SIMBA Telecom discussion thread

Kayeesha

AFAIK, this is wrong info.

Those TPG top up on Shopee -- CAN BE used to top up your TPG post paid plan's account balance.

All TPG post paid plans have a wallet which TPG calls "account balance". See TPG's FAQ page.

You can top up to this TPG account balance -- which can then be used (to pay) for post paid plan renewal or IDD calls or excess usage charges etc.

TPG post paid plan renewal (every 30days) -- will deduct from this TPG account balance FIRST (if got sufficient money there).

If not enough money in your TPG account balance, then TPG post paid plan renewal will proceed to deduct from your credit card / debit card.

I've been using 3rd party providers like those on Shopee -- to top up my TPG post paid account balance (from which TPG later deduct for renewal of my TPG post paid plan every 30days). :)
Hi boonkang, purchasing these TPG top-up/renewal service is a good way to utilise my Shopee coins. This is the first time I come across this service though.

I chatted with one of these sellers on Shopee for information on how it works and they simply said to provide them with my mobile number (after purchasing). Does this mean they will be recharging my Account Balance via TPG’s Online Recharge?

Thanks.

boonkang

Hi boonkang, purchasing these TPG top-up/renewal service is a good way to utilise my Shopee coins. This is the first time I come across this service though.

I chatted with one of these sellers on Shopee for information on how it works and they simply said to provide them with my mobile number (after purchasing). Does this mean they will be recharging my Account Balance via TPG’s Online Recharge?

Thanks.

I do a quick reply to you now.
(If I've time later -- I'll add phone screenshots to this post.)

I've tried a least two (2) different TPG top up providers on Shopee -- and the experience is the same:

1. Place order to top up your TPG account on Shopee (e.g. $10 top up)
2. During check out, provide your TPG mobile number -- just the 8 digit mobile number -- under the leave a message text box.
3. After payment, wait for the top up to your TPG account balance (this could range from a few minutes to multiple hours).
4. When the Shopee delivery status changed to -- item 'shipped out' -- top up to your TPG account balance is in process.
5. You'll receive an SMS on your TPG mobile -- once the top up has been done.

6(a) You can (then) check (both) your TPG plan usage/quota + account balance -- by sending out an SMS on your TPG mobile -- type 'TPG' (without quotes) & send out the SMS to 1218.
6(b) After sending the above SMS -- you'll get a reply -- with a list of choices. Reply 2 to view balance.
6(c) The next SMS you receive -- shows an updated status of your usage/quota + current TPG account balance.

Whenever necessary, I use the above SMS method to check my TPG usage/quota + account balance -- so I no need -- to install/login to the TPG mobile app or login to the TPG Web site. :)

(You may wish to use above SMS method to check your current TPG quota + account balance -- BEFORE placing order on Shopee for the TPG top up.)

Hope the above helps.

sullycoin

I've tried a least two (2) different TPG top up providers on Shopee -- and the experience is the same:
Have you tried buying top ups using Shopee cash vouchers (like those you can get from Shopback or 7-11). Was thinking that this could be a good way to eke out a bit more value from my mobile plan :ROFLMAO:

Kayeesha

1. Place order to top up your TPG account on Shopee (e.g. $10 top up)
2. During check out, provide your TPG mobile number -- just the 8 digit mobile number -- under the leave a message text box.
3. After payment, wait for the top up to your TPG account balance (this could range from a few minutes to multiple hours).
4. When the Shopee delivery status changed to -- item 'shipped out' -- top up to your TPG account balance is in process.
5. You'll receive an SMS on your TPG mobile -- once the top up has been done.

6(a) You can (then) check (both) your TPG plan usage/quota + account balance -- by sending out an SMS on your TPG mobile -- type 'TPG' (without quotes) & send out the SMS to 1218.
6(b) After sending the above SMS -- you'll get a reply -- with a list of choices. Reply 2 to view balance.
6(c) The next SMS you receive -- shows an updated status of your usage/quota + current TPG account balance.

Whenever necessary, I use the above SMS method to check my TPG usage/quota + account balance -- so I no need -- to install/login to the TPG mobile app or login to the TPG Web site. :)

(You may wish to use above SMS method to check your current TPG quota + account balance -- BEFORE placing order on Shopee for the TPG top up.)

Hope the above helps.
Many thanks boonkang.

I have just tested out step 6. So, what I should look out for is an increase in my Wallet Balance from the current $0.00 to $10.00 (assuming I purchase the $10 renewal)?

And when that happens, TPG will not auto-deduct the $10 renewal fee from my credit card?

My next billing date is 27 Jan 2022. Would it be safe to purchase on 27 Jan 2022?

adderrs

Those TPG top up on Shopee -- CAN BE used to top up your TPG post paid plan's account balance.

All TPG post paid plans have a wallet which TPG calls "account balance". See TPG's FAQ page.

You can top up to this TPG account balance -- which can then be used (to pay) for post paid plan renewal or IDD calls or excess usage charges etc.

TPG post paid plan renewal (every 30days) -- will deduct from this TPG account balance FIRST (if got sufficient money there).

If not enough money in your TPG account balance, then TPG post paid plan renewal will proceed to deduct from your credit card / debit card.

I've been using 3rd party providers like those on Shopee -- to top up my TPG post paid account balance (from which TPG later deduct for renewal of my TPG post paid plan every 30days). :)

Currently, in Singapore:

(1) Port telco A prepaid to telco A post paid -- CAN
(2) Port telco A post paid to telco B post paid -- CAN
(3) Port telco A prepaid to telco B prepaid -- CAN
(4) Port telco A post paid to telco A prepaid -- CANNOT

If you want to port prepaid to post paid -- i.e. port from Big 3 telco's prepaid to any MVNO or TPG's post paid -- of course can, just do step (1) then later step (2).

If want to port prepaid (from the Big 3 telcos) to TPG post paid $10/$18 plan, TPG can help you combine step (1) & step (2) -- visit any TPG service centre to find out more.

Also, see posts #2119 and post #2125 in this thread.

Hope the above helps.
Excellent guide! Should be stickied. (y)

adderrs

Thanks.

Haha! great minds think alike. I have alot of un-use coins too and had wanted to experiment this top up method using my wife's tpg account but she called me bo liao...

Anyway the max number of coins you can offset is 300 if you are recharging the $10 plan, which means your monthly bill is effectively $7. The same method works for M1 Maxx ($8.24 for 50GB $12 plan) and Zero1 Jumbo ($8.24 for 60GB $12 plan) too. Too bad vivifi got no credit wallet or account balance for top up.

adderrs

Have you tried buying top ups using Shopee cash vouchers (like those you can get from Shopback or 7-11). Was thinking that this could be a good way to eke out a bit more value from my mobile plan :ROFLMAO:
all vouchers seemed to be greyed out when purchasing such top up services

lohsenglte

Think only jumbo can topup at 3rd party stall online
Yes, but they are still Postpaid Mobile.

In fact, Jumbo is ah beng shops only, no online topup facility. U do through Shopee (or other e-commerce), it's still topping up through those same ah beng shops.

What I'm trying to say is, nowadays there's too many plans that blur the line between Postpaid and Prepaid, and that's on deliberate purpose.

FTs are very used to Prepaid billing system, and some MNO/MVNOs did overcharge (by accident) a while back. At this stage, they are very afraid of using GIRO/CC recurring payments.
However, Prepaid is also quite expensive now, so this "Postpaid/Prepaid" hybrid system works for them. Topup like Prepaid (pay-per-use), but bundle works like Postpaid (talktime, SMS, local data included).

RLWZ21

but then its quite funny on how they (be it mno or mnvo) did on the web that weather that plan is it a postpaid or prepaid till u read up on their faq or other fine prints which i find that its misleading in some ways though.

i am not saying some dun read or bother to find out till they did then realize it. what i meant to say is that they should put like this ia postpaid plan or prepaid plan (but for zero1 jumbo is still quite weird but it seems to play the similar card as tpg (maybe an cash top up to the number account)

RLWZ21

Currently, in Singapore:

(1) Port telco A prepaid to telco A post paid -- CAN
(2) Port telco A post paid to telco B post paid -- CAN
(3) Port telco A prepaid to telco B prepaid -- CAN
(4) Port telco A post paid to telco A prepaid -- CANNOT

If you want to port prepaid to post paid -- i.e. port from Big 3 telco's prepaid to any MVNO or TPG's post paid -- of course can, just do step (1) then later step (2).

If want to port prepaid (from the Big 3 telcos) to TPG post paid $10/$18 plan, TPG can help you combine step (1) & step (2) -- visit any TPG service centre to find out more.

Also, see posts #2119 and post #2125 in this thread.

Hope the above helps.
wah....1st time seeing that u can play like this....also didnt know that tpg account can be applied to both side. will consider going for this tpg line :D

limpingsim98

wah....1st time seeing that u can play like this....also didnt know that tpg account can be applied to both side. will consider going for this tpg line :D
Just jump over to their plan. Find their 4G is significantly slower then M1.

lohsenglte

So moving to TPG seem a great mistake. Need to stay 1 week before porting back.
You can't say that just because of your area's weak performance.

It's more like it's less suitable for you.

It seems very unfair to say everything is bad just because one thing/place is bad lol

steven168z

So moving to TPG seem a great mistake. Need to stay 1 week before porting back.

you can try below still around $10

8434470-A-4068-41-A0-AD37-1-CF6824-C574-C.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.