IMG_4145_1_.JPG

IMG_4144_1_.JPG

weng

From Tampines Giant next to megastore:

IMG_4145_1_.JPG

IMG_4144_1_.JPG
those are the normal mobil 1. mxtradings selling at $14/qt though. but if go there, might as well get the mobil 1 EP for $15/qt. it's a better series.

emitchan

those are the normal mobil 1. mxtradings selling at $14/qt though. but if go there, might as well get the mobil 1 EP for $15/qt. it's a better series.

yup, should have gotten the mobil 1 EP~ :(

trex101

In America, Mobil 1 are it's 2nd tier product range while Mobil 1 EP with it's added load of anti-wear additives are it's premium 1st tier product range from Mobil. All the best additives goodies and technology will be found in EP range.

kitaeshi

mobile 1 ep only got
Mobil 1 Extended Performance 5W-20
Mobil 1 Extended Performance 5W-30 - now an officially dexos1™ licensed product.
Mobil 1 Extended Performance 10W-30

my car is 5yr old latio.. tot shld use 5w-40... so which one is recommended to use?

emitchan

In America, Mobil 1 are it's 2nd tier product range while Mobil 1 EP with it's added load of anti-wear additives are it's premium 1st tier product range from Mobil. All the best additives goodies and technology will be found in EP range.

shld have gotten this instead, but i have 5 quatz in my room waiting for servicing at month end. :|
i only service at 10k km mark, not 6 months though.

trex101

my car is 5yr old latio.. tot shld use 5w-40... so which one is recommended to use?

Depends actually, if your engine is in good condition and don't consume any engine oil. You still can use 5w30 engine oil.

I have some customers with their ride coming to 200k km still using 0w20 engine oil with zero consumption. Their FC also is at it's peak now since the engine and transmission are truly and fully season and run-in.

emitchan

Depends actually, if your engine is in good condition and don't consume any engine oil. You still can use 5w30 engine oil.

I have some customers with their ride coming to 200k km still using 0w20 engine oil with zero consumption. Their FC also is at it's peak now since the engine and transmission are truly and fully season and run-in.

i was running 10-50, gonna switch it to 5w-30 this service. will it cause any harm?

trex101

10w50 is too thick, if you have been using it since brand new then damage might already been done.

the problem for such a thick oil is that it took too long for the oil to flow, causing unnecessary start-up wear until the oil is warm-up. You can't just drive your car immediately after start-up, unlike those thinner oil like 5w30, you need to let the engine warm up 1st(could be 2-5min) before drive off.

ahrex21

how is the motul h tec 100 5w40? can't seem to find much info online.. i know the 300v is a high end oil la.. but i am only driving a vios and i dun think i need the 300v bah.. was tempted to change to motul h tec.. price of oil, labour and filter is $130.. is it worth it?

trex101

Well you could get 300v 5w30 at $114/4L, why go for the low end H-tec when you can go for 300v at lower price?

limkopilimteh

no need to spend too much time dwelling over engine oil leh, get the one which the car manufacturer okays will be fine.

just look to your car manual. why make things so complicated?

Its like a $2 pen can write, a branded $20 pen also can write.

so why spend more when most cars are sent to the scrapyard in less than 10yrs?

weng

no need to spend too much time dwelling over engine oil leh, get the one which the car manufacturer okays will be fine.

sometimes the car mean a bit more than a pure A-B tool to the person ma. :D

Dragon

Administrator

Because some love their rides more than others. $5 can eat a meal, $50 also can eat a meal, which one will give more satisfaction depends on the individual eating the meal. :)

limkopilimteh

Because some love their rides more than others. $5 can eat a meal, $50 also can eat a meal, which one will give more satisfaction depends on the individual eating the meal. :)

lol, thats because they perceive there is some differences between engine oils. unless u are a chemist or had a degree in some science or wat, how would you know if there is actually a difference?

to say "i feel a difference" with this oil or petrol, one needs to go thru a blind test, i.e. not knowing which oil or petrol was used. So far, i have not yet heard of any people doing blind test yet.

if there is, i would be interested to know.

Dragon

Administrator
lol, thats because they perceive there is some differences between engine oils. unless u are a chemist or had a degree in some science or wat, how would you know if there is actually a difference?

to say "i feel a difference" with this oil or petrol, one needs to go thru a blind test, i.e. not knowing which oil or petrol was used. So far, i have not yet heard of any people doing blind test yet.

if there is, i would be interested to know.

What you are pointing at is the placebo effect. Usually when one uses something more expensive, he/she may tend to feel (or perceive) it to be better. :)

lattesurf

$5 at a good hawker centre ordering good food with abit of sweat actually more shiok than $50 at a crappy restaurant eating microwave oven heated food and still need to que for ages..

lattesurf

Back to topic.. Just hoot 3 bottles of Schnell at Giant Tampines yesterday.. $24.99 each, promo till end of July.

Currently I'm on Schnell and drove for 2000km already, ok ley. Not any faster, not any slower. Just checked the oil last weekend, and still looks and smells ok..

ZhuTou!

Back to topic.. Just hoot 3 bottles of Schnell at Giant Tampines yesterday.. $24.99 each, promo till end of July.

Currently I'm on Schnell and drove for 2000km already, ok ley. Not any faster, not any slower. Just checked the oil last weekend, and still looks and smells ok..

Why u hoot so many? :s13:
Bravo need more than 4L per oil change?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.