SimLim shop recommendation

RobinTeoHood

Err. He took all the boxes from shelves and all boxes are new. Everything was returned to me. Even the rams plastic case. Even the gpu cert.

I think is based on trust. If you find that you can't trust buying something at sls, better not. So many good reviews on pct. went there, impressed and was happy about it.
Happy with tradepac also because they give me good price + no nonsense.
But the dell monitor I bought they told me 5 yrs warranty but I forget to check the box before throwing it away. But I trust them once, everyone deserves a chance. Even it 3 years, at the price I got it, not too shabby.

Btw not sure dell monitor need to register online anot. So far I never register any parts online for warranty. Only kept and scanned my receipts for ram and proof of purchase lol

I understand what you are saying. But just illustrating the possibilities what unscrupulous shops can do. You usually can get an idea how reliable they are when you communicate in detail with them.

I had the following experience with TP which others verified they like to do. So sometimes they are just creating their own doubts

happened to me. I asked for a cooler but they say out of stock & asked me to get another one. I told them only wanted that specific model & they say wait while they check............and then they took one right from the shelf front & acted like it was a sudden revelation they found 1 more in stock. The thing was on the shelf right in front of us.

gaoxing84

Heard enough story about TP, though their prices are low.

Anyone have any experiences to share for Best Buy ?
Do they honor the exchange policy they quote ?

Bought my hitachi had from them because they are the only shop that has it and price one of the lowest. Remember buying a hdd from them few years back.
No nonsense, buy and go. But the issue now is that I bought a c class hitachi but the receipt they provide was a class d model number. I went back, they say it's ok. Doesn't matter, got the receipt can already. I was abit skeptical about it but I forget to bring the receipt for the, to change also. So no choice lor. When my hdd dead, bring back to them. The younger guy working there quite attitude. The uncle so so only

gaoxing84

I understand what you are saying. But just illustrating the possibilities what unscrupulous shops can do. You usually can get an idea how reliable they are when you communicate in detail with them.

I had the following experience with TP which others verified they like to do. So sometimes they are just creating their own doubts

Oh. Lol all those black shop. We as customer also gotta play a part to check the items that we bought. We are the only one that can choose whether to get cheated or not.
So far pct ok, no problems, only when busy, hard to reach them. Like my case about the special fan screw set needed for my chassis, decided not to go all the way down to sls for the screws. But I am sure they will be gladly to return a set to me. After buying my rig, I told my friend who built together with me to help me ask for a extra Sata cable for my old hdd, yilong gave him 2 pieces, no question asked, I doubt any other sls will give u, probably ask you pay for it.

For tp, I went in, ask for dell u2312hm, ask for best price, the ah neh seems to have the power (not the tall older boss) gave me straight price and I said I take it because it was the price that was discussed in this forum. I looked around while waiting for them to take stocks, I ask the same ah neh 2 razor mouse how much, he checked and gave me $16 off retail for each set, I just took it. Simple and straightforward. Went back again in 10mins for intel 330, they say no stock and i say ok and walk away. They nv recommend me others or what. Lol

ponpokku

But they could still be used/returned parts unless you checked they are new & took down the serial nos when they gave them to you for checking. I think many people neglect to do that.

I may sound picky about this but when i built several years ago components are easily damaged. Then chips can be re-marked & sold from trays by the piece. And assembling it myself i realized how sensitive some equipment can be. Bent pins pushed backed in place, cracked soldering, loosened ram slots etc etc... They may work but only to fail shortly.

Maybe things are much better now. But my concerns are borne from my past experiences.

that was the old time. and besides not all do that even in the old times. i'm a diy-er for 20yrs since 486 era. the tray issue was simply 2 things, oem chips and repacked chips. nowadays u seldom see these anymore. oem chips are mass-ordered by various brands for a discount, they dun need boxes but shipped in tray. they are not supposed to appear in the retailer market but somehow that happened. reason being some mfg just needed say 900 and they ordered 1000's lot for a discount, they got about 100 extra chips in the end, they resell to shops to get back some cash. the problem is retailers cant return these chips thru normal channel cos they are not supposed to appear in the retail market. ppl buying these chips will be paying 5-10% less than boxed one, but suffer a possible disadvantage if he needs rma. u get what u paid for, not necessarily the sellers fault.

when i was doing IT business in china, the buyers and seller have such knowledge b4 hand, whether they are buying/selling boxed or tray chips. both prices are there for the customer to choose. u pick ur choice and bear the risks.

repack chips are just retail chips separated from box in order to minimise transport cost. say if a box is (a x b x c) cm, u can only have a limited amount of boxes per carton box. but if u sent the chips in trays, and the box flattened, instructions and warranty card separated, u could have double or triple the shipement in the same container and thus cut ur transport cost to a fraction. the chips, box and warranty are then re-packed at the destination. these can be rma thru normal channel. the downside is, sometimes human error in repacking caused wrong box to wrong chips, thus voiding warranty.

but nowadays they all comes in prepacked boxes and only very few shops have chips in tray. besides, makers nowadays requires matching serial and even matching heatsinks in order to do a rma. it's different culture now. and the same thing still applies, u get what u paid for. cheaper stuff sometimes comes at a disadvantage somewhere.

ponpokku

u have to do ur own homework too. getting a pc $1-2k is quite a big spending for most ppl and it is definitely unwise to plunge in without some background checks.

there is a reason why certain shops are more reputable/infamous than others.

goenitz33

it would be best ppl buying diy rigs learn to diy too esp trouble shooting.

no matter wat shop, best to be not too dependent on them.

jaywalkra

After buying my rig, I told my friend who built together with me to help me ask for a extra Sata cable for my old hdd, yilong gave him 2 pieces, no question asked, I doubt any other sls will give u, probably ask you pay for it.

For tp, I went in, ask for dell u2312hm, ask for best price, the ah neh seems to have the power (not the tall older boss) gave me straight price and I said I take it because it was the price that was discussed in this forum. I looked around while waiting for them to take stocks, I ask the same ah neh 2 razor mouse how much, he checked and gave me $16 off retail for each set, I just took it. Simple and straightforward. Went back again in 10mins for intel 330, they say no stock and i say ok and walk away. They nv recommend me others or what. Lol

Aiyah, TP or any other shop as long as you buy full system confirm can just ask for free extra SATA cable lor :s13:

I noticed that lately when dealing with the ah nehs, their tactics getting lesser & lesser. Maybe because they already by now know they cannot pull a "OOS-buy-another-one" on me :D

It's good anyway, very convenient for me as a no-frills-&-fug-off-after-you-hoot store :p

xhlee87

Aiyah, TP or any other shop as long as you buy full system confirm can just ask for free extra SATA cable lor :s13:

I noticed that lately when dealing with the ah nehs, their tactics getting lesser & lesser. Maybe because they already by now know they cannot pull a "OOS-buy-another-one" on me :D

It's good anyway, very convenient for me as a no-frills-&-fug-off-after-you-hoot store :p

U still buy from them?
I thought u were complaining about them selling u DOA card?

If OOS, u can always ask them take stock from other retailers.

gaoxing84

haha. didn't know ma. but still its free.
must give no-nonsense look to ah nehs, they cfm won't try to eat you. if buy small items or per pieces of hardware, can try TP. prices damn good so far.

jaywalkra

U still buy from them?
I thought u were complaining about them selling u DOA card?

If OOS, u can always ask them take stock from other retailers.

Yes, but they sold me at lower than RRP and it was the same day as the new RRP was revised. The thing is, if I get a DOA item, I settle it straight with distro and never with the shop. Just a little annoyed that they (likely but not confirm) did sold such a unit to me, but I'm not totally affected since it's just a single day of delay.

Jas007

... The younger guy working there quite attitude. The uncle so so only

lemme guess ... the young one is the perm-hair one ? :s13:

now i go TP, if he serves my queries ... no more chut pattern liao
cos he remembers !
this is the dude i chut pattern (claimed $ on list is bundled with casing etc) on that AsRock mobo + attitude, whom walked out of the store only to return 10 mins later to buy RAMs only ... BUT with that same mobo in a PCT plastic bag !!!

i've returned several times (different days) after that ...
each time to buy or check $ on small items eg softwares
now he no longer treats me like the first time, instead got smile and say dunno when restock and can't confirm if $ remains :s13:
heck, he even gave me $2 off listed $ on MX4 ...

gaoxing84

lemme guess ... the young one is the perm-hair one ? :s13:

now i go TP, if he serves my queries ... no more chut pattern liao
cos he remembers !
this is the dude i chut pattern (claimed $ on list is bundled with casing etc) on that AsRock mobo + attitude, whom walked out of the store only to return 10 mins later to buy RAMs only ... BUT with that same mobo in a PCT plastic bag !!!

i've returned several times (different days) after that ...
each time to buy or check $ on small items eg softwares
now he no longer treats me like the first time, instead got smile and say dunno when restock and can't confirm if $ remains :s13:
heck, he even gave me $2 off listed $ on MX4 ...
i think so. forget already. sibei yaya. the uncle also oko only.
but this kind of place, buy and go only. at the cheapest price. can't complain much

randomforumer

Err. He took all the boxes from shelves and all boxes are new. Everything was returned to me. Even the rams plastic case. Even the gpu cert.

I think is based on trust. If you find that you can't trust buying something at sls, better not. So many good reviews on pct. went there, impressed and was happy about it.
Happy with tradepac also because they give me good price + no nonsense.
But the dell monitor I bought they told me 5 yrs warranty but I forget to check the box before throwing it away. But I trust them once, everyone deserves a chance. Even it 3 years, at the price I got it, not too shabby.

Btw not sure dell monitor need to register online anot. So far I never register any parts online for warranty. Only kept and scanned my receipts for ram and proof of purchase lol

WEre you around to witness the assembly of the pc components ???

If so...were they staring at you ??
cause it would be quite weird to see people assembly the pc.

gaoxing84

WEre you around to witness the assembly of the pc components ???

If so...were they staring at you ??
cause it would be quite weird to see people assembly the pc.

No, I wasn't there. I went to collect the next day. Every shop have my first trust, if they break, I doubt I will be going back to them for more.
if ppl don't feel safe, better to buy the components back and DIY. Haha

NWT1978

Prefer PC themes now.... went there today to buy stuff from them.
still good svc from them...

used to prefer Fuwell... went today to check out... saw some staffs are FTs...they should be AT?... got the tones

and usually avoid those stores that are AT and Indians ones...

racists not nice :eek:

victorlee10

If i have already have a PC and only want to change mobo + CPU + heatsink + SSD, will PCT and TP charge me for assembly? Say I bring my current PC down. Any idea how much they charge. I've assembled my own pc before, just that not very confident in playing with jumpers or plugging in the front panel connectors.

nipp0n

If i have already have a PC and only want to change mobo + CPU + heatsink + SSD, will PCT and TP charge me for assembly? Say I bring my current PC down. Any idea how much they charge. I've assembled my own pc before, just that not very confident in playing with jumpers or plugging in the front panel connectors.

PC Themes might charge you around $10-$20 for assembly fee. I read quite a number of bad reviews on TP assembly service. Maybe you can wait for the regulars to give you more feedback.

ponpokku

need assembly go PCT la. YP unless u present there all the while. even so still not safe...

chamsiong a bit they might waive the fee. see how u nego lor.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.