Speakers Dilemma!

xonix

hmm...I don't think there are any good 5.1 speakers selling under $100...

Don't require very high end, just for small room and speakers on my computer table right in front of me...

tamashi1987

Hi

How about the bass? A 2.0 speaker often lacks bass, how bout T40? :s12:
bass effect not bad. i wld say is a simple speaker system. but if rrly on abt music, then u shd go for higher ends wan like those mentioned in this thread. some more u haf so much money at ur disposal ;) the T40 is abt $250 and u can spend so much more too.

human_shieldz

i use T40. i find tt its not bad considering u can adjust bass n tremble to suit ur taste. but if u r blasting ur music to max vol, i will get significant distortion n i tink the speakers r screaming tt they cant take it.:D

some ppl oso say tt T40 is not worth the price. the price gap btw T20 n T40 does not match the quality n quantity diff btw the two. dunnoe wats ur take

Yeah, the price difference is definitely not worth the purchase, but if you still wanna use the gigworks series 2.0 speakers, you know u have to get T40. I was thinking of the altec lansing$70 2.1 which sounds pretty ok. But the T40 really looks nice sitting there. You need to have it to know how nice it is.

silthfire

Sorry T.S. , hijack your thread...

Can recommend 5.1 speakers, not too flashy design , game/movie usage, budget under $100 , NO CREATIVE?

5.1 less den $100...hmm...i cant rec any...coz all not gd...and u dun wan creative...gd wat....u go see videopro pricelist lar....for budget less den $100...can hardly recommend any

ghost_83

If you considering T40, why not take a look at MX5021 from altec @ 229. It's a 2.1 speaker tat's THX certified.
20W sat and 50W woofer. Comes with wiren console and a wireless remote.

xonix

5.1 less den $100...hmm...i cant rec any...coz all not gd...and u dun wan creative...gd wat....u go see videopro pricelist lar....for budget less den $100...can hardly recommend any

Creative have the "spoil after 1 year remote" reputation already. :s8:

silthfire

anyway TS...i tink u follow squalljay better...if 2.1 den get aego m lor....if u wan 5.1 den z5500

anyway logitech speakers boomy as in?...

ravener

under 100 bux 5.1 speakers very hard to find, even if you DIY also not cheap..

the cheapest i can recommend is what i'm using now; SonicGear BlueThunder IIR 5.1 speakers...

Official specs are:
80W RMS Total output
40W RMS Subwoofer with 6.5" Long Throw, Low Frequency Driver
4 x 8W RMS Satellite speakers with 3" Full Range Driver
1 x 8W RMS Centre speaker with 3" Full Range Driver

But physically they are:
80W RMS Total output
40W RMS Subwoofer with 6.5" Long Throw, Low Frequency Driver
4 x Satellite speakers with 3" Full Range and 1.5" High Range Driver
1 x Centre speaker with 2x 3" Full Range Driver

i'm not sure if the power output of the satellite and centre speakers are the same though...

the the subwoofer is pretty powerful if you put them in the correct position. as the 6.5" driver is situated at the side of the subwoofer, i placed it on the floor, facing downwards, with roughly 1.5" of styrofoam lifting it up from the floor so the driver has so breathing space. the bass travels to my bedroom is which roughly 12m away...

edit: forgot to put price, its costs around 169 last i seen, i bought mine for 150 during comex this year.

Raytrace

this thread has piqued my interest.

would even a cheap pair of bookshelf speaker such as these sony ones coupled with a cheap stereo receiver sound better than multimedia speakers such as the gigaworks?

i know sound is subjective and everyone should audition speakers before they purchase them... but would there be a noticable difference?

erwinrommel

anyway TS...i tink u follow squalljay better...if 2.1 den get aego m lor....if u wan 5.1 den z5500

anyway logitech speakers boomy as in?...

Hi

Thanks for your suggestion!

For Altec Lansing VS2321 (mine), how I tested was to actually turn off the bass, and then just listen to the satellite speakers.

The Logitech Z5500 seems pretty boomy and is more suitable for movies and gaming only.

erwinrommel

this thread has piqued my interest.

would even a cheap pair of bookshelf speaker such as these sony ones coupled with a cheap stereo receiver sound better than multimedia speakers such as the gigaworks?

i know sound is subjective and everyone should audition speakers before they purchase them... but would there be a noticable difference?

I am pretty perplexed too. Are bookshelf speakers definitely better than multimedia speakers say the T40?

When I first head T20, I was like... jaws dropping. Only the super high end Hi-Fi system can match its sharpness and precision. Its mid-range and treble were pretty stunning.

One more thing for the audiophiles here, is it possible to hook up T40 with an external sub-woofer or something?

I need to make a decision fast! I have to get it by this Sunday!

Thanks bros here. heheh

Ah_Yong

I am pretty perplexed too. Are bookshelf speakers definitely better than multimedia speakers say the T40?

When I first head T20, I was like... jaws dropping. Only the super high end Hi-Fi system can match its sharpness and precision. Its mid-range and treble were pretty stunning.

One more thing for the audiophiles here, is it possible to hook up T40 with an external sub-woofer or something?

I need to make a decision fast! I have to get it by this Sunday!

Thanks bros here. heheh

dun get T-20 lah...sucks

silthfire

Hi

Thanks for your suggestion!

For Altec Lansing VS2321 (mine), how I tested was to actually turn off the bass, and then just listen to the satellite speakers.

The Logitech Z5500 seems pretty boomy and is more suitable for movies and gaming only.

u sure z5500 boomy ah...im using it now...and b4 dat i used gigaworks g500....g500 can shake my shelf's glass panel easily...but z5500 seldom shake it..

erwinrommel

u sure z5500 boomy ah...im using it now...and b4 dat i used gigaworks g500....g500 can shake my shelf's glass panel easily...but z5500 seldom shake it..

Hi

Logitech speakers seem lacking in midrange and treble, and often replaced by unnecessary loud boomy bass. Had heard 2 Logitech systems already.

So do you use your speakers mainly for gaming or music?

tremor

Hi

I am planning to get T40 instead.

Why do you say it sucks?

What's your recommendations?
Get Klipsch promedia ultra 2.0 better only $179 from aGenuine. I got it from there, super happy with it, looks good too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.