Small Rice Chat

dreamcast18

https://www.gsmarena.com/xiaomi_ai_...life_openwear_stereo_pro_offer-news-68416.php

xiaomi-ai-glasses-sudio.jpg

Xiaomi Ai glasses - CNY 1,999 ($278).

Very good price !
Ohh..tempting! Good for travels for video and realtime text translation! wonder how much memory it has or it takes a microsd?

RyanJ

Ohh..tempting! Good for travels for video and realtime text translation! wonder how much memory it has or it takes a microsd?

Not sure. But positively tempted.

U travel regularly, hoot one and write a Formal Report ( FR ) ? :grin:

RyanJ

Yes. Gonna order one as soon as it's available 😅

Buy a Versace medusa head logo/sticker and stick on the sides of the frame and people will think it is a clunky fashion statement. :s13:

I hope it can install and run some apks.

dreamcast18

Buy a Versace medusa head logo/sticker and stick on the sides of the frame and people will think it is a clunky fashion statement. :s13:

I hope it can install and run some apks.
Yeah..don't want to Kenna the Google glass backlash!

RyanJ

Yeah..don't want to Kenna the Google glass backlash!

U r right, when it gets way more widespread, probably new regulations will be in force.

Google Glass was an excellent concept but technology was not ready then. Their I/O launch event was amazing.

RyanJ

Is that ?Takeshi Kaneshiro doppelganger

The more I see the more I gian.

Better stop here.

dreamcast18

The more I see the more I gian.

Better stop here.
multimodal capabilities, including object recognition, text translation, calorie counting, and daily Q&A. They also function as a meeting assistant, offering automatic transcription, smart summaries, and real-time interpretation across 10 languages, including English, Japanese, German, and Spanish.

I wonder which portable LLM are they running on the snapdragon soc...

Star Trek Communicator finally here...

20090704-1971_StarTrekTOSCommunicatorReplica.jpg

ceestudent

Is there any smaller size xm phone beside xm 15? I see most new release have standard 6.67".
Xm 15 processor too overkill since i don't gaming.

froztheart

FYI for those that is purchasing powerbanks and heading to China.
New regulation that just went live from 28 JUNE 2025.
Personally will not risk bringing my powerbanks even if there's CE certification/logo on the powerbanks and just purchase locally in China, if not kena confiscate and heart pain.

China bans uncertified power banks on domestic flights starting Jun 28 over fire risk
"Two major Chinese electronics manufacturers, Anker and Romoss, recently recalled more than 1.2 million portable chargers, citing battery issues that posed a fire risk.

Certain power bank models from other Chinese brands, including Baseus and Ugreen, have also had their CCC certification suspended or revoked in recent months over safety concerns, according to local news reports."
What is CCC
"In the field of product certifications, the abbreviation CCC stands for China Compulsory Certificate. Certain product groups must have a CCC certificate before they can be exported to China. It is a mandatory certification in China. The CCC certification is comparable to other certifications for the standardization of product quality and safety, such as the European CE system."

SantyBalls

Repaired phones before in those earlier smart phones days. Ever since all soldered, didn't bother to do it myself. :s13:
Never repaired a mouse before, but wow, that is a lot of parts for something that looks damn simple. 🤯
chat here better.

which smart phone all solder? like my samsung s3 also nothing to solder. xm note 4 also nth to solder.

soldering is only for replacing parts on boards. like if mouse clicking issue, need change the switch.

that mouse has 6 side buttons and 2 more buttons on left click. scroll wheel has free scroll toggle mechanism and side scroll mechanism.

my most adventurous repair is changing my aircon unit outside my window ledge. opened it up to replace the capacitor. replaced 2-3 times liao. means i have changed it at least 6 times liao.
every time it spoil i unplug the capicitor used to start the aircon for the other rooms and plug it to mine. then order online. once arrive, open it up again and replace it.

froztheart

chat here better.

which smart phone all solder? like my samsung s3 also nothing to solder. xm note 4 also nth to solder.

soldering is only for replacing parts on boards. like if mouse clicking issue, need change the switch.

that mouse has 6 side buttons and 2 more buttons on left click. scroll wheel has free scroll toggle mechanism and side scroll mechanism.

my most adventurous repair is changing my aircon unit outside my window ledge. opened it up to replace the capacitor. replaced 2-3 times liao. means i have changed it at least 6 times liao.
every time it spoil i unplug the capicitor used to start the aircon for the other rooms and plug it to mine. then order online. once arrive, open it up again and replace it.
Sorry, like no longer DIY repair friendly.

Wah, even repair until aircon compressor, you sideline handyman?

SantyBalls

Sorry, like no longer DIY repair friendly.

Wah, even repair until aircon compressor, you sideline handyman?
actually phones i dont think will need to solder leh. most micro electronics are surface mounted components (SMT). only through-hole components then need to solder.
unless you are into pcb repair, like you know this model always is this capacitor, this resistor, is their "planned obsolescence", for smt u have to use a hotgun to blow controlled air to melt the solder and remove the components.
iphone is the least diy repair friendly. change screen is not enuf to just change screen. need implant the chip from old screen to new screen. even for changing screen, need to run cutting wire thru to separate the layers to replace the glass. cause their digitiser dam exp. then need a vacum machine to fuse it back tgt.

for logitech mouse, their planned obsolescence is the clicking switches. the switch itself is a very good and tested design, can survive millions of clicks 1. but they purposely use the wrong kind of switch that is designed n tested for a different voltage, making the lifespan ALOT shorter. aft awhile, u get issues like random doubleclicks, cannot hold down clicks, etc. this 1 need to open up, solder and replace the switches.

on carousell got ppl offer this modding service. mostly are ginna who learn soldering in sch lol. cause some ppl like a certain mouse, but also like a certain switch's clicking.

about the handyman, no, is cause my father is a no degree boomer kind that like to make fun of ppl with degree. think his little few "tricks of the trade" is v big deal. always make fun of degree holders spend how much time cannot fix things, need he this "hero" to come and fix it for them.

that time is covid, all lockdown. come n tell me aircon not so easy fix 1, dog eye see ppl low say better to hire those like his kind, bo tak chek learn a trade from a 'master' come n fix.
i fixed it and called him useless. explained to him the difference between him and ppl with a degree. that he can only kumgong learn things the hard way. that bcoz of ppl like him, everybody needs to make the same mistake to learn the same thing.
ask him read afew more books, learn from the men before him who made the mistakes alrdy.

once he kena shoot so cham he want to find job as technician at smrt. say about how he last time 30yrs ago factory experience how useful blah blah blah. then my mum tell him dont siao, simi so old liao still go do these jobs, blah blah. i shoot him again, tell my mum, let him go apply. he talk big only. he can show me a job offer for him to reject i acknowledge he the better man. guess who won :s13::s13:

froztheart

actually phones i dont think will need to solder leh. most micro electronics are surface mounted components (SMT). only through-hole components then need to solder.
unless you are into pcb repair, like you know this model always is this capacitor, this resistor, is their "planned obsolescence", for smt u have to use a hotgun to blow controlled air to melt the solder and remove the components.
iphone is the least diy repair friendly. change screen is not enuf to just change screen. need implant the chip from old screen to new screen. even for changing screen, need to run cutting wire thru to separate the layers to replace the glass. cause their digitiser dam exp. then need a vacum machine to fuse it back tgt.

for logitech mouse, their planned obsolescence is the clicking switches. the switch itself is a very good and tested design, can survive millions of clicks 1. but they purposely use the wrong kind of switch that is designed n tested for a different voltage, making the lifespan ALOT shorter. aft awhile, u get issues like random doubleclicks, cannot hold down clicks, etc. this 1 need to open up, solder and replace the switches.

on carousell got ppl offer this modding service. mostly are ginna who learn soldering in sch lol. cause some ppl like a certain mouse, but also like a certain switch's clicking.

about the handyman, no, is cause my father is a no degree boomer kind that like to make fun of ppl with degree. think his little few "tricks of the trade" is v big deal. always make fun of degree holders spend how much time cannot fix things, need he this "hero" to come and fix it for them.

that time is covid, all lockdown. come n tell me aircon not so easy fix 1, dog eye see ppl low say better to hire those like his kind, bo tak chek learn a trade from a 'master' come n fix.
i fixed it and called him useless. explained to him the difference between him and ppl with a degree. that he can only kumgong learn things the hard way. that bcoz of ppl like him, everybody needs to make the same mistake to learn the same thing.
ask him read afew more books, learn from the men before him who made the mistakes alrdy.

once he kena shoot so cham he want to find job as technician at smrt. say about how he last time 30yrs ago factory experience how useful blah blah blah. then my mum tell him dont siao, simi so old liao still go do these jobs, blah blah. i shoot him again, tell my mum, let him go apply. he talk big only. he can show me a job offer for him to reject i acknowledge he the better man. guess who won :s13::s13:
Yeah, iPhones is a pain in the s as it moves on for repairability.
Nowadays, too tired and no time to meddle w all these though i have interest. :confused:

Your dad's consistent aggravation made you learn new things which is good ah.
No need to guess who won since you are here with your sharings! :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.