SRS Portfolio

ekardo

You can get more with Tbills but need to diligently do it.

I get 4%pa on my endowment plan for 15 years! No such good lobang now! But more than 3% I think still available.
That’s quite good. Moneyowl/ifast only give me 1+% PA.

wira

i used my srs funds to invest in STI ...
$30K invested for 4 years only got $1K return ...

i tink will just sell and put in SSB

highsulphur

how is that possible? arent there dividends the last 4 years plus the level now should be highest than the past 4 years.

ctan84

Mai ku ku lah. Your STI ETF dividend yield annually is already higher than SSB.

Kidneypool

You'll be getting less returns from SSB since STI ETF dividends is better.
Putting money in STI ETF is not for capital gains but for dividends.

endlssorrow

That’s pretty low. Which bank u sign with SRS and how much their commission for each month?

kean1978

No withholding tax with Endowus iShares US Index Fund (IE) S&P 500. With SGD hedged, i figure its cheaper than S27, even considering the 0.3% endowus fee, but it's close.
Hi RedsYWNA,
I'm also comparing the S27 using POEMS and this Endowus iShares US Index Fund (IE) S&P 500.
Their fees are quite close, about 0.36% p.a.
But S27 will still have dividend of 1.2% - 30% tax every year.
So what is the advantage of this Endowus iShares fund?

JuniorLion

Hi RedsYWNA,
I'm also comparing the S27 using POEMS and this Endowus iShares US Index Fund (IE) S&P 500.
Their fees are quite close, about 0.36% p.a.
But S27 will still have dividend of 1.2% - 30% tax every year.
So what is the advantage of this Endowus iShares fund?

Can S27 be invested using SRS?

demoforce1

Can S27 be invested using SRS?
Yes, can.
I have Endowus iShares US Index Fund (IE) S&P 500 purchased in early Jul 2024, but until now still in the red, while the S&P 500 is higher now than in early Jul 2024. Any idea why?
Also, how can we check the historical price of the iShares US Index Fund (IE) S&P 500?

Mephist0pheLes

Yes, can.
I have Endowus iShares US Index Fund (IE) S&P 500 purchased in early Jul 2024, but until now still in the red, while the S&P 500 is higher now than in early Jul 2024. Any idea why?
Also, how can we check the historical price of the S&P 500?
probably bcos what u purchased is priced in sgd, while the index is based on usd prices? USD depreciated quite abit against sgd in the last couple of months.

and to anticipate potential follow up question:
the ishare S&P500 fund is denominated in sgd, but it dosnt mean it hedge the currency fluctuation. it simply means u can buy and sell without converting currency on ur own.

demoforce1

probably bcos what u purchased is priced in sgd, while the index is based on usd prices? USD depreciated quite abit against sgd in the last couple of months.

the ishare S&P500 fund is denominated in sgd, but it dosnt mean it hedge the currency fluctuation. it simply means u can buy and sell without converting currency on ur own.
oh thanks, it make sense now

JuniorLion

Yes, can.
Also, how can we check the historical price of the iShares US Index Fund (IE) S&P 500?
You can check it on Endowus website

kean1978

Hi, I'm still don't quite understand how the Endowus S&P funds are work better than S27 ?
Both fees are quite close, but S27 will still have some extra dividend of 1.2% every year.
Can help to explain?

JuniorLion

Hi, I'm still don't quite understand how the Endowus S&P funds are work better than S27 ?
Both fees are quite close, but S27 will still have some extra dividend of 1.2% every year.
Can help to explain?
S27 is dividend-paying.

Blackrock is accumulating. Means to say the dividends are automatically reinvested.

demoforce1

Can help to explain?
dividend have 30% tax

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.