STI ETF

yang_nastyman

Wow. If you had bought es3 in 08 more than a decade later and it would be worth less now than when you first bought.

A very costly 10 year mistake.

yuzu28

Wow. If you had bought es3 in 08 more than a decade later and it would be worth less now than when you first bought.

A very costly 10 year mistake.

What i learned for es3 is... Can still buy. But must keep eyeing. Sell all those that you bought > $3. When can in/out some to keep the ave cost as low as possible. I only pray long long term wise, it is not a down trend like those singtel, sia.

Kojo0403

What i learned for es3 is... Can still buy. But must keep eyeing. Sell all those that you bought > $3. When can in/out some to keep the ave cost as low as possible. I only pray long long term wise, it is not a down trend like those singtel, sia.

yea.. it’s kind of low volatile and range bound. good for short term trading over few months

Kojo0403

I think it’s a bad strategy to hold only ES3.

But it does has its place in an investor portfolio for financial and REITs exposure, that provides buffer if Tech were to tank. End of the day, Singapore is known as a financial and REITs hub.

yang_nastyman

Might be better to just top up Cpf account if using es3 as retirement nest.

Cpf low risk, fixed "dividend".

Use the spare time to snipe other stocks in other industry.

I see so many console themselves on the supposed low volatility and respectable gains. I was one of them. But I took a step out of my comfort zone and realized the years of lost opportunity cost. When you see your allocation in es3 barely beating inflation, but your brainless DCA into USA and China index beat it by easily 10x, you wonder if its just ignorance in es3.

MangoTuna65

Your friend your enemy?

It's a self fulfilling prophecy, the more people discover that STI cannot hold, the more STI will prove itself as an investment that you cannot hold ... :s13::s13:

Last year they reported that STI had a huge influx of funds, i guess we can say it's because it stayed unrecovered for so long that people had sufficient time to buy? Suddenly STI became appealing to anyone intentionally looking at indices that are no where near ATHs.

STI ATH was at Oct 2007. Till today, more than lost 'decade' liao.

frigatex

Still got a friend taught me to keep long long ... is he serious?

Actually quite a lot of ppl buying STI thru SRS.. not long ago, it was still touted as the best option for SRS.

https://www.theedgesingapore.com/capital/reits/sti-hangs-support-developers-and-reits-under-pressure

yuzu28

Actually quite a lot of ppl buying STI thru SRS.. not long ago, it was still touted as the best option for SRS.

https://www.theedgesingapore.com/capital/reits/sti-hangs-support-developers-and-reits-under-pressure

My SRS has only one portfolio, ie es3. But I'm slowly reducing it now.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.