SIMBA Telecom discussion thread

riona

Didn't know a retailer can claw back wallet balance after top-up.

Few weeks ago during the 1-for-1 top up promo, i topped up $20 via the retailer number shared here, and i didn't need to go down Marina Square. The retailer topped up 2 times, and my wallet balance becomes ($20+$20)+($20+$20)=$80.

My wallet balance stayed $80+ for a few weeks, then lasty week, it was reverted to $40. Looks like they knew and told Simba to claw it back.
All "digital wallets" (including wise, Lazada, etc) are vulnerable to claw-backs, breaches, etc. so advise not to top-up too much.

jeff79

Didn't know a retailer can claw back wallet balance after top-up.

Few weeks ago during the 1-for-1 top up promo, i topped up $20 via the retailer number shared here, and i didn't need to go down Marina Square. The retailer topped up 2 times, and my wallet balance becomes ($20+$20)+($20+$20)=$80.

My wallet balance stayed $80+ for a few weeks, then lasty week, it was reverted to $40. Looks like they knew and told Simba to claw it back.
Just checked the 1 4 1 topup done in march still intact. Also pay at service center then the staff topup on behalf at marina sq at night.

username03

Tempted to switch from current $10/mth simba to hi! by singtel $15/mth (current promo $13/mth) plan for better coverage and data speeds.

Assuming we compare apple to apple in terms of benefits, it will be simba $12/mth vs hi! by singtel $13/mth promo.

For the coverage and similar benefits, put the $1/mth difference aside, do you think it's worth it? What will make you change and what will make you not change?

gapboy

Tempted to switch from current $10/mth simba to hi! by singtel $15/mth (current promo $13/mth) plan for better coverage and data speeds.

Assuming we compare apple to apple in terms of benefits, it will be simba $12/mth vs hi! by singtel $13/mth promo.

For the coverage and similar benefits, put the $1/mth difference aside, do you think it's worth it? What will make you change and what will make you not change?
It really depends on your location and how you use it. Everyone's routine is different, so the best way to know is to just give it a try!

BBCWatcher

If you want something on Singtel's network, what about Vivifi? Their Vibe 5G+ plan is currently S$11 per calendar month except for the first 3 months which are S$1 per month. Excluding the initial 3 month discount (which really should count), that works out to about S$0.84 per calendar month more than SIMBA. (SIMBA bills on 30 day cycles, so 12 cycles is 5 days short of a full year, 6 days short in leap years.)

username03

It really depends on your location and how you use it. Everyone's routine is different, so the best way to know is to just give it a try!
Not ready to switch my main line yet as simba is keeping me with them cos I have wallet balance over $100++.

But would like to know whether if there's any significant difference in benefits for me to consider.

If you want something on Singtel's network, what about Vivifi? Their Vibe 5G+ plan is currently S$11 per calendar month except for the first 3 months which are S$1 per month. Excluding the initial 3 month discount (which really should count), that works out to about S$0.84 per calendar month more than SIMBA. (SIMBA bills on 30 day cycles, so 12 cycles is 5 days short of a full year, 6 days short in leap years.)
Isn't directly under singtel like hi! and gomo better? As compared to third party using singtel infrastructures.

gapboy

Not ready to switch my main line yet as simba is keeping me with them cos I have wallet balance over $100++.

But would like to know whether if there's any significant difference in benefits for me to consider.

Isn't directly under singtel like hi! and gomo better? As compared to third party using singtel infrastructures.
i have friends moved from simba to hi! plans as their simba mobile encountering "Going in circles" .. now they are happy. They do not have endless topup in wallet like many people .. :)

twosix

Next time dun top up too much. When the network performance drops, ur hands r tight.

I have been with Simba since day 1. It is my backup line now. Main line is currently zero1 5G. Z1 is definitely more zippy than Simba.

CPTMiller

i have friends moved from simba to hi! plans as their simba mobile encountering "Going in circles" .. now they are happy. They do not have endless topup in wallet like many people .. :)
Best to keep balance not more then 6 months subscription amount. Nowadays alots of new plans coming up. Can easy switch over

BBCWatcher

Not necessarily. You'd have to check QCI values to see if there's any difference in network priority, and that still might not matter. There's a separate thread on that subject.

username03

Speeds and coverage are mostly better right? And as for 5g, hi! should have true 5g SA vs simba NSA?

BBCWatcher

Speeds and coverage are mostly better right?
Average data throughput is generally better with Singtel in most locations. Coverage is really going to depend on your location(s), but Singtel probably does a little better at least if you're counting 4G and 5G combined. However, don't be surprised if your phone flips to 4G in hard-to-reach interior spaces like car parks and lifts. If you're addicted to the number "5" on your phone, you may be disappointed on both networks.

OpenSignal has a December 2025 report to provide some insights into the respective networks. YMMV.

One point that's occasionally important is that SIMBA doesn't employ different QCI values depending on which plan and brand/subbrand/MVNO you have. Everyone not named SIMBA does. Basically, if a high paying business subscriber (or VIP) needs the network, that subscriber is going to get priority over you. Which doesn't often matter, but it might on occasion.
And as for 5g, hi! should have true 5g SA vs simba NSA?
Singtel has much more 5G SA deployed. SIMBA is reportedly only "dabbling" in 5G SA at this point in time. The SA v. NSA question has been much debated, but currently it doesn't matter much. You might get a little faster call completion on a 5G SA network, but that's not a "rock your world" improvement.🤷

You can try another network using a temporary number then port your number over later. It's not expensive to trial a network.

riona

For me Vivifi/Zym/Zero1 is better than Hi/Gomo, both in SG and especially roaming. Hi 5G postpaid has 6 mths rollovers. I currently use Zym as main and Eight & Hi for backups (roaming coverage). Simba is a hit & miss for me.

dexboi

can someone tell me if the rollover is correct?
how come main data rolled 3x liao, but APAC and Global only 2x.
and hor, they still haven't refund the 1cent 1cent they deducted that time! ☹️
mt391k9.jpeg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.