Sleep apnea test

Ironside

The symptoms are obvious, cannot breath until wake up, wake up that time heart beats fast, next day wake up like not rested.

Ironside

Yes, exercise is a highly effective, natural way to manage sleep apnea. Research shows that consistent workouts reduce the severity of Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA) by strengthening airway muscles, decreasing neck fluid retention, and improving lung function—even without weight loss. [1, 2, 3]
Exercise can be broken down into two main types to help manage symptoms:

1. Oral and Throat Exercises (Myofunctional Therapy)
Practicing targeted mouth and throat exercises tones the muscles around your tongue, soft palate, and throat, preventing them from collapsing or vibrating excessively during the night. [1, 2, 3]
  • Tongue Slide: Press the tip of your tongue against the roof of your mouth and slide it backward toward your throat.
  • Vowel Repetitions: Exaggerately pronounce and hold out vowels (A-E-I-O-U) aloud.
  • Tongue Stretch: Stick your tongue out as far as possible and try to touch your nose or chin.
  • Goal: Practice these exercises daily (holding for 5-10 seconds per motion) to improve airway muscle tone. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]

2. Aerobic and Resistance Training
Regular physical activity improves your body’s oxygen use, lowers blood pressure, and reduces upper airway inflammation. [1]
  • Aerobic: Activities like brisk walking, cycling, or swimming. Aim for 70 to 100 minutes of moderate aerobic activity per week.
  • Resistance: Weight training that targets respiratory and core muscles.
  • Bonus: A mix of aerobic and resistance training is proven to reduce the Apnea-Hypopnea Index (AHI)—which measures the severity of sleep apnea—more effectively than aerobic exercise alone. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]

Ironside

simple things, simple cure. another problem linked to unhealthy lifestyle.

Encouragesome1

grissodrod

If at there confirm can't sleep properly one

So if like 70% awake the machine still can find out ?
You need to have at least 4 hours of sleep for the sleep test to be valid. If not, the test will be declared invalid and you will need to book another appointment to redo the test. I think you need to pay again as well.

I also had issues sleeping and very bad quality sleep due to all the wires dangling off me and I woke up many times to pee due to aircon environment which I'm not used to. Luckily, I prepped myself by not drinking any caffeinated drinks and not taking power nap after lunch. Managed to clock in 6 hours of sleep even though I felt like I didn't sleep much. So, try to make yourself as tired as possible during the day and ward off any attempts to doze or power nap then go to the sleep test and sleep.

Also, if you pull out the wires in the middle of the night, the nurse will come in, turn on the lights and re-attach them. This will disrupt your sleep and the nurse will warn you about this when they prep you for the sleep test. One of my wires got loose and the nurse came in after I slept for a short while. Luckily, I managed to fall back to sleep relatively quickly after that.

endlssorrow

You need to have at least 4 hours of sleep for the sleep test to be valid. If not, the test will be declared invalid and you will need to book another appointment to redo the test. I think you need to pay again as well.

I also had issues sleeping and very bad quality sleep due to all the wires dangling off me and I woke up many times to pee due to aircon environment which I'm not used to. Luckily, I prepped myself by not drinking any caffeinated drinks and not taking power nap after lunch. Managed to clock in 6 hours of sleep even though I felt like I didn't sleep much. So, try to make yourself as tired as possible during the day and ward off any attempts to doze or power nap then go to the sleep test and sleep.

Also, if you pull out the wires in the middle of the night, the nurse will come in, turn on the lights and re-attach them. This will disrupt your sleep and the nurse will warn you about this when they prep you for the sleep test. One of my wires got loose and the nurse came in after I slept for a short while. Luckily, I managed to fall back to sleep relatively quickly after that.
Like that is it better the day before I don't sleep also

grissodrod

What was the result of your sleep study?
Non-supine AHI: 7.4
Supine AHI: 36.0

This is why I feel better sleeping sideways before using CPAP machine. Even with CPAP machine, my mouth will open and cause air leak when I sleep on my back. So, I try to sleep on my sides as much as possible. I'm still getting used to taping my mouth. I bought a chin strap and will try it soon to see if it helps with the air leak.

grissodrod

Like that is it better the day before I don't sleep also
😅 Don't have to be so extreme. A few tips:
1. Don't drink caffeinated drinks
2. Don't take naps during the day
3. Don't eat too much for dinner in case you need to pass motion in the middle of the night. And don't take high sugar stuff as it may cause sleeplessness due to more energy coursing through your body.
4. If exercise helps you to sleep better, then can do so before you go to the hospital. You need to reach the hospital at 7.30pm for registration.
5. Try to clear your bladder before you sleep to reduce sleep disruptions. Request for urinal containers to be placed at the bed if you know that you will definitely go toilet in the middle of the night.
6. Usual lights out for sleep test is 10pm. You can request for lights out to be earlier so that you can lie down on the bed and try to go to sleep earlier. I requested 9pm lights out and only slept around 10 plus due to the wires.
7. If you have a bed time routine to fall asleep, can do it for the sleep test. Individual rooms are assigned to each patient so no need to worry about others noticing your sleep routine. The nurses will be able to see though as there are cameras in the room to monitor your sleep.

The following pics taken from CGH sleep test room:
20260324-203515-(Blurred).png

20260324-203645.jpg

20260324-203549.jpg

wees

Non-supine AHI: 7.4
Supine AHI: 36.0

This is why I feel better sleeping sideways before using CPAP machine. Even with CPAP machine, my mouth will open and cause air leak when I sleep on my back. So, I try to sleep on my sides as much as possible. I'm still getting used to taping my mouth. I bought a chin strap and will try it soon to see if it helps with the air leak.
Didn’t know that they break down into Non-supine AHI and Supine AHI.

grissodrod

Didn’t know that they break down into Non-supine AHI and Supine AHI.
The hospital sleep test is very comprehensive compared to home sleep test. This is why I suggest to do the sleep test in a hospital instead of at home unless you are in a hurry to get the doctor's letter to buy a CPAP machine.

Below is the hospital's Diagnostic Sleep Test Report:
Sleep-Test-20260324-(Blurred).png

Home sleep test report:
page-1-(Blurred).png

firsttimebuyer

1) buy from shopee… dun waste ur $ on them. Cheap and also good. I usin resmed,put in sd card and i forget which software i dl liao… tat software can read everything… tbh no point keep reading it also.

2) go overseas dun use lor… only few days nia, not a big deal also. But then my problem is i so use to it liao… so the first day if not so tired,i will have a little bit hard time falling asleep.

3)slpin habit how to change?
Any issues with the power plug? I am quite tempted to buy one from a US-based website but I feel its troublesome for the power adaptor.......

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.