Should i go upstair and confront my neighbour?

spinning_quirK

Why use confront? It sounds like you going in for a fight. People will get defensive. Should try to be more friendly and just understand 1st.
Agreed. Not all neighbours are high quality. Some, if you confront, they realise and will be profusely apologetic. Lower quality ones will talk back and challenge you. Will call police say you're harassing them at their front door. Will resume the noises when you return to your flat. I'm using real life example from Woodlands.

Best is to start nicely. Mention elderly, baby, draw out sympathy (even if you're DINK). Works better for more people, regardless of quality level.

(Actually don't mention elderly because elderly usually can't hear anything :o)

spinning_quirK

i also got negihbour got drum set and karaoke... jin sad life
At least if can play like drum master or sing like siren still OK. But play like trash and squawk like chicken is really depressing. Literally can push a person towards depression on the spectrum.

Bad kids

Tell you my story…

The last time my neighbor’s chewrens playing with dropping marbles above my unit.
I went up to tell the Ah ma, and explained that I have hearing problems (sinusitis), and asked the chewrens not to dropped the marbles. The Ah ma said where got… when the 2 chewrens were just right infront of me playing with marbles.
The next day morning, the chewrens’s mom deliberately asked the chewrens to dropped the marbles; for me to go up and confront them. They said I was rude to confront the Ah ma when they are not around and they can do whatever they want as it’s their place. Like that win leow loh.
Later I found out both the couple were white horses under MFA. And were assigned to Bxxxxx. They were bloody arrogant.
I peasant… cannot fight with the upper level.. and their dictatorship 🥲🥲

kage

Tell you my story…

The last time my neighbor’s chewrens playing with dropping marbles above my unit.
I went up to tell the Ah ma, and explained that I have hearing problems (sinusitis), and asked the chewrens not to dropped the marbles. The Ah ma said where got… when the 2 chewrens were just right infront of me playing with marbles.
The next day morning, the chewrens’s mom deliberately asked the chewrens to dropped the marbles; for me to go up and confront them. They said I was rude to confront the Ah ma when they are not around and they can do whatever they want as it’s their place. Like that win leow loh.
Later I found out both the couple were white horses under MFA. And were assigned to Bxxxxx. They were bloody arrogant.
I peasant… cannot fight with the upper level.. and their dictatorship 🥲🥲
U got try using basketball bouncing at ur ceiling like what mention earlier on by someone?

If they come down to approach u, use back the same words they used on them back. "can do whatever uwant as it’s your place."

trevlim

Dont know the siao eh doing what at night. can hear like poom , poom poom sound at night close to a month already. Yesterday 3am+ i heard something metallic thing drop and make me wake up. The sound came directly right above my room ceiling. Annoying sia.

At night don't want sleep at there poom poom poom. don't know poom what bird. Almost every night cannot sleep properly...

I saw below my HDB also got this poster. I think other people also complaining already..
Got the urge want to go upstair and see what the siao eh doing..

Whats-App-Image-2024-02-13-at-9-08-27-PM.jpg
sounds like they are using metallic bed frame that's wobbly and rickety

Mr.Kopi

At least if can play like drum master or sing like siren still OK. But play like trash and squawk like chicken is really depressing. Literally can push a person towards depression on the spectrum.
i sing along with my neighbor when he start his KTV session

whatheheck

Later the sound is not coming from the unit above...

last below level also come up bang door kpkb about some noise, no idea what happened. some others think it's even higher up floor making noise, not that direct unit.

lampano

last below level also come up bang door kpkb about some noise, no idea what happened. some others think it's even higher up floor making noise, not that direct unit.

last time same here, also got neigh came up to me and complain at me doign what at home - i ask open her big elephant ears, the knocking sounds till on above us as we speak.

really bth

Lemonpeach

First, document and record all the evidences. Videoing and snapshot of time, sound.

Secondly, knock on his door and courteously enquire if he also heard the sound. Record all your encounters in a log. Rally your neighbours (left and right) towards concern over the noise.

If continues, send him a written note in a sealed envelope and leave at the doorstep. Snap the action.

If continues, notify TC and your MP in email. Don't expect them to take action. They will ask you to take out a MC order. They are useless.

If continues, write the neighbour another note pointing that the TC and MP requested you to take out a MC order against him. But you hesitated as you wanted to be a good neighbour with him.

If continues, notify TC and MP via email that their suggested approach had failed and inform them your neighbour said the TC and MP have no power.

Just before I really apply for MC order, with legal cost on the neighbour, TC and neighbourhood police post ta buah han knock knock on his door and "provide advice". The noise stopped. Why? Malu mah. They don't want to appear like a paper.

I did that for my relative. With full knowledge of law and the behaviour of the bureaucratic machinery, you can play to apply pressure on your neighbour to stop without cost.

It is all about psychology and that people in HDB are generally no-power and timid.

Of course, if neighbour is a die hard case, we will meet in court.

windwaver

last time same here, also got neigh came up to me and complain at me doign what at home - i ask open her big elephant ears, the knocking sounds till on above us as we speak.

really bth
Don't be surprise even top floor have noise issues.

Opps-gal

Agreed. Not all neighbours are high quality. Some, if you confront, they realise and will be profusely apologetic. Lower quality ones will talk back and challenge you. Will call police say you're harassing them at their front door. Will resume the noises when you return to your flat. I'm using real life example from Woodlands.

Best is to start nicely. Mention elderly, baby, draw out sympathy (even if you're DINK). Works better for more people, regardless of quality level.

(Actually don't mention elderly because elderly usually can't hear anything :o)
But no baby, neighbor will find out?

windwaver

First, document and record all the evidences. Videoing and snapshot of time, sound.

Secondly, knock on his door and courteously enquire if he also heard the sound. Record all your encounters in a log. Rally your neighbours (left and right) towards concern over the noise.

If continues, send him a written note in a sealed envelope and leave at the doorstep. Snap the action.

If continues, notify TC and your MP in email. Don't expect them to take action. They will ask you to take out a MC order. They are useless.

If continues, write the neighbour another note pointing that the TC and MP requested you to take out a MC order against him. But you hesitated as you wanted to be a good neighbour with him.

If continues, notify TC and MP via email that their suggested approach had failed and inform them your neighbour said the TC and MP have no power.

Just before I really apply for MC order, with legal cost on the neighbour, TC and neighbourhood police post ta buah han knock knock on his door and "provide advice". The noise stopped. Why? Malu mah. They don't want to appear like a paper.

I did that for my relative. With full knowledge of law and the behaviour of the bureaucratic machinery, you can play to apply pressure on your neighbour to stop without cost.

It is all about psychology and that people in HDB are generally no-power and timid.

Of course, if neighbour is a die hard case, we will meet in court.
You made a police report?

Nevereatrice

Dont know the siao eh doing what at night. can hear like poom , poom poom sound at night close to a month already. Yesterday 3am+ i heard something metallic thing drop and make me wake up. The sound came directly right above my room ceiling. Annoying sia.

At night don't want sleep at there poom poom poom. don't know poom what bird. Almost every night cannot sleep properly...

I saw below my HDB also got this poster. I think other people also complaining already..
Got the urge want to go upstair and see what the siao eh doing..

Whats-App-Image-2024-02-13-at-9-08-27-PM.jpg
Even u go up If he guai lan with u and continue this u also llst.
U go police also no use. Only choice is to move out or buyed condo

Nuvole

TS nv cum back and update...
maybe mod need to trace ip and leeport police liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.