Sleep apnea test

coolmyth

Hi guys, I am currently on a one-month trial period. I am renting the ResMed AirSense 10 from the Air Station.

Can I please ask a few questions:

1) for your own machine, are you able to extract the Sleep Data on your own without relying on the dealer or distributor? I found my distributor, Air Station, not so responsive and I don't want to rely on them

2) what machine do you use for travel? Any tips and advice?

3) my doctor suggested that I try sleeping on my side. I do fall asleep on my side but I also found myself waking up on my back. Do you guys use any sleeping aids yo help you with that?

1) I'm not using that brand so can't help much on that. Only thing I can think of is to search the internet for the software that can connect to your machine, and extract the data.

2) I bring the same machine I used with me for travel. Bring it as a hand luggage. Include doctor's letter inside. Don't check it to avoid possible damage when your checked-in luggage is being handled all around. Bring some wet tissues to wipe your masks etc.

3) Most important is what you're most comfortable with, and whether the machine really helps with your sleep quality. It should be an improvement you can feel clearly.

Cheers and good luck.

linzw00

Actually some smartwatch can do similar test, though not as detailed as actual test.

I did the correction surgery before and only lasted for 6mths only and it came back. Good thing the surgery was fully paid by insurance then.

Ironside

Sleep Apnea can be eliminated by losing around 5-10% of body weight.

firsttimebuyer

Actually there is no need to do the sleep apnea test if you snore loudly. Confirm will have sleep apnea. Can save the money and pain.
No need to see doctor or specialist because they also can't do much. After you see doctor for sleep apnea, insurer may not want to insure your health.
You can straight go buy a CPAP machine.
I have 2 CPAP machines, one a Resmed and the other a very compact one for travelling. After using for a few months, I stopped as I found that I could sleep properly without them and the CPAP machines make as much noise as my snoring when the mask is leaking.
There is a US website where you can buy CPAP machines quite cheaply, also no need doctor's prescription. The CPAP is just an air pump.
Can I please ask:

1) what model are you using for travel?
2) what is the name of the US website?
3) if you buy online, how do you settle the warranty and repair then?

Hello_Kitty

wear a mask and sleep lor
they put many wire on your head
uncomfortable to sleep

cant go toilet, just pee in the container

after that give you machine and mask to try out
but it didnt work for me, so after 1 mth , i returned and nvr use it
modern day already, they still haven't improved this

cet87

wear a mask and sleep lor
they put many wire on your head
uncomfortable to sleep

cant go toilet, just pee in the container

after that give you machine and mask to try out
but it didnt work for me, so after 1 mth , i returned and nvr use it
if want to pangsai, how?

grissodrod

20260522-102043.png

Thoma5

Hi guys, I am currently on a one-month trial period. I am renting the ResMed AirSense 10 from the Air Station.

1) for your own machine, are you able to extract the Sleep Data on your own without relying on the dealer or distributor? I found my distributor, Air Station, not so responsive and I don't want to rely on them

3) my doctor suggested that I try sleeping on my side. I do fall asleep on my side but I also found myself waking up on my back. Do you guys use any sleeping aids yo help you with that?
1) buy from shopee… dun waste ur $ on them. Cheap and also good. I usin resmed,put in sd card and i forget which software i dl liao… tat software can read everything… tbh no point keep reading it also.

2) go overseas dun use lor… only few days nia, not a big deal also. But then my problem is i so use to it liao… so the first day if not so tired,i will have a little bit hard time falling asleep.

3)slpin habit how to change?

Dj_SkyE

Sleep Apnea can be eliminated by losing around 5-10% of body weight.

Not necessarily as it also depends on the structure of the throat. That's why thin people can also have sleep apnea.

But if one is overweight/obese, definitely do try losing weight first.

Dj_SkyE

I bought my machine (Resmed airsense 10) from US. After shipping and GST, still cheaper than what I would pay locally. Downside is warranty.

As for extracting sleep data, you can use this software called OSCAR, which was recommended by my ENT. I just transfer the data via SD card and print out for my doctor during my reviews.

paul6351

I think best is to do the sleep test. Then you will know the severity of your OSA, mild , medium or severe.
Denoted by the AHI reading. You will be given a sleep report, stating the result of the sleep test findings.
The gold standard of treatment is still using a cpap to treat OSA.
I am using an old model Philip cpap.... I can read the AHI reading off the cpap.. For a more detailed report, I will need a certain software to download. Normally I bring the cpap SD card to the hospital for download during my annual checkup with the sleep doc..

LouisSaha

I went to dental, and my dentist suspected I got this issue too.
How dentist can tell ah?

kensk76

I have been on this machine for the past 2 years, every day.
1) Download a program called Oscar. It will extract data from the SD card for your own use. Can print report and show to doctor.
2) I travel overseas with this machine...feels like bringing laptop, hand carry always cos it is the difference between a good or bad day.
3) If the machine works, you can sleep on any side. I used to can't sleep on my back since younger days. This machine is a miracle for my case.

Ironside

wrong, my fat percent dropped from 35% to now 15% in 2 years, even the TTSH doc said I am top 1%.
But I still can't eliminate sleep apnea totally although my conditions improved tremendously. Perfect sleep is so addictive.
I totally eliminate this problem by lossing just 3kg in 6 months. I suspect it is also related to overeating.

Ironside

Sleep apnea and overeating share a vicious, bidirectional cycle. Poor sleep disrupts hunger hormones, leading to overeating and weight gain. In turn, excess weight—especially around the neck and abdomen—narrows your airway, directly worsening the severity of obstructive sleep apnea. [1, 2, 3]

The Vicious Cycle
  • Hormonal Imbalance: Sleep deprivation (caused by apnea awakenings) increases ghrelin (the hunger hormone) and suppresses leptin (the satiety hormone).
  • Stronger Cravings: The hormonal shift frequently causes intense cravings for high-calorie, carb-heavy, and sugary foods.
  • Fatigue-Driven Inactivity: Frequent waking creates severe daytime fatigue, decreasing your energy for exercise and causing you to burn fewer calories. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]

kensk76

I totally eliminate this problem by lossing just 3kg in 6 months. I suspect it is also related to overeating.
envy you, i lost 35kg within one year also can't be totally cured. I tracked my sleep using Apple watch which is pretty accurate.

wees

I went to dental, and my dentist suspected I got this issue too.
How dentist can tell ah?
Did you find it difficult to breathe when dentist is working on your teeth? Means that you find it more difficult to breathe through your nose. So the dentist suspects that you could have a narrower airway. People with narrower airway are more prone to sleep apnea.

See the doctor and tell doctor that dentist suspects sleep apnea. Get referral to do sleep test at the hospital. Remove any doubt as to whether you have sleep apnea or not.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.