SimplyGo screw ups

RedsYWNA

Basically currently the transition isn't 100%, i.e., for private transport is under the old system, and public transport is on new system.

Hence need to have 2 separate cards.

but had they transitioned 100% to the new system, where there will still be 1 card, it will not be an issue?
By your 100% transition and using 1 card, do you mean that for drivers, they will use simply go credit/debit card system for public transport, while retaining their ezlink motoring/Nets Flashpay system?

If drivers are not happy with the above scenario, they are welcome to get 2 separate cards, a simply go ezlink card and an ezlink motoring card?

but had they transitioned 100% to the new system, where there will still be 1 card, it will not be an issue?
While LTA and other government agencies may be able to transition to the new system fairly quickly for ERP and HDB/URA carparks, private carpark operators may not be so willing to upgrade their readers. So the 1 card solution is probably years away.*

But is this such a big deal given there are only ~600k cars in Singapore, if I remember correctly, in comparison to 3m+ daily rides in public transit?

* But you can implement your own one card solution today. Leave a NETS FP or EZLink Motoring card in your vehicle, and pay for public transit rides with Apple/GooglePay.

reddevil0728

By your 100% transition and using 1 card, do you mean that for drivers, they will use simply go credit/debit card system for public transport, while retaining their ezlink motoring/Nets Flashpay system?

If drivers are not happy with the above scenario, they are welcome to get 2 separate cards, a simply go ezlink card and an ezlink motoring card?
Basically using the same system as those for public transport come 1 June.

hence it will be back to 1 single card rather than 2 separate cards for drivers who also take public transport.

reddevil0728

While LTA and other government agencies may be able to transition to the new system fairly quickly for ERP and HDB/URA carparks, private carpark operators may not be so willing to upgrade their readers. So the 1 card solution is probably years away.*

But is this such a big deal given there are only ~600k cars in Singapore, if I remember correctly, in comparison to 3m+ daily rides in public transit?

* But you can implement your own one card solution today. Leave a NETS FP or EZLink Motoring card in your vehicle, and pay for public transit rides with Apple/GooglePay.
But that’s besides the point.

I’m trying to suss out is RedsYNWA qualms about having 2 cards? Or something else.

RedsYWNA

Basically using the same system as those for public transport come 1 June.

hence it will be back to 1 single card rather than 2 separate cards for drivers who also take public transport.
That's not quite true. See my above comments. You can only use 1 card, if drivers choose 'Simply go credit/debit card' system for public transport.

There are no other ways to continue using 1 card for both public and private transport, unlike previously where drivers can just use ezlink motoring/nets flashpay for both public and private transport.

reddevil0728

That's not quite true. See my above comments. You can only use 1 card, if drivers choose 'Simply go credit/debit card' system for public transport.

There are no other ways to continue using 1 card for both public and private transport, unlike previously where drivers can just use ezlink motoring/nets flashpay for both public and private transport.
i am saying what if they do a 100% transition. rather than 50%

like basically previously can have 1 card for both in the past, but in future also 1 card for both under the new system

RedsYWNA

i am saying what if they do a 100% transition. rather than 50%

like basically previously can have 1 card for both in the past, but in future also 1 card for both under the new system
To do a 100% transition, they have to pass a law to fine carpark operators who refuse to upgrade their system.

I have 3 cards in my car, just because of these carpark operators (ezlink motoring, nets flashpay, nets cashcard).

RedsYWNA

On a side note, does anyone know the real reason why LTA is enforcing the upgrade, while maintaining the stored value concession card system?

'end of useful life' etc hardly appears to be the real reason. Just curious!

reddevil0728

To do a 100% transition, they have to pass a law to fine carpark operators who refuse to upgrade their system.

I have 3 cards in my car, just because of these carpark operators (ezlink motoring, nets flashpay, nets cashcard).
But you are still missing my point.

I’m asking had they really do a 100% transition, I.e., everybody default back to using one card under the new system, will that be ok? If yes, then technically is just a poor transition right) they should just make everything on the new system at one go then ppl wouldn’t complain about having to manage 2 cards?
On a side note, does anyone know the real reason why LTA is enforcing the upgrade, while maintaining the stored value concession card system?

'end of useful life' etc hardly appears to be the real reason. Just curious!
That will probably go sooner or later. They doing it in phases lor

fr33d0m

By that same logic, perhaps you dont need to check the grocery or restaurant bill. Just go off, and come back for refund a few days later, if you notice any discrepancies?

My Final Year Project on technology acceptance model, was about ensuring a new tech is useful and easy to use. LTA didnt consider the 1/3 population carefully, when they took out a feature that the 1/3 found useful.

With this new technology, drivers effectively need to have 2 cards, vs 1 previously. How is that an advancement?
You mean as a driver, you pull out your cards from IU to take public transport? I wonder how many do this.

fr33d0m

- I'm not referring to those on concession card or whatever, but the general population segment which are being forced to use tech which they are not used to using or navigating. as the population ages, there's an increasing number of elderlies being 'left behind' by the implementation of the tech stuff, just saying.

- I never like to wait for problem to happen before solving the problem. I rather there is no problem in the first place. who likes to check his SimplyGo app everyday just to find out if he was being overcharged due to the system fault? why create a (potential) problem when there was no problem initially for the end-user (those using ez-link)?

anyway, having used simplygo for the past 2, 3 years I've seen the pros and cons and I'm not saying it's all doom and gloom. but they really need to improve the system before forcing it down everyone's throat. the first thing they can do is to improve the system to ensure no over-charging of passengers due to internal system fault (e.g. passenger taps correctly but system failed to capture for whatever reason like lag, GPS error, etc.). a simple notification about 'missed exits' to remind passengers to submit a claim will do a lot of help (and PR) instead of quitely / silently over-charging and waiting for passengers who bothered to check the app to submit claims thereafter.
A missing exit on ez-link is hardly noticeable. Not knowing does not equal to no problem…

sglandscape

how often do drivers actually remove their card from the IU to take public transport?
Exactly this, what's why I question if people who raise that concern are even drivers. Most drivers are actually looking forward to an ABT system where they domt have to worry about topping up or having insufficient balance in the card.

Most have a dedicated card in the IU too. Who brings it out of their card except in the past when you couldn't top up using your phone

reddevil0728

Exactly this, what's why I question if people who raise that concern are even drivers. Most drivers are actually looking forward to an ABT system where they domt have to worry about topping up or having insufficient balance in the card
people are just throwing everything at it. hoping something sticks.

XiaoJinLing

Like that can I use my parents' concession card then? I topup n use for them lor...

But I think once in a while is ok... if long time liao then got tracked n record lor...

sglandscape

Depends if you are a weekday or weekend driver. But the point remains. Last time, drivers can use a single card for ERP/public transport, which also makes it easier to track your monthly transport expenses.

Now they have to either use 2 cards, or to be forced to use (a) simplygo for public transport and (b) netsflash/ezlink motoring card for private transport.
Do you have a car or have driven before? I personally do not know any driver who do not actually have a dedicated card for their car and simply leave it in their IU. Unless you're chronic car renter perhaps, but thats a relatively small % of the car users.

reddevil0728

Like that can I use my parents' concession card then? I topup n use for them lor...

But I think once in a while is ok... if long time liao then got tracked n record lor...
it's an offence to use a concession card that doesn't belong to you

sglandscape

Quite the opposite. This like credit card when it first started, you first get the users, then the merchants who are not willing to accept it feel FOMO.

sglandscape

people are just throwing everything at it. hoping something sticks.
Fully agree. Most of those concerns raised directed at drivers are absurd. Majority of drivers would rather have an account based system instead of having to deal with paying an admin fee because you crossed an ERP and your cash card had insufficient value, or having to top up your cash card at the car park exit because the fees charged exceeded what you have in the card.

As a driver you're going to be paying those fees regardless, having an easy way to bill it directly to a credit card instead of having to do a wallet top up simply makes sense today because the technology and infrastructure today can support it with ease.

RedsYWNA

Quite the opposite. This like credit card when it first started, you first get the users, then the merchants who are not willing to accept it feel FOMO.
Err.... Have you been stuck in a carpark before, with only a nets flashpay card which is not accepted by the gantry?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.