Sleep apnea test

shodan99

There is another treatment option besides cpap. There is a nerve stimulation treatment which is better without having to wear a mask to sleep. Hypoglossal Nerve Stimulation

Mecisteus

This oxygen thing I don't understand

Outside or room or there got aircon sure got oxygen mah and u r breathing like normal isn't
You never learn from covid ?

Just get a good fitness tracker to measure spo2 during sleep.

soyabean89

Waaa so exp ah
Must use for lifetime?
rEM is like those found in smart watch ah
those smart watch i not sure if accurate or not. these lab one is based on device hook on to your head arm and chest.

er from understanding, most of the apnea are cause by weight issue... if u slim down alot, maybe dun need cpap...

not per say but frequent use can help support current issue caused by apena... e.g chronic fatigue, unable to stay awake mid day, etc

usually the machine can tahan 5 yrs? so 2k.. think of it like a high end mobile phone bah... at least this 1 support ur health until can resolve the root cause like weight.. but anything else might need doc advisory liao.. mine one is obesity derived apena... quite bad as my friends complaint my snoring as if im dying as i struggle to breath when going holiday with them...

have some feedback from your partner or family members... usually snore are cause by apena

Zorroh

Anyone done before ? Is it effective?
Actually there is no need to do the sleep apnea test if you snore loudly. Confirm will have sleep apnea. (Post add: it is either bad or very bad) Can save the money and pain.
No need to see doctor or specialist because they also can't do much. After you see doctor for sleep apnea, insurer may not want to insure your health.
You can straight go buy a CPAP machine.
I have 2 CPAP machines, one a Resmed and the other a very compact one for travelling. After using for a few months, I stopped as I found that I could sleep properly without them and the CPAP machines make as much noise as my snoring when the mask is leaking.
There is a US website where you can buy CPAP machines quite cheaply, also no need doctor's prescription. The CPAP is just an air pump.

Emperor_Hippo

No one went ah
All so healthy one man
u mean sleep clinic?

this one make appointment with ENT spec can liao. not ex. private about 10k. after insurance copay about few k only.

effective? it does NOT cure u of OSA, but gives you understanding of the cause and symptoms of your OSA and allows your ENT Spec to give you the best possible diagnosis and relief/cure based on that data point.

best few K I had ever spent in my life.

dun be a giam jee sai. just make an appointment and do it.

Emperor_Hippo

There is another treatment option besides cpap. There is a nerve stimulation treatment which is better without having to wear a mask to sleep. Hypoglossal Nerve Stimulation
its not a treatment.

its an implant. battery only lasts 11yrs and its not suited for ALL TYPES of OSA.

consult ur ENT spec directly for proper advice.

endlssorrow

those smart watch i not sure if accurate or not. these lab one is based on device hook on to your head arm and chest.

er from understanding, most of the apnea are cause by weight issue... if u slim down alot, maybe dun need cpap...

not per say but frequent use can help support current issue caused by apena... e.g chronic fatigue, unable to stay awake mid day, etc

usually the machine can tahan 5 yrs? so 2k.. think of it like a high end mobile phone bah... at least this 1 support ur health until can resolve the root cause like weight.. but anything else might need doc advisory liao.. mine one is obesity derived apena... quite bad as my friends complaint my snoring as if im dying as i struggle to breath when going holiday with them...

have some feedback from your partner or family members... usually snore are cause by apena
Hahahah f them
That y I can't hear myself

Emperor_Hippo

Hahahah f them
That y I can't hear myself
If that's the case, maybe it's better that you NOT go for the Sleep Clinic at all.

Waste of time, waste of energy, waste of your weekday/weekend and the doctor's time as well as well as your MC days.

If you cannot automatically see the benefits of doing a sleep clinic and gaining further understanding of the exact causes of your possible OSA so that you can find the right meds/surgical methods to fix your body properly, may I recommend you following closely any of the EDMW postings on "juicing" or "healthy eating methods" with all the chim scientific talk.

Cos medicine is unnatural.

LoaGong12

I suspect about 10% to 20% of guys in Singapore have sleep apnea. I came up with the estimate based on the number of my friends (guys) who have sleep apnea. Their wives complained about their snoring so they went for the sleep test and were diagnosed. There are many more guys who could have sleep apnea but refused to go for sleep test (I don’t know why.)
snoring doesn’t mean apnea though

LoaGong12

Actually there is no need to do the sleep apnea test if you snore loudly. Confirm will have sleep apnea. Can save the money and pain.
No need to see doctor or specialist because they also can't do much. After you see doctor for sleep apnea, insurer may not want to insure your health.
You can straight go buy a CPAP machine.
I have 2 CPAP machines, one a Resmed and the other a very compact one for travelling. After using for a few months, I stopped as I found that I could sleep properly without them and the CPAP machines make as much noise as my snoring when the mask is leaking.
There is a US website where you can buy CPAP machines quite cheaply, also no need doctor's prescription. The CPAP is just an air pump.
what is your compact on for travelling? it works as well as normal one?

Zorroh

what is your compact on for travelling? it works as well as normal one?
The travel unit that I bought was a Transcend II but that was ten years back so I think there would be newer and better models. You can read some reviews https://www.sleepfoundation.org/best-cpap-machines/best-travel-cpap-machine
503042_806_detail__28543.1576154368.jpg

https://ventureresp.com/transcend-travel-cpap-machine-with-multi-night-battery-solar-charger/

I did not use the travel unit much but it worked well enough. It is not a workhorse like the more robust ResMed where you can use day in day out. the air filter is also much smaller IIRC. I think it is also quieter. I would not buy a travel unit for daily use though.

endlssorrow

If that's the case, maybe it's better that you NOT go for the Sleep Clinic at all.

Waste of time, waste of energy, waste of your weekday/weekend and the doctor's time as well as well as your MC days.

If you cannot automatically see the benefits of doing a sleep clinic and gaining further understanding of the exact causes of your possible OSA so that you can find the right meds/surgical methods to fix your body properly, may I recommend you following closely any of the EDMW postings on "juicing" or "healthy eating methods" with all the chim scientific talk.

Cos medicine is unnatural.
Ehhh if u see how u hear urself

The Legionnaire

It's the laryngeal or pharyngeal flaps that causes it. Just a precision surgery will correct the situation! Fast one day before surgery... remember!

firsttimebuyer

the doc told me the system capture R.E.M so technically i was fall asleep..just not a quality one.
cpap they can write a referer to the ERIKA outlet to let them loan you for a month..just have to pay for the cpap mask due to hygine purpose... if you decided to buy after the 1 month test is up, they wont sell you the mask and just the unit.

got 2 different type ... one is just 2 tube outlet aim at nose.. another like scuba diving one, cover entire nose... i choose the latter ones

can be abit pricy... about 2.7k when i bought in MAY 2025

still using.. im using those without humdifier one...cause i didnt find my throat and nose dry... easier and cheaper to maintain.

complimentary data printing whenever you bring the unit to ERIKA outlet. including adjust timing if it got misaligned
nope.. in fact i thought i didnt fall asleep during the test day... the doc show me the result that there were some factor to look out and it reflected that i have severe apena...cpap is the only wayto go and after a month of cpap she compare the result and was positive... i also feel better.. tho not 100% as i still fall asleep mid day..just that the frequeny dropped quite significantly.
i gt slp apnea... i use machine to slp. if i never use,i a bit cannot slp...too used to it liao...do the test,get the doctor letter then go shopee buy those cpap machine... cheaper and work well too...buy rsmed 3 4 5k onward...mask aso sibei exp...
For me, I found it quite okay. Maybe because I chose the nasal pillow which is like the lightest mask. Then I remember after a few days, really felt a difference in feeling after waking up. At times, sleep may not be feeling the mask at all.

Not to say totally no problems. First one minor one is I find I can't sleep on my back anymore, at least consciously. Second one is I don't take naps anymore. If wanna nap, need to put on mask. Will only do that if I really need it. Then, travel overseas must bling machine along.

Last one moi consider most jialat is having runny noses while sleeping, which happen more often the past year. Been trying a few things on and off.

But I'll say positives outweigh negatives. :cool:
Hi guys, I am currently on a one-month trial period. I am renting the ResMed AirSense 10 from the Air Station.

Can I please ask a few questions:

1) for your own machine, are you able to extract the Sleep Data on your own without relying on the dealer or distributor? I found my distributor, Air Station, not so responsive and I don't want to rely on them

2) what machine do you use for travel? Any tips and advice?

3) my doctor suggested that I try sleeping on my side. I do fall asleep on my side but I also found myself waking up on my back. Do you guys use any sleeping aids yo help you with that?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.