Sharp Aquos phones

Psychotik

From comparisons online, it seems the R10 has brighter screen, and some difference in camera sensor tech compared to R9. Then looks like 2g heavier. Everything else seem to remain the same. Planned for release in Early July. The Wish 5 that was also announced is due for release in late June.

caterham7

Shutterbox

DesilDesil

From comparisons online, it seems the R10 has brighter screen, and some difference in camera sensor tech compared to R9. Then looks like 2g heavier. Everything else seem to remain the same. Planned for release in Early July. The Wish 5 that was also announced is due for release in late June.
R10 also have Leica partnership like Xiaomi phones
It's probably just color grading

The newer Xiaomi 15 series Leica copied Vivo's Zeiss anti glare coating
But don't know if Sharp will have this coating or just the color science tuning like older Xiaomi

BradenHeat

Product nameSmartphone
Brand nameAQUOS R10
Operating systemAndroid TM 15
Size/weightApprox. 156H x 75W x 8.9D mm/Approx. 197 g
CPUSnapdragon® 7+ Gen 3 Mobile Platform
2.8-GHz+2.6-GHz+1.9-GHz octacore
Built-in memoryRAM 12 GB, ROM 256GB/512GB
DisplayApprox. 6.5-inch Full HD+ (1,080 x 2,340 pixels) Pro IGZO OLED display;
1 to 240-Hz variable refresh rate
Peak brightness 3,000 nits, full white brightness 1,500 nits
Rear-facing camerasStandard cameraEffective pixel count: Approx. 50.3 million; CMOS
F1.9 lens [wide angle 84°; focal length: 23 mm*8 equivalent]
Optical image stabilizer
Wide-angle cameraEffective pixel count: Approx. 50.3 million; CMOS
F2.2 lens [super wide angle 122°; focal length: 13 mm*8 equivalent]
14-channel spectral sensor
Front-facing cameraEffective pixel count: Approx. 50.3 million; CMOS
F2.2 lens [wide angle 84°; focal length: 23 mm*8 equivalent]
Wi-Fi®IEEE802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax/be
Bluetooth®Ver. 5.4
Battery capacity5,000 mAh (standard capacity of built-in battery)*9
Waterproof/dustproof/ Shock resistanceIPX5/IPX8/IP6X/MIL-STD-810G
Biometric authenticationFacial recognition (mask compatible), fingerprint authentication
Other functionsOsaifu-Keitai®, NFC, nano SIM + eSIM DSDV, microSD card compatible

Product nameSmartphone
Brand nameAQUOS wish5
Size/weightApprox. 166H x 76W x 8.8D mm/Approx. 187 g
CPUMediaTek Dimensity 6300
2.4-GHz x 2 + 2.0-GHz x 6 octacore
Built-in memoryRAM 4GB, ROM 64GB/128GB
DisplayApprox. 6.6-inch HD+ (720 x 1,612 pixels) LCD display
Rear-facing camerasEffective pixel count: Approx. 50.1 million; CMOS
F1.8 lens [wide angle 79°; focal length: 25 mm*6 equivalent]
Front-facing cameraEffective pixel count: Approx. 8.0 million; CMOS
F2.0 lens [wide angle 78°; focal length: 26 mm*6 equivalent]
Wi-Fi®IEEE802.11a/b/g/n/ac
Bluetooth®Ver. 5.3
Battery capacity5,000 mAh (standard capacity of built-in battery)*7
Waterproof/dustproof/ Shock resistanceIPX5/IPX8/IPX9/IP6X/MIL-STD-810H
Biometric authenticationFacial recognition (mask compatible), fingerprint authentication
Other functionsOsaifu-Keitai®, NFC, nano SIM + eSIM DSDV, microSD card compatible
3.5φ earphone jack compatible

:look::s22::spin::s16:

those specs, they better dont ask anything above 700, its not very competitive specs if we throw in the chinese mid ranger or even 2nd hand market or last year's ultras

DesilDesil

Product nameSmartphone
Brand nameAQUOS R10
Size/weightApprox. 156H x 75W x 8.9D mm/Approx. 197 g
CPUSnapdragon® 7+ Gen 3 Mobile Platform
2.8-GHz+2.6-GHz+1.9-GHz octacore
Built-in memoryRAM 12 GB, ROM 256GB/512GB
DisplayApprox. 6.5-inch Full HD+ (1,080 x 2,340 pixels) Pro IGZO OLED display;
1 to 240-Hz variable refresh rate
Peak brightness 3,000 nits, full white brightness 1,500 nits
Rear-facing camerasStandard cameraEffective pixel count: Approx. 50.3 million; CMOS
F1.9 lens [wide angle 84°; focal length: 23 mm*8 equivalent]
Optical image stabilizer
Wide-angle cameraEffective pixel count: Approx. 50.3 million; CMOS
F2.2 lens [super wide angle 122°; focal length: 13 mm*8 equivalent]
14-channel spectral sensor
Front-facing cameraEffective pixel count: Approx. 50.3 million; CMOS
F2.2 lens [wide angle 84°; focal length: 23 mm*8 equivalent]
Wi-Fi®IEEE802.11a/b/g/n/ac/ax/be
Bluetooth®Ver. 5.4
Battery capacity5,000 mAh (standard capacity of built-in battery)*9
Waterproof/dustproof/ Shock resistanceIPX5/IPX8/IP6X/MIL-STD-810G

Product nameSmartphone
Brand nameAQUOS wish5
Size/weightApprox. 166H x 76W x 8.8D mm/Approx. 187 g
CPUMediaTek Dimensity 6300
2.4-GHz x 2 + 2.0-GHz x 6 octacore
Built-in memoryRAM 4GB, ROM 64GB/128GB
DisplayApprox. 6.6-inch HD+ (720 x 1,612 pixels) LCD display
Rear-facing camerasEffective pixel count: Approx. 50.1 million; CMOS
F1.8 lens [wide angle 79°; focal length: 25 mm*6 equivalent]
Front-facing cameraEffective pixel count: Approx. 8.0 million; CMOS
F2.0 lens [wide angle 78°; focal length: 26 mm*6 equivalent]
Wi-Fi®IEEE802.11a/b/g/n/ac
Bluetooth®Ver. 5.3
Battery capacity5,000 mAh (standard capacity of built-in battery)*7
Waterproof/dustproof/ Shock resistanceIPX5/IPX8/IPX9/IP6X/MIL-STD-810H
3.5φ earphone jack compatible

:look::s22::spin::s16:

those specs, they better dont ask anything above 700, its not very competitive specs if we throw in the chinese mid ranger or even 2nd hand market or last year's ultras
Don't say near $700, $500 max seeing how:
R9 is $430 during sale [post #637]

Really not much point for R10 till maybe 2026 when it's heavily slash till $400-500
Both 7+Gen3 , looking to be same 1/1.55" main 1/2.55" ultrawide
Both have sd card, ufs 4.0
ip68, wifi 7, esim (R9 even have bluetooth 5.4 vs R10 5.3)
R10 is lighter by 2g but R9 is 1cm more compact

Unless you really want the Leica collab or the newer spectral sensor thing

BradenHeat

Don't say near $700, $500 max seeing how:
R9 is $430 during sale [post #637]

Really not much point for R10 till maybe 2026 when it's heavily slash till $400-500
Both 7+Gen3 , looking to be same 1/1.55" main 1/2.55" ultrawide
Both have sd card, ufs 4.0
ip68, wifi 7, esim (R9 even have bluetooth 5.4 vs R10 5.3)
R10 is lighter by 2g but R9 is 1cm more compact

Unless you really want the Leica collab or the newer spectral sensor thing
Mai lai mai lai.....

if i want leica, going 15ultra or 15pro will do liao... much better performance as well.

BradenHeat

No need for 15 series, 14T series is better already.
rather go for newer CPU and battery instead.

least, accessories MUCH easier to get.

This is why JP coys who outsource to local sinkies all CMI..... you want the market but hiam and dont provide a decent case or some form of updated specs nor discount.

not trying to sai on jp coys,but sharp and sony these 2 are really the reason why they are failing hard on their mobile division, and why their people prefer iphone.

too complex, too expensive, no resale vaule, no value on hold [ hardware wise and android support ]
Slow support and almost lack luster accessories.

the folks in the sony thread, really, is what you can call coping hard .

noobzpro

Want to check my Aquos r9 reception on the same simcard and location reception is lousier than other phone is this normal?

gripen

Want to check my Aquos r9 reception on the same simcard and location reception is lousier than other phone is this normal?
No issues with reception.
There is some durability issue on their camera glass coating.
If you notice a speck or two, do not wipe with any solvents that uses alcohol or lemon based, the coating may just come off slowly.

xdivider

qn for the r9 pro folks, how do u exactly protect the camera area.....

Curiosity@

I am thinking of getting either the R9 or R9 Pro. As a existing Xperia user are the screen display of the same standard as to Sony?

mdsummer

Hi all, I am interested in getting either the sense 8 or 9 as a backup phone (main phone is iphone 13 mini), for banking apps and as a music player (using microsd card) can I ask users:

1. Is there a compelling price to value to get sense 9 over sense 8? (Sense 8 is $279 on Lazada)
2. Has any one tried the dp-alt function? Does it work well to plug through a usb-c monitor?
I returned the phone due to the green tint issue. Got cmf phone 2 pro and pretty happy with it.

Psychotik

Sense 8 will all have the green tint. I own a Sense 8 myself. You can supposedly enable an option in the troubleshooting menu to make it less obvious. Quite surprised that they allow returns.

mdsummer

I bought through Lazada and activated the a “Change of Mind” policy. So it doesn’t fall under the warranty and return procedures.
Sense 8 will all have the green tint. I own a Sense 8 myself. You can supposedly enable an option in the troubleshooting menu to make it less obvious. Quite surprised that they allow returns.
Btw the green tint seems like the result of OS update. That is the reason why I declined exchange.

Psychotik

I bought through Lazada and activated the a “Change of Mind” policy. So it doesn’t fall under the warranty and return procedures.

Btw the green tint seems like the result of OS update. That is the reason why I declined exchange.
For my case, am quite sure it's not OS update. Have observed it since out of box A14, till upgraded to A15. Still will have green tint. But only more obvious under specific dark lighting.

Doesn't the change of mind policy require the product to still be sealed/unused? You would have used it for a while before noticing the green tint. That was always my impression from Lazada/Shopee's policy.

Shadowz1984

For my case, am quite sure it's not OS update. Have observed it since out of box A14, till upgraded to A15. Still will have green tint. But only more obvious under specific dark lighting.

Doesn't the change of mind policy require the product to still be sealed/unused? You would have used it for a while before noticing the green tint. That was always my impression from Lazada/Shopee's policy.
Change of mind reason needs the items to be sealed/unused. He probably got through due to product defect reason.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.