SIMBA Telecom discussion thread

JustDoLor

Actually the fastest upload speed is in the toilet 😌

Again u can see the download speed always lower…

pue0Vak.jpg

wPlypDH.jpg

1CSpfBZ.jpg

sullycoin

Anyhow I think many uncles n aunties maybe walk pass those neighbourhood shop, saw and attracted to the big big TPG advertising banner, then just sign up on the spot, never check website/FAQ lor….
Actually, I think the guy who posted is a little boy... Which is quite surprising. I didn't think kids his age use SMS...

When collecting the SIM I was asked by counter staff to take a photo of the below instruction, staff never explain to me or go through it with me, just ask me take photo ☹

(the xiaomi instruction is printed on it)

Tried out the SMS 1218. The next time I want to check account balance just SMS send “2”, rather thn through the app which is tedious need to enter mobile number and key in the super long 8 digit OTP!
Lol, same when I collected the SIM card from Paya Lebar. I think is their SOP.

The app is frankly, hopeless. I wouldn't bother with it. I downloaded it & it's just a pita to use. I gave up & just use the SMS system instead if I needed to check on account balances.

keenklee

Noticed the loading of website quite slow while in MBR. So did a speed test.

jVvZQjZ.jpg

f1ag4Ga.jpg

In the living room
YlB3SyY.jpg

Went just outside the flat where I can see the clear sky
ZDDwp5c.jpg

There is a reason why when DL speed is low, the UL speed is much higher and vice versa. Abit technical I may explain if got time. But maybe some of you already know lah!
Please share when you think. :cool:

twosix

Last time during trial, there got display a big poster in the office showing the supported devices. But now no such poster, never show me the list when I was collecting my SIM, they should improve on this step.

Hmmm… but then potential customers might change their mind after knowing abt it lor..
that list was already outdated. dun think they can verify all the phones out there.

JustDoLor

Yes, the website is not updated.

However when I signup online (browser), I briefly remembered I was informed during the signup process to check that my mobile phone support VoLTE, a URL was provided. The list was last updated dated 17/6/2021.

I think this list should be add to their SOP for those who walk-in to sign up. And the staff should ask what phone they intend to use.

And then if it is xiaomi phone, can immediately add the special code to disable carrier check.

Again as said before, this may discourage some customers to signup.
https://www.tpgmobile.sg/static/media/VoLTE-Devices.255035f9.pdf

TPG should be already working with the manufacturers just like initially they made news when they reveal they have difficulty getting Apple to add in TPG profiles……
that list was already outdated. dun think they can verify all the phones out there.

limpingsim98

BTW, when collecting my SIM at Orchard Central, one uncle at the other counter complaint he cannot receive call, I overheard the counter staff said it was a xiaomi phone and need to enter the code to disable the carrier check…., I think he might not be the only one encounter such issue….
My Xiao mi phone too. Lucky found a step from Google to disable carrier check. Anyway, confirm coverage is still not as good. Waiting for 1 month billing cycle to about end before porting out.

JustDoLor

At Toa Payoh Central. Entered underpass via MRT Exit D. Walk less than 20 steps….

1-bar only, tried to make a call out, but phone went totally silent.
cLNkHL4.jpg

Walked a few more steps…. No Service.

Continued walked about 50m then at Fairprice, signal came back…
o3x45C0.jpg

Finally, walked further up just in front of MRT entrance:
Nh0SKNK.jpg

zOmVK0e.jpg

sullycoin

seems like tpg still best for those not communting on mrt lol XD
That might be a problem specific to that MRT station though (as weird as it may sound).

I have been using it on my MRT commute on EW line & DT line. No issue with my Netflix streaming all the way.

JustDoLor

No service only happened in that stretch of underpass (~40 to 50m) before the MRT entrance lah. Once I walked nearer and at the MRT entrance signal already recovered lah. I recorded DL/UL ~14Mbps/14Mbps at the MRT entrance mah….….

I m only less than 2 days on TPG, some more now I m still WFH, so didn’t ride the train to test further…

Be more positive lah…. But frankly speaking, I m quite surprised and abit disappointed lor…

seems like tpg still best for those not communting on mrt lol XD

That might be a problem specific to that MRT station though (as weird as it may sound).

I have been using it on my MRT commute on EW line & DT line. No issue with my Netflix streaming all the way.

SibehHL

Be more positive lah…. But frankly speaking, I m quite surprised and abit disappointed lor…
If a service provider cannot satisfy one's requirement, simply port out to another that can. Nowadays no contract phone line makes it so simple.

JustDoLor

I posted so many info, but only a single “Liked” ah?

Anyway…

It is more complicated as I initially expected. So would not be able to provide detailed explanation. Hope this help abit.

A quick answer is:
First the basic, lower frequency generally provide better indoor signal strength with longer range. Higher frequency in general better suited for covering populated zones and managing data volumes due to their larger bandwidth. However, it also suffers from higher attenuation (loss of energy) when propagating through walls and windows.

————-
TPG LTE operates on band 8 and 40 as follows:

Band 8 uses LTE-FDD.
895 to 905MHz Uplink,
940 to 950MHz downlink.
( Bandwidth 10MHz per channel)

Band 40 uses LTE-TDD.
2300 to 2340MHz
(BW 40MHz)

LTD-TDD has the option and flexibility to focus on asymmetry DL/UL services, i.e. it is possible to dynamically change the UL and DL capacity ratio to match demand.

For LTE-FDD, UL/DL capacity is determined by frequency band allocation, it is therefore inflexible to make dynamic changes to match capacity. So it is normally symmetrical in both directions.

For more detail u may want to to google LTE-FDD vs LTE-TDD.
————

Ok, come to the actual user experience.

On TPG network and at inside my flat, my mobile phone was observed to switch between band 8 and band 40 depending on where I was in the flat as the signal strength and quality would fluctuate. Default is band 40, which provide better DL speed with somewhat limited UL speed. The fallback is band 8, but with lower DL and comparatively higher UL.

I also observed that band 8 and band 40 located on the same cell tower. However for band 8, the signal strength is at about 10dB higher.

Lastly, the upload is performed by your mobile phone with limited power. As lower frequency (band 8), it can travel further and penetrate obstacles much easier compare to band 40, which is at much higher frequency.

—————
Speed test done on iPhone.

Mobile cell info done on Android phone with app “Network Cell Info Lite)

——————-
Interesting to note the following LTE bands use by the other 3 telco (by googling):

Starhub: 3,7
Singtel: 3,7,8
M1: 3, 7

All 3 main telco uses only LTE-FDD, but with at least double the bandwidth as compare to TPG. It could then explain why in the OpenSignal’s study, the UL speed of the 3 telco is much better than TPG.

IYwxa5l.jpg

(BTW, I m not working and has never worked in the telco/mobile industry. So the experts here, if I made any mistakes, plse kindly pointed out. Thank you)
There is a reason why when DL speed is low, the UL speed is much higher and vice versa. Abit technical I may explain if got time. But maybe some of you already know lah!

Please share when you think.

:cool:

steven168z

JustDoLor

Interesting to note from the othe thread that despite able to achieve over 380Mbps DL speed, the UL is only just over 6Mbps.
I think I near, but also not amazing either.

When I get those kinds of speeds my reception is usually like -55dBm, and I can only get them after 12am (no one else in the area)

Anyway looks like Monday night speeds are even better

12656950740.png

Honestly I think TPG's network can be really good if it isn't congested, and right now they don't have enough base stations. Look at what their network can achieve when there's less congestion.

ghvVV9M.png

JustDoLor

(Edited: MR tower ~220m away, TPG tower ~320m, both from the same direction)

The following speedtest was done on 24-Jan with MR just before I switch to TPG.

TPG done yesterday.
Test done around 5.40pm for both case but different day.

As can be observed in the toilet LOL, the TPG fallback to band 8 has a comparatively significant difference in DL/UL speed .

FYI, MR was always locked to band 7.

————
Speed test in Living Room
(noted on MR was 4 bar compared to TPG 3 bar. TPG cell tower is further by ~100m)

MR
NWahqro.jpg

TPG
iVLTTqO.jpg

——————
Dinning Area
MR
R0JFZNR.jpg

TPG
lIlXChV.jpg

——————-
Speed test in Toilet

MR
LzCWIDo.jpg

TPG
bVM5hMA.jpg

Your case and experience may be difference, so use my data with a pinch of salt.

SibehHL

Why RIP?? Been using it as my secondary line and it satisfied all my requirements well. There will always be folks who will continue using TPG because it serve their needs.

One does not need to put down a Telco (TPG in this case) in order to promote another Telco. All are adults above 18 hence can make up own mind especially on something simple such as choosing a Telco.

End of day, just port out or terminate line if unhappy with services provided, continue using if the short comings are tolerable. Not rocket science.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.