actually phones i dont think will need to solder leh. most micro electronics are surface mounted components (SMT). only through-hole components then need to solder.
unless you are into pcb repair, like you know this model always is this capacitor, this resistor, is their "planned obsolescence", for smt u have to use a hotgun to blow controlled air to melt the solder and remove the components.
iphone is the least diy repair friendly. change screen is not enuf to just change screen. need implant the chip from old screen to new screen. even for changing screen, need to run cutting wire thru to separate the layers to replace the glass. cause their digitiser dam exp. then need a vacum machine to fuse it back tgt.
for logitech mouse, their planned obsolescence is the clicking switches. the switch itself is a very good and tested design, can survive millions of clicks 1. but they purposely use the wrong kind of switch that is designed n tested for a different voltage, making the lifespan ALOT shorter. aft awhile, u get issues like random doubleclicks, cannot hold down clicks, etc. this 1 need to open up, solder and replace the switches.
on carousell got ppl offer this modding service. mostly are ginna who learn soldering in sch lol. cause some ppl like a certain mouse, but also like a certain switch's clicking.
about the handyman, no, is cause my father is a no degree boomer kind that like to make fun of ppl with degree. think his little few "tricks of the trade" is v big deal. always make fun of degree holders spend how much time cannot fix things, need he this "hero" to come and fix it for them.
that time is covid, all lockdown. come n tell me aircon not so easy fix 1, dog eye see ppl low say better to hire those like his kind, bo tak chek learn a trade from a 'master' come n fix.
i fixed it and called him useless. explained to him the difference between him and ppl with a degree. that he can only kumgong learn things the hard way. that bcoz of ppl like him, everybody needs to make the same mistake to learn the same thing.
ask him read afew more books, learn from the men before him who made the mistakes alrdy.
once he kena shoot so cham he want to find job as technician at smrt. say about how he last time 30yrs ago factory experience how useful blah blah blah. then my mum tell him dont siao, simi so old liao still go do these jobs, blah blah. i shoot him again, tell my mum, let him go apply. he talk big only. he can show me a job offer for him to reject i acknowledge he the better man. guess who won