StarHub MaxInfinity Fiber Optic - Experience

ngbc

yup aware of that.. just wanna gather some info.. i buy the Asus N56U already.. 66U they say next week.. now testing out... cross finger

edit* can leh. i follow bigwoof that setting.. suddenly can.. now very high (i mountain tortise).. checking out.. that was easy.. not so scary.. next have to figure out the homeline..

edit** still working.. thank you everyone

If you have Motorola SBV5121 voip cable modem, can request Starhub to provision home line on it.

randomforumer

Why are you people having issues with starhub maxinfinity ???
I subscribed to it for more than 6 months and everything has been going smoothly...
perhaps it does not lie with the provider but the end user...

stilnox

If you have Motorola SBV5121 voip cable modem, can request Starhub to provision home line on it.

Thanks for the tips.. darn.. i think i throw that away already.. need to go storeroom dig liao..

as for the asus n56u, think i am doing something wrong.. after the setting on the vlan thingy, i can surf via wireless but somehow i cannot get a LAN ip address (stock? firmware and not flash yet) guess have to wait for them to release already.. else use as a bridge.. somehow i still feel kinda "stupid" have to use 3 equipment...

MarkChenTW

Thanks for the tips.. darn.. i think i throw that away already.. need to go storeroom dig liao..

as for the asus n56u, think i am doing something wrong.. after the setting on the vlan thingy, i can surf via wireless but somehow i cannot get a LAN ip address (stock? firmware and not flash yet) guess have to wait for them to release already.. else use as a bridge.. somehow i still feel kinda "stupid" have to use 3 equipment...

that is there a router after your Asus n56u? from my little test with it. with that vlan setup not able to have a router behind. switch seems to be okie I dunno why.

stilnox

that is there a router after your Asus n56u? from my little test with it. with that vlan setup not able to have a router behind. switch seems to be okie I dunno why.

what u meant mark? i dun understand? what i did was directly connect the ONT to N56u with the setting done on the vlan. i can get wireless (dhcp assign to my lappy no issue) but when wired, i can't seems to get it? i am guessing that, that i have misread some guide, and that to get it working (ont to n56u) at the moment it must be flash with 3rd party firmware? if there a guide for this to work (forget abt homeline, need wireless n wired(homeplug))

leonaheidern

sigh i went from 1 device motorola sb5121v to a Huawei Echolife HG863 + Huawei HG256s for my telephone and internet got to use extention cord for my tv console already.

Had to remove one of the Engenius SR9850 router and make this residential gateway my main router instead and the other Engenius SR9850 on the wall become my repeater.

wish they can combine ONT and RG into one with no issue just like the cable modem.

z3r0cool81

Unable to bridge Huawei HG256S to Cisco Linksys WRT610N

Hello HWZ bros,

I would like to seek help for my home wireless issue.

My basic home network setup is as follow.
ONT -> Huawei HG256S (RG) -> AZTECH Homeplug HL280 -> wall
wall -> ZTECH Homeplug HL280 -> Linksys WRT610N

A switch is connected to the RG via one of the LAN ports and my NAS and printer is connected to it.

WRT610N just replaced an older router WRVS4400N to provide wireless coverage. I did not use the RG to broadcast wireless signals. Used to have done it this way, the RG would provide the IP addresses via DHCP, DHCP server on the WRVS4400N is turn off. WRVS4400N is set on DHCP and having an IP address of 192.168.1.254. RG is connected to WRVS4400N via LAN ports through the homeplugs (meaning I connect the RG's lan port to the WRV's la port).

I did the same thing using the WRT610N but no wireless device is able to connect to it when DHCP is turn off. If DHCP is turn on, the wireless devices are able to connect to the network but no surfing is possible. I am not sure why but hopefully someone could advise me on this.

As I am reading more to help my setup, I came across bro MarineX's method and decided to try it.

The setup is the same as above.
wall -> AZTECH Homeplug HL280 -> Linksys WRT610N

I've set the HG256S as follows
bridging03.jpg

I did not turn off DHCP server as I am connecting a couple if NAS, a printer and a desktop to it.

The DMZ is setup as follows
bridging04.jpg

For the WRT610N, I've setup the static IP as follows
bridging01.jpg

Now the part that makes me blur,
bridging02.jpg

What should I enter for the router address?
If I am not wrong, I should turn on DHCP server on the router as well. If so, what should I enter for the start IP address, the 3 DNS and WINS?

The RG should be connected via LAN port while the WRT610N is connect using WAN port?

I am a noob in networking so I am asking pretty directly what I should enter and stuff. Hope you bros out there can help and enlighten me.

Thank you in advance.

Cheers,
z3r0

MarkChenTW

I did the same thing using the WRT610N but no wireless device is able to connect to it when DHCP is turn off. If DHCP is turn on, the wireless devices are able to connect to the network but no surfing is possible...

If I am not wrong, I should turn on DHCP server on the router as well. If so, what should I enter for the start IP address, the 3 DNS and WINS?

Thank you in advance.

Cheers,
z3r0

you answer your own questions pretty much i think... but i got no time to test it.

ngbc

What is your setting? like this ?

JOUIA.png

CanNik

Hello HWZ bros,

I would like to seek help for my home wireless issue.

My basic home network setup is as follow.
wall -> ZTECH Homeplug HL280 -> Linksys WRT610N

A switch is connected to the RG via one of the LAN ports and my NAS and printer is connected to it.

WRT610N just replaced an older router WRVS4400N to provide wireless coverage. I did not use the RG to broadcast wireless signals. Used to have done it this way, the RG would provide the IP addresses via DHCP, DHCP server on the WRVS4400N is turn off. WRVS4400N is set on DHCP and having an IP address of 192.168.1.254. RG is connected to WRVS4400N via LAN ports through the homeplugs (meaning I connect the RG's lan port to the WRV's la port).

I did the same thing using the WRT610N but no wireless device is able to connect to it when DHCP is turn off. If DHCP is turn on, the wireless devices are able to connect to the network but no surfing is possible. I am not sure why but hopefully someone could advise me on this.

As I am reading more to help my setup, I came across bro MarineX's method and decided to try it.

wall -> AZTECH Homeplug HL280 -> Linksys WRT610N

I've set the HG256S as follows
bridging03.jpg

I did not turn off DHCP server as I am connecting a couple if NAS, a printer and a desktop to it.

The DMZ is setup as follows
bridging04.jpg

For the WRT610N, I've setup the static IP as follows
bridging01.jpg

Now the part that makes me blur,
bridging02.jpg

The RG should be connected via LAN port while the WRT610N is connect using WAN port?

I am a noob in networking so I am asking pretty directly what I should enter and stuff. Hope you bros out there can help and enlighten me.

Thank you in advance.

Cheers,
z3r0

plug from rg lan to linksys lan.
set linksys router ip to 192.168.1.2
set linksys dhcp svr off if you want
the huawei will handle all traffics now
internet ip on linksys can remain empty

I think this approach suits you better.

z3r0cool81

you answer your own questions pretty much i think... but i got no time to test it.

Morning Mark, thank you for the reply. Don't quite get what you mean. Care to explain?

plug from rg lan to linksys lan.
set linksys router ip to 192.168.1.2
set linksys dhcp svr off if you want
the huawei will handle all traffics now
internet ip on linksys can remain empty

I think this approach suits you better.

Morning CanNik, thanks for the reply.

My previous setup was that the Huawei have it's DHCP from 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.1.253 and the linksys taking the IP address at 192.168.1.254 and DHCP turned off; but that was for WRVS4400N. When I switch over to WRT610N, it somehow didn't work. Not sure why.

When you said the internet IP for Linksys, I guess it mean the IP address?

stilnox

What is your setting? like this ?

JOUIA.png

more like this
Internet: VID 1071 PRIO 1
IPTV (LAN 4): VID 1099 PRIO 1
VoIP (LAN 3): VID 1095 PRIO 1
Authentication: disable
VPN Server: <left blank>
Host Name: S/N of RG. found on sticker on RG
MAC Address: MTA MAC of RG. found on sticker on RG. Device MAC did not work

MarkChenTW

Morning Mark, thank you for the reply. Don't quite get what you mean. Care to explain?

Morning CanNik, thanks for the reply.

My previous setup was that the Huawei have it's DHCP from 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.1.253 and the linksys taking the IP address at 192.168.1.254 and DHCP turned off; but that was for WRVS4400N. When I switch over to WRT610N, it somehow didn't work. Not sure why.

When you said the internet IP for Linksys, I guess it mean the IP address?

it should still work as per cannik suggested. u need to check ur settings. set router ip to a smaller number ie. 192.168.1.10 or something

z3r0cool81

it should still work as per cannik suggested. u need to check ur settings. set router ip to a smaller number ie. 192.168.1.10 or something

Ok, I will try it again tonight after work.

Weird stuff.. Hahaha.. I remember turning the DHCP off for the Linksys and the iPad just could not connect to the wireless.. Nvm.. Shall check and try again..

Thanks Mark

ngbc

more like this
Internet: VID 1071 PRIO 1
IPTV (LAN 4): VID 1099 PRIO 1
VoIP (LAN 3): VID 1095 PRIO 1
Authentication: disable
VPN Server: <left blank>
Host Name: S/N of RG. found on sticker on RG
MAC Address: MTA MAC of RG. found on sticker on RG. Device MAC did not work

Manually set vlan for voip was known to be not working and CableTV don't carried over Starhub Fibre. So why not set LAN3 & LAN4 for internet until Asus come out with a working Preset?

With your above setting, only LAN1 & LAN2 are available for Internet.
Did you plug to LAN3/LAN4 instead of LAN1/LAN2, that why cannot get a LAN ip ?

stilnox

Manually set vlan for voip was known to be not working and CableTV don't carried over Starhub Fibre. So why not set LAN3 & LAN4 for internet until Asus come out with a working Preset?

With your above setting, only LAN1 & LAN2 are available for Internet.
Did you plug to LAN3/LAN4 instead of LAN1/LAN2, that why cannot get a LAN ip ?

i didnt know what i was doing nor try to understand.. i just follow blindly. with the above info, more light has shed upon me.. thank ngbc.. i have pass back the n56u to the owner and ask him to do bridging instead while waiting for the new firmware.. is there a "right" guide on here to do this n56u correctly, or is it now is waiting for the new firmware?

ngbc

i didnt know what i was doing nor try to understand.. i just follow blindly. with the above info, more light has shed upon me.. thank ngbc.. i have pass back the n56u to the owner and ask him to do bridging instead while waiting for the new firmware.. is there a "right" guide on here to do this n56u correctly, or is it now is waiting for the new firmware?

No guide available because it just a matter of turning on the Preset setting for Singtel & M1 fibre users. See http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/i...inic-4/asus-n56u-singtel-presets-3540200.html
For Starhub Fibre, it's WIP.
You may want to monitor this thread for update if there is.

stilnox

leonaheidern

So if my setup originally was

2 Engenius SR9850 Routers (one main router and 1 to hang on the wall above the bomb shelter as a repeater)

1 Motorola SB5120V modem

That makes 3 devices.

Now I have

one ONT Huawei HG863, 1 Huawei HG256s Homegateway router with the telephone plug , and 2 Engenius Router.

Become 4 devices.

Since all are in my tv console is there a device I can purchase that combines the ONT and the Home GateGateway into one?

My tv console where i keep all these is cramped, Cannot close the drawer already unless I put all these into the drawer.

CoolSilverRider

It is possible to have 2 wireless enable for my scenerio?

ONT -> DLink (RG) -> Direct cable (Cat5e) -> Linksys WRT610N

DLink SSID: Wireless1stFloor
Linksys SSID: Wireless2ndFloor

Will there be any wireless interferece?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.