Sharp Aquos phones

https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/mobile/smartphones/sharp-aquos-r10-launch-singapore-specs-price

According to another Taiwanese Reviewer, apparently the boosted sensor is copied from R9 Pro and SDXC support is actually up to 2TB and not 1TB as reported by HWZ.

Said reviewer (who is also diehard JP Smartphone fan) was at the R10 launch event in Taiwan, and also mentioned that R10 is getting 3+5 support (3 Android Versions + 5 years Security). Very jialat VoH given the original asking price of $1,099 ($999 is Launch sale price).

Though the only bright spark for Sharp Aquos phones is the OS is considered near-stock with only Sharp Apps that is needed to operate the phone's hardware functions, similar to the Sharp Z2 I used to own 10 years ago. Meaning less hassle to do app debloating for those who know how to do it.

Nothing's CMF Phone 2 gets 3+6 support and same max 3k nits brightness screen for only 40% of it's price ($359), not to mention the 5+7 (originally to comply with EU Regulations on new devices wef July but expanded to all Versions anyway) support Nothing Phone (3) gets for $200 extra ($1,199, same price as Sharp Aquos R9 Pro), 50% higher max brightness display (4,500 nits) and 1 extra year of warranty.

limmk

https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/mobile/smartphones/sharp-aquos-r10-launch-singapore-specs-price

According to another Taiwanese Reviewer, apparently the boosted sensor is copied from R9 Pro and SDXC support is actually up to 2TB and not 1TB as reported by HWZ.

Same reviewer (who is also diehard JP Smartphone fan) was at the R10 launch event in Taiwan, and also mentioned that R10 is getting 3+5 support (3 Android Versions + 5 years Security). Very jialat VoH given the original asking price of $1,099 ($999 is Launch sale price).

Nothing's CMF Phone 2 gets 3+6 support for only 40% of it's price ($359), not to mention the 5+7 (originally to comply with EU Regulations on new devices wef July but expanded to all Versions anyway) support Nothing Phone (3) gets for $200 extra ($1,199) and 1 extra year of warranty.
9QFyZ0t.gif

The "superfan" in question:

Video Timestamps:
1:50 mentions the R10's "New sensor" is in fact the "Color spectrum sensor" found previously in the R9 Pro.
5:37 mentions Taiwan getting 12GB+256GB and 12GB+512GB options, Singapore Market gets only the 12GB+512GB version.
6:27 mentions Cooling system, and yes again, "Ctrl C + Ctrl V" from R9 Pro as well!!
6:50 mentions ANOTHER "Ctrl C + Ctrl V" from R9 Pro: 3+5 Support (3 Android Versions + 5 years Security)

Essentially, R10 is like R9 with added R9 Pro functions and bumped-up peak brightness display. Thing is R10 still does not have Wireless Charging (36W) but has wired charging faster than R9 Pro (32W).

gripen

The "superfan" in question:

Video Timestamps:
1:50 mentions the R10's "New sensor" is in fact the "Color spectrum sensor" found previously in the R9 Pro.
5:37 mentions Taiwan getting 12GB+256GB and 12GB+512GB options, Singapore Market gets only the 12GB+512GB version.
6:27 mentions Cooling system, and yes again, "Ctrl C + Ctrl V" from R9 Pro as well!!
6:50 mentions ANOTHER "Ctrl C + Ctrl V" from R9 Pro: 3+5 Support (3 Android Versions + 5 years Security)

Essentially, R10 is like R9 with added R9 Pro functions and bumped-up peak brightness display. Thing is R10 still does not have Wireless Charging (36W) but has wired charging faster than R9 Pro (32W).

The main camera is a different one apparently, though of a similar size 1.55.
The R9 had very inaccurate color capture & rendition of photos.
Eg: Red backlight can become orange in indoor conditions
That could be why the Color spectrum sensor is needed.

KeYoKe

One is better off getting r9 at 398 now....

R10 is 909 based on 8.8 price.... I wonder what sharp is doing.

Exact same package, just hairline improvement, and the selling price is :s22: who in their crazy mind will pay 1069 for the phone, or even 909 during 8.8 promo.....

*Users who want Chargers included with the Phone raised their hands.*

No kidding, Sharp Aquos Phones are currently the ONLY brand here that STILL provides their own branded Chargers with all their phones, which dates back to pre-Foxconn days where included chargers was the norm.
Proof? My sister recently purchased Sharp Aquos Wish4 ($199) that actually comes with a Sharp-branded UK 2-pin Type-C charger included in the box. Even I personally keep the Sharp-branded white-coloured 3-pin Charger from the Sharp Z2 purchased in 2017.
Even the Aquos R10 sold here will also come with one too.
Dunno why but Sharp may be deliberate in the pricing for R10 as lower than R9 Pro ($1,199) with SD 8s Gen3 that has same specs as R10 but no expandable storage. Possible R10 Pro with SD 8s Gen4 incoming after this??

limmk

One is better off getting r9 at 398 now....

R10 is 909 based on 8.8 price.... I wonder what sharp is doing.

Ya lor, price gap so big for just small upgrade… better save the $$ and go R9. Sharp like lost the plot sia

KeYoKe

*Users who want Chargers included with the Phone raised their hands.*

No kidding, Sharp Aquos Phones are currently the ONLY brand here that STILL provides their own branded Chargers with all their phones, which dates back to pre-Foxconn days where included chargers was the norm.
Proof? My sister recently purchased Sharp Aquos Wish4 ($199) that actually comes with a Sharp-branded UK 2-pin Type-C charger included in the box. Even I personally keep the Sharp-branded white-coloured 3-pin Charger from the Sharp Z2 purchased in 2017.
Even the Aquos R10 sold here will also come with one too.
Dunno why but Sharp may be deliberate in the pricing for R10 as lower than R9 Pro ($1,199) with SD 8s Gen3 that has same specs as R10 but no expandable storage. Possible R10 Pro with SD 8s Gen4 incoming after this??

Paying 600 extra for original sharp chargers ah? :s22: I can buy tons of chargers at 600

Am definitely not the one, and not crazy enough to do so. I am unsure why they use back 7+g3 still...

froztheart

Paying 600 extra for original sharp chargers ah? :s22: I can buy tons of chargers at 600

Am definitely not the one, and not crazy enough to do so. I am unsure why they use back 7+g3 still...
Tons of options nowadays that provides the same or better results.
Don't make sense to pay more just for OG chargers. :s13:

gripen

My Sharp Wish 4 at my workplace gets more frequent Android security upgrades (once in 3-4 months).
Was at April security update, just updated to July security update this week.

The popularity of the phone model can play a part in update frequency.
I doubt R9 & R9Pro are popular.

KeYoKe

My Sharp Wish 4 at my workplace gets more frequent Android security upgrades (once in 3-4 months).
The popularity of the phone model can play a part in update frequency.
I doubt R9 & R9Pro are popular.
They kill themselves from the pricing.... If they price it 400, it will definitely a more popular phone

India nationals would pay more for getting original chargers in phones that work as designed than paying pennies for counterfeit ones that don't work. Just ask those India users of CMF/Nothing Phones on Reddit, not like some countries where they properly certify 3rd party chargers before they can be sold in stores (think SafetyMark here for instance).

Also, using back 7+g3 is the only way because Qualcomm never released 7+g4 (SD7 g4 was only announced in May alongside SD8s g4) early enough for Foxconn to secure SoC orders for Sharp Mobile.

Psychotik

While the Wish 5 was quite an upgrade compared to the Wish 4, the current R10 is more like a R9+. I think it's going to remain hard sell unless price point goes down to the 600 range. Now just waiting to see what other upgrades are coming for the Sense 10 and R10 Pro end of the year.

KeYoKe

India nationals would pay more for getting original chargers in phones that work as designed than paying pennies for counterfeit ones that don't work. Just ask those India users of CMF/Nothing Phones on Reddit, not like some countries where they properly certify 3rd party chargers before they can be sold in stores (think SafetyMark here for instance).

Also, using back 7+g3 is the only way because Qualcomm never released 7+g4 (SD7 g4 was only announced in May alongside SD8s g4) early enough for Foxconn to secure SoC orders for Sharp Mobile.
For me that is not a good reason why they are still using back 7+g3. Even if 7+g4 is not released, they should have gone with 8sg4 or what. To me, they are just chopping carrot heads. This is way too much already imo.

I am unsure how the users in India thinks though. To me, I rather have a multi port USB charger then a USB charger with only 1 port.

For me that is not a good reason why they are still using back 7+g3. Even if 7+g4 is not released, they should have gone with 8sg4 or what. To me, they are just chopping carrot heads. This is way too much already imo.

I am unsure how the users in India thinks though. To me, I rather have a multi port USB charger then a USB charger with only 1 port.
What I know is that the SD 8 Series SoC is obviously reserved for their R Pro series than R Series, similar to Nothing with SD 8 Series for Phone (3) and SD 7+ Series for Phone (3a) line.

Not to mention R Pro Series launched at more expensive price than Nothing Phone (3) by $300 even with similar non-camera features (512GB with no expansion, harder glass back than front display, free buds & clear case with purchase etc).

Also, these are among those who have no idea that to get the high charging speed requires PD Charger and Type-C on both ends to work (as the PPD works only on the Type-C output port), blardy facepalm at these entitled idiots, not knowing that there are people who couldn't afford phones with PD Charging until now.

Your 'chopping carrot heads' really made me think I may have dodged a bullet by not buying Sharp Aquos and pull the trigger on CMF Phone 2 Pro instead, getting earbuds immediately on the spot and 2 year warranty for that phone, something I realize that other markets (including India & Malaysia) don't have, just the better CMF Buds 2 variants only.

gripen

Android 15 with July 2025 security update just rolled out on the R9.
After 5-6 months 🥲 (last update was Feb 2025)

KeYoKe

Might just get a R9 for playing... Want to own a Jap phone for quite some time... pricing is good now, like 370...

anthonygreenisreal

What I know is that the SD 8 Series SoC is obviously reserved for their R Pro series than R Series, similar to Nothing with SD 8 Series for Phone (3) and SD 7+ Series for Phone (3a) line.

Not to mention R Pro Series launched at more expensive price than Nothing Phone (3) by $300 even with similar non-camera features (512GB with no expansion, harder glass back than front display, free buds & clear case with purchase etc).

Also, these are among those who have no idea that to get the high charging speed requires PD Charger and Type-C on both ends to work (as the PPD works only on the Type-C output port), blardy facepalm at these entitled idiots, not knowing that there are people who couldn't afford phones with PD Charging until now.

Your 'chopping carrot heads' really made me think I may have dodged a bullet by not buying Sharp Aquos and pull the trigger on CMF Phone 2 Pro instead, getting earbuds immediately on the spot and 2 year warranty for that phone, something I realize that other markets (including India & Malaysia) don't have, just the better CMF Buds 2 variants only.
Given what you have mentioned, that's why the sharp phones definitely cannot buy at their RRP price because it's too gawdamn high.

Need to wait for it's price to tumble like R9 now at $370ish to reflect on it's true value then it's safe to buy.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.