Some tips to navigate boards/pcw

progene

No one's gotta read the entire list. Ctrl/⌘ + F to look for information you may need.

FAQ

1. How come is a FAQ ah? How you know is frequently asked? That frequent meh?
lol man, I don't know bro/sis.

2. Where to find my bookmarks/subscribed threads?

It's now called "Watched Threads"
1H0pGGC.png

3. Then how I bookmark a thread?
0WpfMn3.png

4. How to view last post?

Click on the last posted date, on the right hand side of the table (e.g "1 Minute Ago" or "A moment ago")

hra2qO3.png

5. Can I sort the posts in a thread?

No (for now, hopefully).

6. I want to view last post details when I click on the thread link!

For now, it's going to bring you to the last post you've read.
A workaround is to click on the last posted time (point 4)

7. Too much notifications. customise it under...

"Receive a notification when someone…"
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/account/preferences
GGUybCu.png

8. Ninja Mode (privacy)

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/account/privacy
U8orr7q.png

9. Remove trending threads

On the top bar, click on this option icon, then, unselect "Show trending"

rSU4SVc.png

Random Tips and Tricks

1. Once you have drafted your message, you can hit your keyboard

⌘ + enter (Mac) or Ctrl + enter (Windows) to submit the post

2. Quickly create a thread

nRFJa1t.png

3. Tag/Mention someone with @

For example

Code:
@hwzadmin

4. Quickly quote someone

Highlight the text in a post, click quote

Mobile App

Basically, the whole forum is now a progressive web app (PWA). iPhone users are a bit out of luck, we don't get features like push notifications compared to our Android counterparts.

1. iPhone Users, use Safari, add to home screen.

2. Android users, can see refer to this thread!

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/android-users-hwz-standalone-application.6489478/

3. Third party apps

AFAIK, third party apps, until they are updated. Will not work.
This is useful 👍.

Mystyque

If there's a need for guide on using forum, the forum is not user friendly or intuitive. :(

:)
Frankly most of what petpet posted, I already discovered within the first 15 minutes or so of using the new forum software. And I literally used the old interface for two decades so if old folks like me can quickly adapt to this new interface,what’s stopping you is just a natural mental resistance to change which you can overcome ;)

twinkle07

Last time,
click username on the right, click "Find threads created", can already

Now,
click username on the left, click username again. Click "Find", click" find threads created"..

sibei sian...

whatheheck

Frankly most of what petpet posted, I already discovered within the first 15 minutes or so of using the new forum software. And I literally used the old interface for two decades so if old folks like me can quickly adapt to this new interface,what’s stopping you is just a natural mental resistance to change which you can overcome ;)
Personally it should be easy to explore looking at the full desktop browser with mouse on computer hovering across any hidden links as well. Most of us are just using phone browsers so may not adapt to it as quickly. It isn't that bad though, yup. Just a matter of time to get used to it

gkhchay

How do I find the threads that I’ve been following but not participated? IIRC last time in the iOS HWZ app there was an activity tab at the bottom where when I touch it, it’ll show me all the threads that I’ve gone in and looked at (but not actively participated).

wlalala

Personally it should be easy to explore looking at the full desktop browser with mouse on computer hovering across any hidden links as well. Most of us are just using phone browsers so may not adapt to it as quickly. It isn't that bad though, yup. Just a matter of time to get used to it
yes on desktop it's really easy to use and it's great

on mobile it's not so intuitive yet

whatheheck

Not really. After using the same forum for 20 years and faced with a completely new front and back-end, there's a lot that's different and one can't choose to keep things the same as that might necessitate more work than necessary or would require more tweaking to get it closer to the preferred state.

We'll do what we can to help our users :)

Just for everyone's information.
Kok Leong has done the following fixes:
- Reactions are fixed for iOS and Android and should work as expected like on desktop. (No more confusing confirmation page)
- Multi Quote now works as per previous forum (You can now rearrange the order of quotes as well). Be sure to "insert quotes: or else they will not appear!
Test test intra thread quote

Shutterbox

how to upload photos from my phone/PC ah?

last time use GAGT, now dunno how to do it le :(

pohw0008

How do I find the threads that I’ve been following but not participated? IIRC last time in the iOS HWZ app there was an activity tab at the bottom where when I touch it, it’ll show me all the threads that I’ve gone in and looked at (but not actively participated).
Now you need to click on watch for every thread that you go in.. wonder if can have options for some automation..

articland05

how to upload photos from my phone/PC ah?

last time use GAGT, now dunno how to do it le :(
cannot.
ownself upload to imgbb, copy the link then paste in ur post.

extremely mafan I know.
that's why I dun post anymore image liao...

Brionic

last time can check if someone replied and quoted you, is this still available?

martin1973

When viewing a thread, you will be able to view the thread from a choice of two modes.

1. Linear Mode (Oldest First) - In this mode, posts are displayed chronologically from oldest to newest. Posts are shown in a flat mode so that many posts can be viewed simultaneously.
  2. Linear Mode (Newest First) - This is the same as the above mode, except that posts are ordered in an opposite way (newest first).
Where can I change the settings to Number 2?

I could not find it anywhere.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.