[SIC] Engine oil promo

seowbin

Feeling can be misleading and not all engine oil are created equally.

” Passenger car motor oil is the lifeblood of your engine. In addition to lubricating moving parts to help reduce wear and tear and the buildup of heat in your engine, motor oils contain performance additives that help to reduce oxidation, neutralize acids, prevent rust, corrosion, and foam, condition seals, save fuel, and keep your engine clean. But all engine oils are far from created equal. In fact, some motor oils on the shelves can cause harm to your engine and premature failure. Know what motor oil goes into your car”.

Quote: PETROLEUM QUALITY INSTITUTE OF AMERICA
SAMPLE SUMMARY /PASSENGER CAR MOTOR OIL

In fact, if you look at the testing below, those unknown/relabel products have the most problem and some will actually do damage to your car engine.

http://www.pqiamerica.com/samplesummaryPCMOrev4test.htm
what oil u selling? can PM bo

5w30 for vw

trex101

what oil u selling? can PM bo

5w30 for vw

We at mxtradings carry quite a few brands from major manufacturer like Castrol, Mobil, Redline, Cusco, Motul, RLI, Pennzoil, Eneos, Schaeffer and Royal Purple.

VW normally call for low-saps engine oil like Mobil 5w30ESP or 0w30ESP, either one will work.

$_1.JPG

TopGun

Why would you change it every 7500kms? Modern cars all have change intervals of 10000km and above.

Yes.

For people who do a lot of start stop or hard driving, they might like shorten the interval.

It's a trade off. "Branded" oil for usual change interval, or use cheaper oil but change more frequently.

The conti marques stipulate 15,000k change interval. With the hot engine and turbo... seriously 15k interval in SG? Ehhhh.

doody_

Yes.

For people who do a lot of start stop or hard driving, they might like shorten the interval.

It's a trade off. "Branded" oil for usual change interval, or use cheaper oil but change more frequently.

The conti marques stipulate 15,000k change interval. With the hot engine and turbo... seriously 15k interval in SG? Ehhhh.

Usually SG driving falls under severe driving conditions, which cuts the maintenance interval in half.

Fatfool

Yes.

I really wouldn't consider the driving in Singapore as 'stop-start'. Unless you are stuck going to the CBD during peak hour (which hopefully no one does any more - I know you have a car but just take the train damn it)

The rest of the conditions for severe schedule involve things like driving in dusty areas or pulling trailers (illegal in Singapore)

http://www.autoblog.com/2010/07/07/hard-driving-changing-engine-oil/

As for the continental (or european) makes, I can believe their long servicing intervals. Used to run my Peugeot 206 GTi which had a specified interval of 10,000kms at nearly 15,000kms. And that was in true stop start traffic in Sydney where the temperature can do decently crazy swings. :s13:

I used Mobil 1 at that time which was 'a good oil brand' and nothing untold happened. Those long service intervals aren't there for marketing... they actually tested them out.

*note that I don't encourage doing what I did but at least there, the vehicles were cheap so breaking one wouldn't be as much of a problem. Probably need to get a better sample size too.

Fatfool

trex101,

What can you tell us about your RLI product range. How popular is it? Renewable fuels such as ethanol has a bad rep in petrol but this is obviously a different case.

RLI5w40.jpg

By the way is there a reason why you don't carry bigger bottles (those 4-5L ones) and instead stick to the 1 quart sizes?

trex101

trex101,

What can you tell us about your RLI product range. How popular is it? Renewable fuels such as ethanol has a bad rep in petrol but this is obviously a different case.

RLI5w40.jpg

By the way is there a reason why you don't carry bigger bottles (those 4-5L ones) and instead stick to the 1 quart sizes?

RLI are pretty popular in BITOG with the Audi/VW/Mazda direct injection engine and some racing crowd due to it's shear stability and general cleanliness on the valve. It's something like Redline or Motul engine oil but more rare as it is not widely distributed.

Renewable lubricant uses biobase HOBS(group V ester base oil) and with it's specially formulated additives are a favourite among some enthusiasts.

We bought it in because some of our customers are enthusiasts and would like to try some top tier products that's very hard to find even in USA itself.

The reason we bought in most of our products in quart bottle is because some car model only require 3 quart and some 5 quart or 7 quart, so a gallon bottle just doesn't match and they would have to buy 1 or 2 gallon with a few quart left over. So a quart bottle would be more precise and no need to buy more than it is required.

trex101

wa
garang sia
u use 5w30 ah?
i use 5w40 and 5k also change oil liao

Nothing unusual, my dad C220cdi are using Mobil 0w30ESP with no issue at all, in fact his fuel mileage is amazing to say the least, hitting close to 1000km per tank on a good day.

seowbin

wa
garang sia
u use 5w30 ah?
i use 5w40 and 5k also change oil liao
always being using 5w40 leh

it seems like 5w30 is also certified for vw

somemore most of the time my EO hovers around 80+ degree (based on oil pan temp).

so can try try lo :s13:

if engine piang then too bad, search for new car. If bo piang, maybe renew COE :D
still no better car in my mind yet

doody_

I really wouldn't consider the driving in Singapore as 'stop-start'. Unless you are stuck going to the CBD during peak hour (which hopefully no one does any more - I know you have a car but just take the train damn it)

The rest of the conditions for severe schedule involve things like driving in dusty areas or pulling trailers (illegal in Singapore)

http://www.autoblog.com/2010/07/07/hard-driving-changing-engine-oil/

As for the continental (or european) makes, I can believe their long servicing intervals. Used to run my Peugeot 206 GTi which had a specified interval of 10,000kms at nearly 15,000kms. And that was in true stop start traffic in Sydney where the temperature can do decently crazy swings. :s13:

I used Mobil 1 at that time which was 'a good oil brand' and nothing untold happened. Those long service intervals aren't there for marketing... they actually tested them out.

*note that I don't encourage doing what I did but at least there, the vehicles were cheap so breaking one wouldn't be as much of a problem. Probably need to get a better sample size too.

Actually that list is not complete. Driving in temperatures exceeding 32C also falls under severe driving. Mainly this just affects oil change interval.

jumpmanz

We at mxtradings carry quite a few brands from major manufacturer like Castrol, Mobil, Redline, Cusco, Motul, RLI, Pennzoil, Eneos, Schaeffer and Royal Purple.

VW normally call for low-saps engine oil like Mobil 5w30ESP or 0w30ESP, either one will work.
got mobile 1 turbo diesel truck? :s12:

Fatfool

RLI are pretty popular in BITOG with the Audi/VW/Mazda direct injection engine and some racing crowd due to it's shear stability and general cleanliness on the valve. It's something like Redline or Motul engine oil but more rare as it is not widely distributed.

Renewable lubricant uses biobase HOBS(group V ester base oil) and with it's specially formulated additives are a favourite among some enthusiasts.

We bought it in because some of our customers are enthusiasts and would like to try some top tier products that's very hard to find even in USA itself.

The reason we bought in most of our products in quart bottle is because some car model only require 3 quart and some 5 quart or 7 quart, so a gallon bottle just doesn't match and they would have to buy 1 or 2 gallon with a few quart left over. So a quart bottle would be more precise and no need to buy more than it is required.
Noted.

Though, would larger bottles be cheaper? and if there is leftover, it can be used during the next service (after all, engine oil does not expire that quickly)

trex101

Noted.

Though, would larger bottles be cheaper? and if there is leftover, it can be used during the next service (after all, engine oil does not expire that quickly)

Yes bigger bottle will be $1-2 cheaper per gallon to us but will cost the consumer $10+ per unwanted quart so no point, buy what you required is still the best.

Fatfool

Yes bigger bottle will be $1-2 cheaper per gallon to us but will cost the consumer $10+ per unwanted quart so no point, buy what you required is still the best.
Quite odd. So in Singapore, people don't keep spare bottles around for top up and for their next service.

Used to have a spare bottle or 2 when I was living overseas (since I would buy 6 quarts at 1 time)

yanbros

Quite odd. So in Singapore, people don't keep spare bottles around for top up and for their next service.

Used to have a spare bottle or 2 when I was living overseas (since I would buy 6 quarts at 1 time)

Cars in SG are quite well maintained and seldom have leaks. So not really necessary to keep spares i guess.

Fatfool

Cars in SG are quite well maintained and seldom have leaks. So not really necessary to keep spares i guess.
Oh ya... and don't need to hoard since the shops are closer by... but in return, the prices per quart are significantly higher.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.