[SIC] Really good Ryzen mini PC

ahboon83

Only for OEM manufacturer and not available for retails according to AMD.
But U can try TB in a few months time...
Was planning to buy from OEM all along
But online is saying that desktop Ryzen 4000 APU are going to be "bad" and "expensive" haha

"Bad" as in no improvement from 3000 APU because they are the same architecture
"Expensive" as in to let OEM sell them with full bundle pc

Looks like watzup_ken might be right about the pricing
Maybe I will consider Intel Tiger Lake NUC

Sent from Google PIXEL 3 using GAGT

kimsix

Was planning to buy from OEM all along
But online is saying that desktop Ryzen 4000 APU are going to be "bad" and "expensive" haha

"Bad" as in no improvement from 3000 APU because they are the same architecture
"Expensive" as in to let OEM sell them with full bundle pc

Looks like watzup_ken might be right about the pricing

i5 10400 or i3 10100, with z490 itx, is cheaper for small mitx now. :o

z490 to overclock the ram and increase turbo duration

ahboon83

i5 10400 or i3 10100, with z490 itx, is cheaper for small mitx now. :o

z490 to overclock the ram and increase turbo duration
I'm using mini itx form factor now but I want to go to NUC form factor
Just going to use it for internet browsing and watching videos

Heard good reviews on Intel 10th gen, hopefully 11th gen Tiger Lake will be even better

Maybe can consider Asrock A310 for Intel chips haha if they release for 10th and 11th gen CPU

watzup_ken

Don't expect Tiger Lake NUC to be cheap though. You can find something in the i3/i5 series, but prices for i3 based on my experience is about 500+ bucks for barebone NUC. In addition, for i3 and i5 based Tiger Lake, you may be getting a lot less GPU power. With very little room for CPU segregation since Tiger Lake max out at 4c/8t, I am pretty sure GPU will be the main segregation point for Intel.

watzup_ken

just an update on the AMD 2500u minipc i bought. I have changed the nvme ssd that come with it to a WD black SN750 500GB. Now the nvme speed is at full now at pcie3 x 4 at about 3100mb/s speed.

Wonderful now.

What SSD were you using that is running slower? I can't recall. But it is an odd issue where changing SSD solved the problem.

ahboon83

Don't expect Tiger Lake NUC to be cheap though. You can find something in the i3/i5 series, but prices for i3 based on my experience is about 500+ bucks for barebone NUC. In addition, for i3 and i5 based Tiger Lake, you may be getting a lot less GPU power. With very little room for CPU segregation since Tiger Lake max out at 4c/8t, I am pretty sure GPU will be the main segregation point for Intel.
Haha looks like I need to downgrade my expectations
Was hoping to get 4C/8T or 6C/6T NUC form factor barebones PC for $500
Need to target 4C/4T liao

The Intel Xe graphics look interesting but I think first generation stuff surely many problems one

watzup_ken

Haha looks like I need to downgrade my expectations
Was hoping to get 4C/8T or 6C/6T NUC form factor barebones PC for $500
Need to target 4C/4T liao

The Intel Xe graphics look interesting but I think first generation stuff surely many problems one

If any chance, it is more likely for your to find a 6c APU from AMD within your budget from AMD, rather than from Intel.

Also between Intel and AMD graphics, I would still recommend AMD. Ignoring the hardware, and just focusing on the driver, both don't have a great track record in my opinion. AMD drivers can be buggy, while Intel generally gets the basics right, but when it comes to games, the driver support is very spotty and unstable. AMD probably is still more experience when it comes to game drivers, and games are generally optimized for their hardware. Just my opinion.

Steyr69

AMD makan ATI, so absorb their technology. Naturally, will be better.

Sent from Xiaomi MI A1 using GAGT

Slowdown

We must taper our expectation when it come to mini pc or nuc. We want small we want power, we don't want heat and we want cheap.

I have been trying out small devices for more than 15 years. I used to travel for work a lot of I want to bring with me a small computer so that I can do things outside of my work machine. Small and cheap is always weak. If we want power then ITX /dGPU is the best setup. This is one reason that I stopped gaming. It is just not possible to balance that. Now I use mini pc for basic stuff. No gaming. If it is basic stuff then there is no need for a high end processor or fast ram or fast ssd. We won't be able to tell the difference.

https://youtu.be/-EZN-ZtH_uE

TechTablet just reviewed another mini pc which is using ryzen 3400g. The heat!

cochran

What SSD were you using that is running slower? I can't recall. But it is an odd issue where changing SSD solved the problem.

it came with the system. its an intel Pro 6000p 256gb ssd. Which was detectred running at pcie3 x2 only.

watzup_ken

We must taper our expectation when it come to mini pc or nuc. We want small we want power, we don't want heat and we want cheap.

I have been trying out small devices for more than 15 years. I used to travel for work a lot of I want to bring with me a small computer so that I can do things outside of my work machine. Small and cheap is always weak. If we want power then ITX /dGPU is the best setup. This is one reason that I stopped gaming. It is just not possible to balance that. Now I use mini pc for basic stuff. No gaming. If it is basic stuff then there is no need for a high end processor or fast ram or fast ssd. We won't be able to tell the difference.

Mini PC in NUC form should always stick to the U series processors from my opinion. Running a 65W processor is suicidal for such a small case with very limited space for cooling. My Ryzen 5 3400G is cooled by a ID Cooling IS 50 with 5 heatpipes. While the cooling solution is not the best, it is a lot better than what you can find in an NUC size PC. With this cooler (with mild overclock), the processor can hit 80 degs when running 3D Mark. So with a mini heatsink, its gonna throttle badly.

watzup_ken

it came with the system. its an intel Pro 6000p 256gb ssd. Which was detectred running at pcie3 x2 only.

I see. Perhaps this is a less common SSD and thus, not recognized properly by the board.

watzup_ken

Actually after looking at the review, besides the fatal mistake of using a 65W processor for a small PC with very limited space for proper cooling, the other fatal mistake is the placement of the heatsink. Typically laptops have the heatsink very close to the vent so that hot air can be vented directly out of the case. In this case, the heatsink is still quite a distance away from the vent, which will inevitably result in hot air being recycled within the small casing. Overheating is unavoidable with these 2 mistakes.

Ctrl_Alt_Del

Actually after looking at the review, besides the fatal mistake of using a 65W processor for a small PC with very limited space for proper cooling, the other fatal mistake is the placement of the heatsink. Typically laptops have the heatsink very close to the vent so that hot air can be vented directly out of the case. In this case, the heatsink is still quite a distance away from the vent, which will inevitably result in hot air being recycled within the small casing. Overheating is unavoidable with these 2 mistakes.

The hot spot is the motherboard chipset, the ssd was at about 60 deg and wifi card cool. I think the problem is no airflow to the motherboard chipset and dram.

watzup_ken

The hot spot is the motherboard chipset, the ssd was at about 60 deg and wifi card cool. I think the problem is no airflow to the motherboard chipset and dram.

The thermal imaging was performed with the lid open. If he closes it, it will surely get hotter in there. The recycle hot air in the case will cause the temps to be worst. I am also thinking if you look at the thermal image, the entire inside of the board is orange, which could be due to a warm board or warm interior due to hot air that did not get vented out. After revisiting the video, the orange at the rear of the case looks like warm air and not the motherboard. To be honest, I am not expecting the A320 chipset to get this hot.

ahboon83

urTiBjZl.png

Excited sia!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.