Sleep apnea test

soyabean89

im on the one month trial now.

did the home test and was diagnosed. went the poly referral route to ktph.

paid $270 for a f40 mask. so depending on the usage during this one month, will determine if i can get subsidy for the purchase of the machine later.

still half/half. it does take away my daytime fatigue to some extent but i dont get a full night's of rest as i wake up on and off to adjust the mask and mouth feels dry even with water in the humidifier.

another 2 weeks to go before the trial ends.

another pro is the cpap does help in eliminating the snoring so perhaps for my future family trips, i can just book the normal rooms instead of suites.
yup yup, sometime need abit of while to get use to. u can message the agent/service tech that orientate you the machine for advises. by right with humidifier should not have serious dry mouth issue.. probably setting need to compensate? else is the type of mask... ( there are different designs, some like those oxygen mask, some like just 2 tub seat below your nostril, some is cup cover the nose only)

also, its normal to feel super recharge, but the key thing is to resolve the fatigue as much as possible. and the effect will be more signficiant over a period of time with daily usage... so far im 1year into cpap.. feel much better, less dozing off during the day and meetings

soyabean89

possible to just buy the machine ourself without dong sleep test for knowing what airflow or other measurement to input?

I was given the impression that the sleep test is critical to get the right measurement for inputting into the machine. not possible to trial and error?
from my understanding, yes. my friend go this route
so without the sleep testing report, the company will use the most basic ramp setting, to see if u can tahan.. then loan u 1 month and you visit them to have the report printed. then they will see if the value ( sorry forgot the term) is below a level. if it doesnt, means need to readjust and see if they entertain another month of loan or not.. from my understanding they are often ok to offer extended rental to see if the new setting helps.

so its more like guessing and optimise couple of time. if got sleep test, they have clarity to help optimise the setting at first go. so wont give false impression cpap doesnt help

sleep clinic very long queue... i myself need to wait 3 months for a lucky last min slot.. else was suppose 6mth long wait one..

hellhole

i seen a recommendation ... in the thread...

are there more travel friendly ones.. i seen a few in aliexpress....

anyone try those.... cheapest one i search is about 300 dollars

grissodrod

i seen a recommendation ... in the thread...

are there more travel friendly ones.. i seen a few in aliexpress....

anyone try those.... cheapest one i search is about 300 dollars

I would advise against buying from aliexpress. CPAP machine is being used everyday and air is being pumped from the machine into your nose. If there are materials with toxic chemicals used in any part of the machine, you will be poisoning yourself every night. Read this announcement from Philips Respironics for the recall of their CPAP machines due to PE-PUR foam degradation that releases toxic gas into the machine.

For travel CPAP, I recommend Wellell (previously Apex) XT Auto Travel CPAP Machine from Taiwan, if you do not need wifi + bluetooth connectivity to the app. If you want to connect to the app, then you need to buy Wellell iX Auto CPAP Machine.

You can see from the picture below that Wellell is half the size of Resmed Airsense 10. I even managed to put the tube inside the bag.

Wellell-vs-Resmed.jpg

You can get Wellell XT Auto Travel CPAP Machine at a much lower price from US online shops. Shipping is around 100 USD from the shop. If you want cheaper shipping, can use one of the parcel forwarders. Then have to add 9% GST so the total cost is around S$700 on 15 Jun 2026. This is at least S$460 cheaper than buying locally as the local distributor sells the humidifier separately (it costs 45 USD on the US online shop). The machine can be removed from the base + humidifier and used separately if you do not need the humidifier.

Personally, I'd rather spend S$700 to buy from a reputable brand than some unknown brand on aliexpress and run the risk of poisoning myself even if it is 50% cheaper.

Wellell-XT-Auto-Travel-CPAP-Machine.png

Laneige

Anyone done before ? Is it effective?
Is it put machine
Do at home lo
My friend bought the machine then now tell me can’t use
Because he uses mouth to breathe n somehow use the machine like can be fighting bf for air?
I don’t use mouth to breathe so I don’t know
How I know because I will wake up with saliva in mouth from time to time lol

Laneige

Oh abt the machine don’t be silly n buy those Taobao one
Even Philips is it ? Their pipes or some ingredient used are said to be harmful to the body (old news). N their items a lot made in china is it?
Still wana anyhow buy those China brand? Don’t play play hor

Laneige

i was scheduled to go sleep overnight at the hospital but i deferred then postponed indefinitely. partly because by that time i sort of could sleep better.
so how did i partly overcome then? it was rather a coincidence because my kid moved out then my wife told me to sleep in the other room my kid used because she dislike my snoring (bad snoring). fortune has it that i just sleep better just like that till now.
maybe the noise of midnight toilet use or her bed movement i dont know.

anyway, the thot that someone watching me during the sleep test simply irked me so probably it was also a hesitation to first postpone.

well thats it.
Placement of furniture or what?

hellhole

Is it put machine
Do at home lo
Because he uses mouth to breathe n somehow use the machine like can be fighting bf for air?
i dun quite get it... so his nose can auto close off when he sleep? he needs to be studied!!

endlssorrow

Is it put machine
Do at home lo
Tot machine is normally rent one

grissodrod

Tot machine is normally rent one
Can rent to try out the machines but long term, it's cheaper to buy. It costs S$70/month to rent a Wellell machine and S$100/month for a Resmed machine. If you buy at SG retail price, the rental prices are equivalent to 2 years of usage: S$1400 for Wellell = 20 months of rental and S$2400 for Resmed = 24 months. So, it's better to buy the machine after deciding which one you like.

grissodrod

Is it put machine
Do at home lo
From my own experience, I encountered 2 scenarios when I could not breathe properly:
1. Machine settings not configured properly and/or filter not placed properly.
When I first use the machine (Airsense 10) that the hospital loaned to me for free, I had difficulty breathing also. I used the nasal mask which covers the entire nose and I close my mouth when I sleep. Right from the beginning I had difficulty breathing and I thought it's my issue. After I checked online, I found out that the sleep tech did not change the setting on the machine to compensate for the extra filter that they gave me to put in-between the tube and the machine. So, the machine pumped out the normal airflow but it was being restricted by the extra filter so less air reached me. I had to change the settings on the machine to tell it that there is an extra filter so that it can pump out a bigger airflow. After changing this setting, I could breathe normally.

2. Blocked nose
On a couple of days, I had partially blocked nose and could not use the machine for around 4 hours then I took out the mask in the middle of my sleep without realising it. My blocked nose caused breathing difficulties as less air reached me. For such a case, a full mask will be better so that I can breathe through my mouth and the air can be pumped through my mouth to open up the airway during sleep apnea.

LoaGong12

Is it put machine
Do at home lo
Need to get used to not breathing my mouth
i notice it has improved after using by cpap for a while
my cpap therapist initially told me to tape mouth up if need be but i didn’t need to in the end

LoaGong12

yeah same experience. when cold/ block nose hard to use cpap
From my own experience, I encountered 2 scenarios when I could not breathe properly:
1. Machine settings not configured properly and/or filter not placed properly.
When I first use the machine (Airsense 10) that the hospital loaned to me for free, I had difficulty breathing also. I used the nasal mask which covers the entire nose and I close my mouth when I sleep. Right from the beginning I had difficulty breathing and I thought it's my issue. After I checked online, I found out that the sleep tech did not change the setting on the machine to compensate for the extra filter that they gave me to put in-between the tube and the machine. So, the machine pumped out the normal airflow but it was being restricted by the extra filter so less air reached me. I had to change the settings on the machine to tell it that there is an extra filter so that it can pump out a bigger airflow. After changing this setting, I could breathe normally.

2. Blocked nose
On a couple of days, I had partially blocked nose and could not use the machine for around 4 hours then I took out the mask in the middle of my sleep without realising it. My blocked nose caused breathing difficulties as less air reached me. For such a case, a full mask will be better so that I can breathe through my mouth and the air can be pumped through my mouth to open up the airway during sleep apnea.

Laneige

Need to get used to not breathing my mouth
i notice it has improved after using by cpap for a while
my cpap therapist initially told me to tape mouth up if need be but i didn’t need to in the end
But yr nose not block right
If nose block how? Can still tape mouth? Will end up choking?
i dun quite get it... so his nose can auto close off when he sleep? he needs to be studied!!
blocked nose lo
Not everyone so Heng one

hellhole

blocked nose lo
Not everyone so Heng one
then he should sort out his blocked nose first... that seems more critical... sinus issues

Laneige

then he should sort out his blocked nose first... that seems more critical... sinus issues
Angmoh doc can treat this?
some is probably just 天生 is it?
I have sensitive nose also don’t know until one gp more specialized in mouth nose throat told me so

grissodrod

blocked nose lo
Not everyone so Heng one
If blocked nose, have to use full mask. On forums, you can see a lot of people suggesting buying an extra full mask as backup in case of flu and/or blocked nose if you use either the nasal or nasal pillow mask.

grissodrod

I have sensitive nose also don’t know until one gp more specialized in mouth nose throat told me so
Can try using the humidifier for your CPAP machine to see if it helps with the sensitive nose.

hellhole

your friend... not sure if he has gone through medicals... mostly blocked nose, is infection, nose sensitive or structural...

structural like can do operation or maybe he too fat ... need to diet ... the others.. maybe a bit difficult... so like mention.. use full coverage ones...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.