Serious help: cpu burning smoke

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Koenig168

A little early to blame the shop. If it is a no-name PSU, then there is a good chance it is a PSU problem. Corsair? Unlikely.

The MB needs to be checked. Could be the CPU which burnt. Any number of reasons - CPU fan dead, thermal paste dried out (I'm willing to bet TS has never replaced the thermal paste all these years).

Rgyl11

normally oem mobo r quite low performance, cost cut, simple bios and cnt tweet.
ur mobo is bit performance range come wif liteon 460psu, but i stil prefer diy mobo for upgrade and performance, running as it original config is still ok , upgrade den u nid to test den u noe esp durin warrany time e vendor may not wan to honor it.

Have receipt and everything should be safe to look for them right ? So what do you guys recommend I should do ? Change back to my oem acer psu ? Or just continue using a new replaced psu from them or any other suggestions

Coolman

Have receipt and everything should be safe to look for them right ? So what do you guys recommend I should do ? Change back to my oem acer psu ? Or just continue using a new replaced psu from them or any other suggestions

put back original, liton psu and no gfx card(or ur original gfx card if come wif) and test run.

Rgyl11

put back original, liton psu and no gfx card(or ur original gfx card if come wif) and test run.

I've never diy before so I might have difficulties to put it back myself.. Should I just bring everything back to that shop?

Coolman

I've never diy before so I might have difficulties to put it back myself.. Should I just bring everything back to that shop?

haha, i can't help u on tis, bin back to e shop and blame e psu, ask them to help u cfm.

Rgyl11

haha, i can't help u on tis, bin back to e shop and blame e psu, ask them to help u cfm.

Hmm I think that's my only way out. Thanks a lot for your help

And those who replied and guide me along ! Really appreciate it.

Rgyl11

A little early to blame the shop. If it is a no-name PSU, then there is a good chance it is a PSU problem. Corsair? Unlikely.

The MB needs to be checked. Could be the CPU which burnt. Any number of reasons - CPU fan dead, thermal paste dried out (I'm willing to bet TS has never replaced the thermal paste all these years).

You're right about thermal paste tho I don't know what's it for ..

However real strong burnt smell coming for psu than any other place and no signs of burnt mark on mobo or ram which these 3 are the reeking of smoke smell.

What could be the cause of the burning I wonder ... I was just 30 mins to using it and when I just started a movie from vlc( no other programs running, google chrome maybe) the scent start coming I immediately turn off power plug. Using my comp for 5-6 years no such situation and been on new psu and gpu close to 1-2 months without issue

sacredrays

time to learn a bit on diy comp if you don't want to get chopped next time.. :s13::s13:

Rgyl11

time to learn a bit on diy comp if you don't want to get chopped next time.. :s13::s13:

That's why sometimes I consider prebuilt. Get chopped by branded rather than distributors. Haha unless there's a highly trustable professional. At least prebuilt has qc and balance well.

sacredrays

That's why sometimes I consider prebuilt. Get chopped by branded rather than distributors. Haha unless there's a highly trustable professional. At least prebuilt has qc and balance well.

you're kidding me right... :s13::s13::s13:

Coolman

since u took out gfx card to smell, replacing psu is e nxt step to learnt, just a few big cables only, u can take a photo snap b4 u start, connectors to mobo, to hardisk/cd rom/ fans(dun worry it all dc voltage even led lights, wun kill u), small pins connectors dun touch they r to e casing(oem can b just usin one connectors cables only from casin to its oem mobo).

Koenig168

You're right about thermal paste tho I don't know what's it for ..

However real strong burnt smell coming for psu than any other place and no signs of burnt mark on mobo or ram which these 3 are the reeking of smoke smell.

What could be the cause of the burning I wonder ... I was just 30 mins to using it and when I just started a movie from vlc( no other programs running, google chrome maybe) the scent start coming I immediately turn off power plug. Using my comp for 5-6 years no such situation and been on new psu and gpu close to 1-2 months without issue

Could be the CPU burning or as you said, could be the PSU. It's all guesswork at this point without checking and troubleshooting each part. Learn to DIY. After the first time, you will realize how easy it is.

jtjt00

I'm serious .... One thing about this forum everybody hates prebuilt lol

This forums is meant for DIY, helping and sharing with bro/sis of like minded. It can be troubleshooting, reviewing new hardware, lobang, networking, OS/software, networking and other issues.

Rgyl11

since u took out gfx card to smell, replacing psu is e nxt step to learnt, just a few big cables only, u can take a photo snap b4 u start, connectors to mobo, to hardisk/cd rom/ fans(dun worry it all dc voltage even led lights, wun kill u), small pins connectors dun touch they r to e casing(oem can b just usin one connectors cables only from casin to its oem mobo).

What test run should I do if let's say I manage to replace the psu. And is it safe to boot with current set up first without changing anything to see again if burn n smoke still exist?

Because I panicked yesterday and turn off the power plug too soon while my pc screen is still showing fine (my show is still screening and showing haha)

On the other hand I was watching show about electrical transmitted ghost(ghost relativity drama) :O

Rgyl11

Could be the CPU burning or as you said, could be the PSU. It's all guesswork at this point without checking and troubleshooting each part. Learn to DIY. After the first time, you will realize how easy it is.

Yeah it look easy looking at video and how the person did my pc except the part where psu cable are messy.

Phelan

some ppl go split the motherboard fan headers to multiple fans on other forums. That was some of the causes when i search smoke from pc online.
That why i checked if he fixed it himself or shop fixed.
That has nothing to do with power supply. It's caused by overloading the fan header by drawing current over the rated amount.

sacredrays

inspect all your components for burnt marks lor... that's the only way to pin point where the fault is

Steyr69

Quite true....and there is on site support.
My colleague bought a DELL and his dad for some reasons...keep on burning DVDs....making duplicates....then the DVD ROM spoilt.
Faster call DELL and the next day, they sent a technician down to troubleshoot n replace the defective ROM.

I'm serious .... One thing about this forum everybody hates prebuilt lol

Nothing against pre-built.
It is just not in our mind becoz many of us here knows basic DIY PC.
But I have to point out the prebuit systems makes it hard to do custom upgrading at times.
Not much flexibility. If want to upgrade or change a part, I find there are limitations.
Like for rams, some mainstream rams those prebuilt sets cant recognize.
Very nitty gritty small annoyances which I find it in the end is best to get the parts n DIY one myself.

Steyr69

Yeah it look easy looking at video and how the person did my pc except the part where psu cable are messy.

it is not rocket science and if you analyze....certain cables can only go n fit a specific port.
Everything is connected to the motherboard.

that said...coming back to your problem...since you dont have much DIY experience, suggest you to bring the PC to Nigel's shop. Let him pin point whether the PSU is spoilt or may be the entire mobo is jeopardized.

if you bring the PC back to the original shop...the shop will smoke screen and tell you some other thing spoil....then end up you might get chop again.

Nigel's shop is #02-32 at Sim Lim Sq....incidentally at Level 2.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.