SIMBA Telecom discussion thread

gapboy

to use on pc, or phones, now need to download a profile or the app, else cannot connect to it.
metaImage.webp

Wireless@SGx App Setup Guide - Android SIM - Infocomm Media Development Authority
For Android devices with local SIM cards. For devices with TPG SIM card, refer to 'Android non-SIM Setup'. Connects to Wireless@SGx.
favicon.ico

www.imda.gov.sg

I know how to configure :)

S23 ultra red.

firesong

Should be very safe as need to install a profile before can use?
Public infrastructure is still public infrastructure, no matter what the access method is.

Given that it's easy to get onboard, it should be treated with caution. Many cybersecurity professionals will never use any public network, preferring to tether if they must when they are out. A friend of mine only buys WWAN-enabled laptops and has a spare line in it.

twosix

Public infrastructure is still public infrastructure, no matter what the access method is.

Given that it's easy to get onboard, it should be treated with caution. Many cybersecurity professionals will never use any public network, preferring to tether if they must when they are out. A friend of mine only buys WWAN-enabled laptops and has a spare line in it.
I'm just a layman. The govt will have to answer if it got preached. I will not hesitate to use wireless@sgx. Heck, even home wifi can be hacked. Someone who is wifi professional told me once.

007Mi6

I'm just a layman. The govt will have to answer if it got preached. I will not hesitate to use wireless@sgx. Heck, even home wifi can be hacked. Someone who is wifi professional told me once.

Really up to you.

public places are easily accessible compared to HDB housing. It is weather how easy to hack.

You prefer tio hack Govt answer or less chance of getting hack (at home?)

juswyq

anyone know if Simba supports LTE on Samsung galaxy watch 4? I'm wondering if I can somehow use my existing Simba Sim card and also extend it to the smart watch.

twosix

Really up to you.

public places are easily accessible compared to HDB housing. It is weather how easy to hack.

You prefer tio hack Govt answer or less chance of getting hack (at home?)
Kiasi people dun use. I am not one of them. Haha.. might as well dun use e services too as all can be hacked. Use cash for everything..

There need to be a limit to what to use or not to use. To even distrust the govt's setup is really too much.

gaoqikai

update on cell coverage in Indonesia:
Prev went to Batam, at the resort area, no signal at all. At city area signal good. Simba using Smartfren there which is quite trash. I tested other SIM roaming on Telkomsel, very good.
A few days back went to Bintan. Even worse! No signal AT ALL after leaving ferry terminal. Even on public roads and in towns, no signal at all. Spent 3 days there with no signal at all times.

krazyhippo

update on cell coverage in Indonesia:
Prev went to Batam, at the resort area, no signal at all. At city area signal good. Simba using Smartfren there which is quite trash. I tested other SIM roaming on Telkomsel, very good.
A few days back went to Bintan. Even worse! No signal AT ALL after leaving ferry terminal. Even on public roads and in towns, no signal at all. Spent 3 days there with no signal at all times.
No signal from smartfren ? Manual select also cannot locate the smartfren network ?

swenson

somehow I feel that SIMBA LTE (supposedly 4G) is slower than GIGA 4G speed..

everywhere I go, SIMBA usually only 2-3 bars(out of 4)

gaoqikai

somehow I feel that SIMBA LTE (supposedly 4G) is slower than GIGA 4G speed..

everywhere I go, SIMBA usually only 2-3 bars(out of 4)
and that is correct. On average SIMBA is indeed slower than SH and ST. But maybe some spots can be faster

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.