Some tips to navigate boards/pcw

Intrinion

Senior Moderator
Still can use imgur? I only find insert pictures with a url
Ah, so you will have to install the imgur application on app store or playstore!
Then simply upload your images there, and copy the link here!

I understand that it is tedious! :( That's the current work around until Kok leong thinks of some innovative solution!

articland05

is it true 3rd party app is discouraged?
kuma mention his pcwx thread are locked.

orpisia

Emeritus Honorary Member
Last time on old forum, there was a link to click "Find all threads started", then below it, "Find posts"

Where is it now, or no more

Yueming

Last time on old forum, there was a link to click "Find all threads started", then below it, "Find posts"

Where is it now, or no more
Now I click your profile, a overlay comes up showing how many posts u made. I click that number all the posts you made are show

Alternatively I go search your nick and click on “show as thread” to see threads instead of posts

FrostWurm

Are the page numbers reversed now (i.e. page 1 is the earliest post rather than the latest post)?

Any way to reverse this?

Yueming

Are the page numbers reversed now (i.e. page 1 is the earliest post rather than the latest post)?

Any way to reverse this?

theoretically page 1 is always oldest post

but now you click thread title it brings you to oldest post you have yet to read

to see latest post, click on the time stamp below the thread title instead

FrostWurm

theoretically page 1 is always oldest post

but now you click thread title it brings you to oldest post you have yet to read

to see latest post, click on the time stamp below the thread title instead
ahh i get it, thanks~

orpisia

Emeritus Honorary Member
Now I click your profile, a overlay comes up showing how many posts u made. I click that number all the posts you made are show

Alternatively I go search your nick and click on “show as thread” to see threads instead of posts
just found out

go to any member's profile page, click on "Find"

"Find all content(posts) by member"
"Find all threads by member"

(^@^)"

No one's gotta read the entire list. Ctrl/⌘ + F to look for information you may need.

FAQ

1. How come is a FAQ ah? How you know is frequently asked? That frequent meh?
lol man, I don't know bro/sis.

2. Where to find my bookmarks/subscribed threads?

It's now called "Watched Threads"
1H0pGGC.png

3. Then how I bookmark a thread?
0WpfMn3.png

4. How to view last post?

Click on the last posted date, on the right hand side of the table (e.g "1 Minute Ago" or "A moment ago")

hra2qO3.png

5. Can I sort the posts in a thread?

No (for now, hopefully).

6. I want to view last post details when I click on the thread link!

For now, it's going to bring you to the last post you've read.
A workaround is to click on the last posted time (point 4)

7. Too much notifications. customise it under...

"Receive a notification when someone…"
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/account/preferences
GGUybCu.png

8. Ninja Mode (privacy)

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/account/privacy
U8orr7q.png

9. Remove trending threads

On the top bar, click on this option icon, then, unselect "Show trending"

rSU4SVc.png

Random Tips and Tricks

1. Once you have drafted your message, you can hit your keyboard

⌘ + enter (Mac) or Ctrl + enter (Windows) to submit the post

2. Quickly create a thread

nRFJa1t.png

3. Tag/Mention someone with @

For example

Code:
@hwzadmin

4. Quickly quote someone

Highlight the text in a post, click quote

5. Embed YouTube/Image/gif/Reddit

The brand new WYSIWYG editor will automatically embed images and YouTube media for you

Mobile App

Basically, the whole forum is now a progressive web app (PWA). iPhone users are a bit out of luck, we don't get features like push notifications compared to our Android counterparts.

1. iPhone Users, use Safari, add to home screen.

2. Android users, can see refer to this thread!

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/android-users-hwz-standalone-application.6489478/

3. Third party apps

AFAIK, third party apps, until they are updated. Will not work.
Good to see you back in EDMW.

Dr.Vijay

Administrator
t I’ve been following but not participated? IIRC last time in the iOS HWZ app there was an activity tab at the bottom where when I touch it, it’ll show me all the threads that I’ve gone in and looked at (but not actively participated).

Exactly

Using chrome browser on PC, it takes long time before the right side scrollbar appears

I cannot use my mouse to scroll down until it appears

Now you need to click on watch for every thread that you go in.. wonder if can have options for some automation..

wah like that damn leche lah....:(

There's another way to this... the new forum software captures the reactions you've given along with any other activity such as replies.

Just click on your user profile, click again to view the stand-alone page for your user profile -- you'll see the activity list. So you don't have to reply or watch to track it but merely leave a reaction.

gkhchay

There's another way to this... the new forum software captures the reactions your given along with any other activity like replies and such.

Just click on your user profile, click again to view the stand-alone page for your use profile -- you'll see the activity list. So you don't have to reply or watch to track it but merely leave a reaction.
Thanks Vijay. Any plans to come up with an updated HWZ app? I think a lot of folks would need this. Going thru the forums using a mobile browser is such a pain.

Dr.Vijay

Administrator
Thanks Vijay. Any plans to come up with an updated HWZ app? I think a lot of folks would need this. Going thru the forums using a mobile browser is such a pain.

Not too soon though. We've no control since it's a shared resource team.

But give us a while though as we tweak things up. Hopefully, it will be closer to the desired state.

Yueming

There's another way to this... the new forum software captures the reactions your given along with any other activity like replies and such.

Just click on your user profile, click again to view the stand-alone page for your use profile -- you'll see the activity list. So you don't have to reply or watch to track it but merely leave a reaction.
holy mama sweet jebus..............i can be WhyNPNT 2 liao........

kaisoz

Not too soon though. We've no control since it's a shared resource team.

But give us a while though as we tweak things up. Hopefully, it will be closer to the desired state.
If HWZ does come up with a mobile app, then imo:
- Ads or sponsored links defaulted to not show/pop-up/push notification. Ads and sponsored links become an opt-in feature. HWZ app users can opt in to support HWZ. Yes, beg HWZ forum people to opt in if need be :LOL:
- Push notification for new HWZ articles/material. Again opt-in/configurable in settings.
- Configurable Push alerts notification for quotes/mentions/reactions etc :LOL:
- Able to jump into HWZ FB/Twitter/IG/Reddit etc
- Able to share thread and/or posts via various social media etc <------- This thing should be in HWZ forums. Currently not available.

And how come HWZ articles don't have social media share link? I only see a small HWZ FB link that takes the user to HWZ FB.

How come HWZ articles on the main website don't have a simple share links area :unsure:? Like below picture (red box).

Dr.Vijay

Administrator
If HWZ does come up with a mobile app, then imo:
- Ads or sponsored links defaulted to not show/pop-up/push notification. Ads and sponsored links become an opt-in feature. HWZ app users can opt in to support HWZ. Yes, beg HWZ forum people to opt in if need be :LOL:
- Push notification for new HWZ articles/material. Again opt-in/configurable in settings.
- Configurable Push alerts notification for quotes/mentions/reactions etc :LOL:
- Able to jump into HWZ FB/Twitter/IG/Reddit etc
- Able to share thread and/or posts via various social media etc <------- This thing should be in HWZ forums. Currently not available.

And how come HWZ articles don't have social media share link? I only see a small HWZ FB link that takes the user to HWZ FB.

How come HWZ articles on the main website don't have a simple share links area :unsure:? Like below picture (red box).

Thanks for penning your thoughts.
Hope you're joking about the ads being an opt-in feature. :p

The other pointers are sound.

Regarding the point where did the social share options go, I'm more surprised that you can't find it on the forums and our main content site :o ... unless you've blocked some code away.

In the forum, the share options are plentiful and it's on every post -- unlike the old forum, an individual post link doesn't only take you to view that one post, but you can still the full thread, just that it lands and focuses on the post you chose to share. This is valid on desktop and mobile view.
1617213383673.png

On our main site, the share options are again very obviously placed at the top and bottom of each page. So my best guess is that something on your browser or configuration is blocking these elements?

1617213483893.png

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.