get 4 or even 5 room at other places.

Anyone else doing the same?

Ya loh.... 3rm AMK BTO can literally buy a 4rm Yishun BTO. :s8:

abumble

DW the PIE bus stop is around 5-6 mins walk from blk 16-19 jln tenteram (opposite the BTO) that got 3-4 buses to toa payoh, but from toa payoh to there you have to alight at the PIE bus stop opposite side, and cross over to tenteram side, this one around 8 mins walk from the bus stop to jln tenteram. The buses are very fast because it's in PIE. As far as I know, no jam at jalan bahagia / whampoa. Balestier road is crowded and sometimes jam if you are coming from that direction, but if coming from CTE, just exit at Jalan Bahagia, and I'm home :s13:

tofuguy nothing announced yet, some say might have Seletar Line at Mar Thoma (literally just cross CTE via underpass from the BTO - 5 mins maybe). But I think it might take sometime (if the plan is real) in 202x to complete, now with so many MRT lines in progress.

Looking at the take up rate, is it possible that the BTO will be cancelled? =:p I have mixed feeling for it as it will be noisy with the BTO going on... and less greenery too. But more neighbours normally means more amenities coming =:p

not to miss out, there's a supermarket n a eating house designed into the bto site plan as well. So i guess this would be a fantastic bonus.

Noise frm cte can be reduced n buffered by the stretch of multi storey carkpark from what i see. So the flats are actually some distance away frm it.

acetylcholine

How old are those existing HDB blocks south of Cheng San Courts? Who can guarantee few years later those older blocks won't be selected for SERS and new 30th story HDB blocks built at that location?

I had similar sentiments when I visited the site over the weekend. The old blocks located right to the south of CSC are very old and even their lift has not been upgraded (it does not stop on every floor). Maybe someone who lives there can give us a heads up on whether that cluster has been selected for any upgrading programme (whether lift or main etc.).

Went back to check on the HDB website and the lease for those blocks commenced back in 1979. So that makes them about 33 years old...those who are intending to select units facing the south might want to take this into consideration. Hope this helps! :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.