SimLim shop recommendation

gaoxing84

Went to PCT to build my rig, prices were not too bad. those no stock or prices they can't match, they will introduce you to some other shops to get it. Overall shopping experience was not too bad. Yilong did a great job. Even gave me a good price on the intel 520 ssd when the entire sls is out of the 330. Once everything was ready, he will compute and give you the best price they can la.
Service > Price. but not high priced also la. lol
Went there abit late that's why have to return the next day to get my completed rig.

1 complain, the person that built my rig left 1 set of the NZXT phantom fan screws out, he didn't put into my accessories box. Only found out when I bought new fans and tried to install. The chassis required a special screw for the front fan but luckily my dad's tool box have.
I tried calling PCT but no answers, on a saturday, probably busy. SMS-ed Yilong but no reply. But its ok la. Just a set of screws.
I did went back to buy 2 GTs case fan and will recommend people to go PCT to get their wares if they're still new to sls.

For best price, either best buy or tradepac. lol love dealing with the ah nehs. can disturb them. tell them what you want firmly, make sure you act like you know your stuff, they feel that they cannot cheat you, they will be honest. lol don't have stock then just leave lor. lol

human1969

PCT used to be better than average in the past in term of pricing.
(used to buy from Yazid)
Now it seems to be just average.

ponpokku

Is PCT pricing used to be among the lowest.
But base on their current pricelist, doesnt look like PCT is among the lowest.

For example,
Asus P9Z77-M + IV, PCT pricing are almost the same as most establish shops.
Only TP & some Best xxx shops offer slightly better price.

Or the rest of the shops catch up in term of low pricing or there is distro control ?

plz lah, u dun always get what u can see. shops can post low low price on the price list, but when u really go ask them, they say out of stock, suggest u to buy something way more expensive. waste ur time and effort niah.

rarely happen with PCT. and u can always ask for better price at the shop. they will usually give, even if it is one item there is chance.

RobinTeoHood

They like to play stunt with you. Pricing anyhow. This anyhow that anyhow.

Motherboards sitting on the shelf is 'sold'. I need one also cannot buy. Tricks like that make me not want to buy from them.

happened to me. I asked for a cooler but they say out of stock & asked me to get another one. I told them only wanted that specific model & they say wait while they check............and then they took one right from the shelf front & acted like it was a sudden revelation they found 1 more in stock. The thing was on the shelf right in front of us.

RobinTeoHood

Went to PCT to build my rig, prices were not too bad. those no stock or prices they can't match, they will introduce you to some other shops to get it. Overall shopping experience was not too bad. Yilong did a great job. Even gave me a good price on the intel 520 ssd when the entire sls is out of the 330. Once everything was ready, he will compute and give you the best price they can la.
Went there abit late that's why have to return the next day to get my completed rig.

1 complain, the person that built my rig left 1 set of the NZXT phantom fan screws out, he didn't put into my accessories box. Only found out when I bought new fans and tried to install. The chassis required a special screw for the front fan but luckily my dad's tool box have.
I tried calling PCT but no answers, on a saturday, probably busy. SMS-ed Yilong but no reply. But its ok la. Just a set of screws.
I did went back to buy 2 GTs case fan and will recommend people to go PCT to get their wares if they're still new to sls.

For best price, either best buy or tradepac. lol love dealing with the ah nehs. can disturb them. tell them what you want firmly, make sure you act like you know your stuff, they feel that they cannot cheat you, they will be honest. lol don't have stock then just leave lor. lol

Not implying any shop in particular but how you know if a shop assembled with all the new components you bought if you were not there to observe?

Maybe they used a recycled CPU or buyer returned PSU, or used ram or any other recycled parts.

RobinTeoHood

If you all don't mind the risk. Can order online from US Amazon or Newegg. Some small components are much cheaper & electronics seem are a lot less DOA nowadays.

Ram price is about half of what is sold here. I got a 128gb samsung SSD for about 100SGD. Bought an external blu ray writer below 200SGD, selling here at 299 at SLS. All with shipping included already.

enenyi

Not implying any shop in particular but how you know if a shop assembled with all the new components you bought if you were not there to observe?

Maybe they used a recycled CPU or buyer returned PSU, or used ram or any other recycled parts.
As far as I noe of, PCThemes wun do such things. Coz they give u back everything, and easy for customer to check serial number and check for missing parts/swapped out parts/ serial number of parts. This is in contrast to some shops in SLS (I wun mention names, Hardware clinic have threads describing them) where they only return u the boxes that u need for RMA (some just act blur and not return u anything). This is where wad u mentioned occurs.

Of course not being there to observe is at the customer's own risk...it's like paying for a laptop at IT Show...and leaving it with them at their booth only coming back to collect the next day.

human1969

Heard enough story about TP, though their prices are low.

Anyone have any experiences to share for Best Buy ?
Do they honor the exchange policy they quote ?

jaywalkra

Heard enough story about TP, though their prices are low.

Anyone have any experiences to share for Best Buy ?
Do they honor the exchange policy they quote ?

I buy all my flash stuff from them. Got a few DOA cards but never went back to them to exchange, always went straight to Kaira.

At least you know that all their stuff is local and not PI.

nixUser

Let say I bought a PSU, and after installing I discover it don't have enough watts to support my rig, the shopkeeper is nice enough to let me exchange for a higher wattage PSU. Now my question is when you bought that PSU(the one I return) is it consider new or 2nd hand?

human1969

Let say I bought a PSU, and after installing I discover it don't have enough watts to support my rig, the shopkeeper is nice enough to let me exchange for a higher wattage PSU. Now my question is when you bought that PSU(the one I return) is it consider new or 2nd hand?

I believe should be considered as new.

I bought a Asrock SB MB from PCT,
Did not check the box as I was rushing to distro to get it flash to support IvyBridge.
When i open the box, then i notice it was a 'return' unit.
Cause the Sata cables are missing and the CD was full of scratches.
The board didnt work either, Avertek Tech couldnt flash the bios, but he swapped a working board for me.

However, did claim the Sata cables from PCT subsequently.

One thing i learn is that, if something is Out Of Stock, and suddenly it become in-stock, it could be a return unit.

sianguy

Went to PCT to fix my desktop yesterday. NZXT phantom 410 was out of stock so I went to other shop and bought the casing and went back to PCT. Waited about 5 hrs for the installation to be completed. Price wise I feel alright as they will further discount for you and service acceptable. The best thing is to research your stuff before going down to get anything from sls.

ponpokku

good shops give u back all the stuff and boxes, with matching serial numbers on them. unless u specifically note that u dun want the boxes.

dante-z

which shop can pay via credit card and no further markup from the printed pricelist ?

ponpokku

there would be a grace period for the exchange, like one week or something. so everything within the grace period should be considered ok.

to be fair, if consumers expects no frills exchange within a given period, they has to accept that stuff opened up within this given period is still considered new (unless DOA unit, thats defective and different story). it's give and take.

nixUser

there would be a grace period for the exchange, like one week or something. so everything within the grace period should be considered ok.

to be fair, if consumers expects no frills exchange within a given period, they has to accept that stuff opened up within this given period is still considered new (unless DOA unit, thats defective and different story). it's give and take.

I share the same belief as human1969 and you, but look at the comment that I have quoted earlier, he seems to think otherwise. I'm just trying to highlight to him if treating exchange items as used, exchange items need to be sold at a discount, that's what restocking fees are for. Is he imply we should start paying it for our future exchanges?

human1969

Ideally,

If parts is damaged/missing, distro should bear.

If buyer change their mind, then i think its still reasonable to impose a re-stocking fee depending on condition.

Buyer of returned parts should be told and a discount offer.

At least that's how Frys in US works.
Returned parts have a sticker outside the box.

RobinTeoHood

Ideally,

If parts is damaged/missing, distro should bear.

If buyer change their mind, then i think its still reasonable to impose a re-stocking fee depending on condition.

Buyer of returned parts should be told and a discount offer.

At least that's how Frys in US works.
Returned parts have a sticker outside the box.

This seems the fairest arrangement to me.

I will consider an item used as long as it has been installed & run in any system, even for a short time. It may be in a working state but who knows what it has gone thru. Parts may have been over-clocked with crazy voltages which will affect its lifespan, or create problems which appear only under certain conditions.

RobinTeoHood

good shops give u back all the stuff and boxes, with matching serial numbers on them. unless u specifically note that u dun want the boxes.

But they could still be used/returned parts unless you checked they are new & took down the serial nos when they gave them to you for checking. I think many people neglect to do that.

I may sound picky about this but when i built several years ago components are easily damaged. Then chips can be re-marked & sold from trays by the piece. And assembling it myself i realized how sensitive some equipment can be. Bent pins pushed backed in place, cracked soldering, loosened ram slots etc etc... They may work but only to fail shortly.

Maybe things are much better now. But my concerns are borne from my past experiences.

gaoxing84

Err. He took all the boxes from shelves and all boxes are new. Everything was returned to me. Even the rams plastic case. Even the gpu cert.

I think is based on trust. If you find that you can't trust buying something at sls, better not. So many good reviews on pct. went there, impressed and was happy about it.
Happy with tradepac also because they give me good price + no nonsense.
But the dell monitor I bought they told me 5 yrs warranty but I forget to check the box before throwing it away. But I trust them once, everyone deserves a chance. Even it 3 years, at the price I got it, not too shabby.

Btw not sure dell monitor need to register online anot. So far I never register any parts online for warranty. Only kept and scanned my receipts for ram and proof of purchase lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.