Speakers Dilemma!

ravener

I have tried listening to Bose speakers at Challenger Funan. And IMHO, they sound similar to mid to high end Altec Lansing speakers. If that's the case, might as well stick to my current VS2321. :)

if its the klipsch you're talking about, the power comes when you're full blasting...

leepakleng

sorry to hijack ur thread.
hi frens, i am using the 2 pair of hi-fi speakers below.
i1449819_DSC00567.JPG
[/URL]
i1449818_DSC00566.JPG
[/URL]
is this 2 speakers consider a bookshelf speakers?
r the quality good?
thnaks

pew

sorry to hijack ur thread.
hi frens, i am using the 2 pair of hi-fi speakers below.
i1449819_DSC00567.JPG
[/URL]
i1449818_DSC00566.JPG
[/URL]
is this 2 speakers consider a bookshelf speakers?
r the quality good?
thnaks

dont bother with these

leepakleng

hi bros, may i know is it possible to connect bookshelf speakers to mini hi-fi player? will the quality drop? how much does it cost for a pair of decent bookshelf speakers? thnaks

tecnica

ok.. my 2 cts after 5 pages of discussion

1stly, electronic stuffs are heng suay thing. u all say creative stuffs spoil after 1 yr. i disagree with it. having owned numerous creative products:

-audigy gamer
-x-fi xtrememusic
-nomad IIc 64mb
-zen micro 4gb
-zen v plus
-zen vision m 30gb
-inspire 4400 4.1
-gigaworks g500
-gigaworks T40(just bought for gf)

they are working fine as of this very minute. all the abt cept T40 are >1yr, the inspire 4.1 is like >5yr old liao. recently just shifted it to my living for my LCD TV, it works. yes, i do encounter problems for my xtrememusic, rma-ed it and things are fine now.

as for TS, you are looking at T40 right? to me it sounds really good for music. i dunno abt mids and high. but for the speakers its size and the sound it produce, i say it is worth to have if u can afford the price since ur budget is up to $600. the T40 will pwned my g500 in terms of SQ. if u are looking at 5.1, g500 @ $399 iirc is worth to get too. or u can go down to marina square or PS and see whether there is any $299 MW550 left, i was at PS 2 days ago and i still see the promo going on. dun worry abt the dolby digital thingy, can be done via software decoder e.g using ac3 filter. if u wanna get a hardware decoder then maybe u can pair it up with DTTS100? decoder. i have heard the z5500 as well, really powerful but abit too boomy for my liking. note tat i am commenting based on my usage for movies and gaming. 5.1 is the way to go. it provides realistic experience while gaming and movie-ing. if u have space and moolahs to burn then 7.1, haha :s22:

in any case, i am not promoting creative products. just to share my experience with creative with u guys :o

ghost_83

agree with tecnica on the heng suay thing. My Live 5.1 and FPS 2000D lasted 6 yrs before i retire them recently. No probs at all.

tecnica

oh yeah.. the T40 looks really nice seating on the table.. gotta see to believe it :o

kicknikuku

The conclusion that I have drawn is that the newer products of Creative all have QC problems. Older items like SB 5.1 etc. are good quality products.

wwenze

Has threadstarter considered T10?

I see T40's output like T20 only leh, despite having an extra driver. That makes me wonder if they're using the same amp. And if they do, that would explain the small difference in sound, and not explain why we should pay so much more for it.

ghost_83

Has threadstarter considered T10?

I see T40's output like T20 only leh, despite having an extra driver. That makes me wonder if they're using the same amp. And if they do, that would explain the small difference in sound, and not explain why we should pay so much more for it.

I tested both T20 and T40 recently. The only difference betw the 2 is the mid-range driver which is quite obvious if you listen carefully. I haf to agree that its too ex just for an extra mid-range. FYI, the T20 has better SNR than T40

tengg

I tested both T20 and T40 recently. The only difference betw the 2 is the mid-range driver which is quite obvious if you listen carefully. I haf to agree that its too ex just for an extra mid-range. FYI, the T20 has better SNR than T40
What does "mid-range" and "SNR" refer to?

I have my own thread asking the same thing as well and it is obvious that one can't have the best of both world. A good system to one may not cater to the needs of another. I have a much lower budget compared to TS thus the obvious selections I can have are T20, T40, and MX5021. A dilemma indeed. :s22:

Qball

TS your post poison me. haha since my brother's speaker is dieing i went and bought audioengine2 after recommendation from weib.

didnt know i miss out so much sound from my music compared to my old bose :p

selling at chamoxa at $319 for the white colour.

erwinrommel

ok.. my 2 cts after 5 pages of discussion

1stly, electronic stuffs are heng suay thing. u all say creative stuffs spoil after 1 yr. i disagree with it. having owned numerous creative products:

-audigy gamer
-x-fi xtrememusic
-nomad IIc 64mb
-zen micro 4gb
-zen v plus
-zen vision m 30gb
-inspire 4400 4.1
-gigaworks g500
-gigaworks T40(just bought for gf)

they are working fine as of this very minute. all the abt cept T40 are >1yr, the inspire 4.1 is like >5yr old liao. recently just shifted it to my living for my LCD TV, it works. yes, i do encounter problems for my xtrememusic, rma-ed it and things are fine now.

as for TS, you are looking at T40 right? to me it sounds really good for music. i dunno abt mids and high. but for the speakers its size and the sound it produce, i say it is worth to have if u can afford the price since ur budget is up to $600. the T40 will pwned my g500 in terms of SQ. if u are looking at 5.1, g500 @ $399 iirc is worth to get too. or u can go down to marina square or PS and see whether there is any $299 MW550 left, i was at PS 2 days ago and i still see the promo going on. dun worry abt the dolby digital thingy, can be done via software decoder e.g using ac3 filter. if u wanna get a hardware decoder then maybe u can pair it up with DTTS100? decoder. i have heard the z5500 as well, really powerful but abit too boomy for my liking. note tat i am commenting based on my usage for movies and gaming. 5.1 is the way to go. it provides realistic experience while gaming and movie-ing. if u have space and moolahs to burn then 7.1, haha :s22:

in any case, i am not promoting creative products. just to share my experience with creative with u guys :o

Hi

Thumbs up for you!

If I am a hardcore movie fan, I would not hesitate to buy the Logitech Z-series with its humongous sub. But then since my main purpose is still to listen to music, I would be more than happy to buy T20/T40, where the clarity and its mid-range + treble are above average.

BTW, we keep focusing on th T-series. Any audiophiles laid their hands on the HD50? I can't find any online reviews except for the tech65 channel or something, which is not really conclusive. Gotta go Marina to compare with T40 since the price for both are the same.

Thanks for the feedback and numerous suggestions!

erwinrommel

TS your post poison me. haha since my brother's speaker is dieing i went and bought audioengine2 after recommendation from weib.

didnt know i miss out so much sound from my music compared to my old bose :p

selling at chamoxa at $319 for the white colour.

Paieh did'nt know I poison you. Heard its effects are not that severe. =:p

LOL.. I never expect my thread to be so active. Hmm... Initially I shortlisted Bsoe companion speakers but then after listening, its clarity seems quite on par with my current Altec Lansing VS2321 (with the sound card and tweaking the treble).

squalljay

Paieh did'nt know I poisin you. Heard its effects are not that severe. =:p

LOL.. I never expect my thread to be so active. Hmm... Initially I shortlisted Bsoe companion speakers but then after listening, its clarity seems quite on par with my current Altec Lansing VS2321 (with the sound card and tweaking the treble).

bose is known for its over pricing

if u want cheap and good one..maybe can consider mine

img0352nr6.jpg

pretty cheap

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.