Stuff you pack for trips

Henabi

From all the replies, kinda obvious that we have a young crowd here. No old folks who will bring comfort food like Maggi noodles LoL
As age starts catching up and our body ain't as mobile as we used to be....

We will tend to look on the comfort side so packing light is not possible

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

butterbarter

Not really. I am not young but I never bring maggi me or any kind of comfort food. Why bother? You're traveling for exposure to new experience and new food, not to re-live what you have in Singapore.

Like many here, I subscribe to a ultralight packing mentality. My bag, fully packed, is typically 3+kg. It goes up to 4+ kg if I have to bring some cold weather clothes, which is typically a down jacket, sweater and raincoat which doubles as a windbreaker. My bag is usually a 32L Osprey, with room to spare. Tip: get the lightest bag you can. It can easily shave off 0.5-1kg of weight.

From all the replies, kinda obvious that we have a young crowd here. No old folks who will bring comfort food like Maggi noodles LoL

butterbarter

Use polyester socks. you can wash and towel stomp them, and they'll be dry by next morning.

Leisure wise:

- N pairs of socks (N is the number of days I'm travelling as I'm prone to eczema, so I need fresh socks everyday)

butterbarter

What exactly do you bring for comfort that adds so much weight? Ultralight travel, if done correctly, should not sacrifice safety or comfort. At least, not much.

As age starts catching up and our body ain't as mobile as we used to be....

We will tend to look on the comfort side so packing light is not possible

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

tiger2013

Not really. I am not young but I never bring maggi me or any kind of comfort food. Why bother? You're traveling for exposure to new experience and new food, not to re-live what you have in Singapore.

Like many here, I subscribe to a ultralight packing mentality. My bag, fully packed, is typically 3+kg. It goes up to 4+ kg if I have to bring some cold weather clothes, which is typically a down jacket, sweater and raincoat which doubles as a windbreaker. My bag is usually a 32L Osprey, with room to spare. Tip: get the lightest bag you can. It can easily shave off 0.5-1kg of weight.

Uniqlo Heattech is wonderful... I only need to bring a packable jacket to backpack my way in winter. Got people raise eyebrows. LOL. But yes... It's doable.

And the packable jacket is also windbreaker. Hand carry that ball of jacket jin convenient. Go home just stuff it into check-in backpack or carry on.

Pricing also very cheap. At least, cheaper than buying many pieces of winter clothing. Overall I spent less than $100 on 2 Heattech + jacket.

Sorry, moi is cheapo and lazy. This solution very fit me. Plus I am small size. I don't like heavy things.

butterbarter

What brand is your packable jacket? What kind of temperatures can you use your heattech+jacket?

Down jackets are unbeatable for cold weather, and a ultralight one combined with a fleece sweater and windbreaker, can basically handle any temperature above 0 degrees. If the weather is mild (12 degress and up), i just bring the sweater and windbreaker/rainjacket.

Uniqlo Heattech is wonderful... I only need to bring a packable jacket to backpack my way in winter. Got people raise eyebrows. LOL. But yes... It's doable.

And the packable jacket is also windbreaker. Hand carry that ball of jacket jin convenient. Go home just stuff it into check-in backpack or carry on.

Pricing also very cheap. At least, cheaper than buying many pieces of winter clothing. Overall I spent less than $100 on 2 Heattech + jacket.

Sorry, moi is cheapo and lazy. This solution very fit me. Plus I am small size. I don't like heavy things.

butterbarter

You can buy polyester socks from anywhere. $2 a pair. There is no particular brand. Or if you want to get fancy, merino wool socks, but expensive.

I go ask Google!

Or you have lobang to share share?

Henabi

What exactly do you bring for comfort that adds so much weight? Ultralight travel, if done correctly, should not sacrifice safety or comfort. At least, not much.

well... i am not so sure if you ever travel with your parents and family.
but I do.

when travelling with elders or parents with slight disabilities (ie can't walk too much or arthritis) and even small kids...

those ultra light "winter" clothings... sorry... simply not enough

the last thing you want are your elders kpkb kpkb kpkb kpkb the entire trip

anyway such a streamlined packing list should be good enough for people (Young adults till around late 40s) who want to be a "minimalist" traveller

magna_strike

Tbh, i dislike uniqlo heattech, unless its the highest tier one the extra hot. The basic one is practically useless and im freezing my ass off when i tried it last time..

Din0saurus

Tbh, i dislike uniqlo heattech, unless its the highest tier one the extra hot. The basic one is practically useless and im freezing my ass off when i tried it last time..

I think the basic heattech is ok down to 0 but I’ve gotten rid of mine because they’ve stretched out and ‘lost shape’.

For cold weather I love the patagonia thermal weight a lot more than the north face expedition weight. It’s a lot softer and more comfortable. The thumb loops also prevent the sleeves from riding up your forearm.

tiger2013

What brand is your packable jacket? What kind of temperatures can you use your heattech+jacket?

Down jackets are unbeatable for cold weather, and a ultralight one combined with a fleece sweater and windbreaker, can basically handle any temperature above 0 degrees. If the weather is mild (12 degress and up), i just bring the sweater and windbreaker/rainjacket.

Ralph Lauren jacket. I think it's a sample. So it's cheap cheap. :o

tiger2013

I was contemplating between the basic one and extra warm one. Decided to go with extra warm one because temperatures is negative 10 and below. Some say basic one is enough, but I think they are not afraid of cold, lol.

tewem

Many things have been mentioned.
Personally , I make a photocopy of passport and travel documents.
Cash in two to three locations of which one is underneath insert of shoes.
Also spare spectacles
And guys dun forget to inform MFA

I will scan a copy of my passport & travel documents and saved it in my handphone private mode.

my SOP items are:
- travel toothbrush set
- Small hair Soap bar, can use for body as well
- charcoal pills / water purification pills + panadol + BAO JI WAN (保济丸) + anti-diarrhea powder
- 4 handy-plast
- big tissue pack which has like 100-200 pcs
- Big disinfectant wet-wipes pack like 50 pcs
- 5ml perfume atomizer + travel Gatsby wax
- a couple of breath-freshener or GoFresh

Electronics
- 1 x travel adapter with two USB 3.0 ports (enable quickcharge) and one power socket
- 1 x 3-in-1 usb charging cable enable quickcharge (micro-USB, lightning, USB-C)
- 1 ipad
- 1 Motorola Z2 play attachable powerpack + my Moto Z2 play phone

Clothing
- 3 x Uniqlo AIRism Mesh Crew Neck T-Shirt or any feather-weight quickdry t-shirt
- 2 x Uniqlo AIRism collar shirt / Polo T-shirt or any feather-weight quickdry alternatives
- 2 x Uniqlo Ultra Stretch Skinny Chino / EZY Dry Ankle pants
- 1 x Ultra-light pocketable water-resistant parka (repel light rain and wind)

Shoes: my trusty sperry boat shoes

Others
- slim travel bi-fold wallet for my travel currency notes
- a separate slim anti-RFID card holder
- a small writing pen

All the above is able to go into my 22L water resistant travel backpack for around 5kg or even lesser

w2IvBVF.jpg

k3uqZtJ.jpg

kN0BBx3.jpg

If I am travelling for business, then it will be a cabin luggage plus my travel backpack

Just to check, is nail cutter allowed in hand luggage while passing thru' scanning machine in airport security?

butterbarter

It is OK if it doesn't have a blade. I've been carrying a very tiny one (about 3-4cm long) in my hand carry luggage since forever. I also carry a very tiny penknife (those that cost $0.10 each), ear digger thingie and a tiny bottle opener for long time. No problem, mainly because security fail to spot my little penknife since it is so small.

I
Just to check, is nail cutter allowed in hand luggage while passing thru' scanning machine in airport security?

Din0saurus

Don’t think I can break 10kg. The essentials are already at 9 kg for summer.

Item Model Weight (g)
Baselayer Mammut Go Dry Zip Longsleeve 155
Fleece Mammut Eiswand Advanced 420
Synthetic Hoody Arc'teryx Atom LT 360
Down MH Ghost Whisperer 219
Hardhshell Jacket Arc'teryx Alpha FL 315
Softshell Pants Arc'teryx Gamma AR 490
Hardhshell Pants Marmot PreCip Full Zip Pant 340
Gloves BD Enforcer 248
Gloves OR Aksel Work Gloves 177
Gloves Mammut Climb Gloves 125
Sunglasses Julbo Whoops - Spectron 4 35
Helmet Petzl Meteor 220
Harness Arc'teryx FL-365 365
Belay Device DMM Pivot 72
Locking Carabiner DMM Rhino 72
Locking Carabiner DMM Aero HMS SG 85
Locking Carabiner Petzl Spirit SL 45
Leash Petzl Connect Adjust 125
Prussik Beal Jammy 60cm 29
Locking Carabiner Petzl Attache 56
Via ferrata lanyard Petzl Scorpio Vertigo 380
Backpack Millet Prolighter 30+10 1070
Water Bottle Nalgene 32oz Wide Mouth 178
Ice Axe Petzl Sum'tec 485
Mountaineering Boots Millet Grepon 4S GTX 1560
Rock Climbing Shoes LS Miura 450
Crampons Petzl Lynx 1000
Total: 9076g

Still need additional base layers, shorts + t-shirt for sleeping, socks, underwear, toiletries, towel, chargers for phone and watch, 2x dry sacks, bags for helmet + crampons + harness, main pack: Osprey Atmos 65 with rain cover.

Excludes group gear: ropes, quickdraws, slings, cams, nuts, ice screws. Amount depends on objective.

LWZ

Below are my standard items for both work and leisure travel. Both of which I do quite a fair bit of, though more of the former in the past year or so.

All to fit into one clear toiletries kit:
- Toothbrush, toothpaste, floss
- Shampoo in a small bottle (not a fan of hotel shampoo)
- Facial wash
- Deodorant

Carried in backpack/messenger at all times:
- Dhamotil anti-diarrhea pills
- Cold/flu pills
- Travel adapter
- USB phone charging cable
- Pen
- Contact lens case and solution

Clothing:
- One full set of clothes for every 2 days; Most of my business travel hotels provide laundry service in their corporate package. Otherwise, will send all the dirty laundry for washing (charged to business expense, of course), when I have just two clean sets left, one of which I wear for the day. For my long solo trips, will use coin laundries or the hostel washing machines.
- Spare pair of shoes

The most important, and to check for every once in a while:
- Wallet (with ATM card, credit card and local currency)
- Phone
- Passport (plus APEC biz travel card, if you have it)

Henabi

Don’t think I can break 10kg. The essentials are already at 9 kg for summer.

Item Model Weight (g)
Baselayer Mammut Go Dry Zip Longsleeve 155
Fleece Mammut Eiswand Advanced 420
Synthetic Hoody Arc'teryx Atom LT 360
Down MH Ghost Whisperer 219
Hardhshell Jacket Arc'teryx Alpha FL 315
Softshell Pants Arc'teryx Gamma AR 490
Hardhshell Pants Marmot PreCip Full Zip Pant 340
Gloves BD Enforcer 248
Gloves OR Aksel Work Gloves 177
Gloves Mammut Climb Gloves 125
Sunglasses Julbo Whoops - Spectron 4 35
Helmet Petzl Meteor 220
Harness Arc'teryx FL-365 365
Belay Device DMM Pivot 72
Locking Carabiner DMM Rhino 72
Locking Carabiner DMM Aero HMS SG 85
Locking Carabiner Petzl Spirit SL 45
Leash Petzl Connect Adjust 125
Prussik Beal Jammy 60cm 29
Locking Carabiner Petzl Attache 56
Via ferrata lanyard Petzl Scorpio Vertigo 380
Backpack Millet Prolighter 30+10 1070
Water Bottle Nalgene 32oz Wide Mouth 178
Ice Axe Petzl Sum'tec 485
Mountaineering Boots Millet Grepon 4S GTX 1560
Rock Climbing Shoes LS Miura 450
Crampons Petzl Lynx 1000
Total: 9076g

Still need additional base layers, shorts + t-shirt for sleeping, socks, underwear, toiletries, towel, chargers for phone and watch, 2x dry sacks, bags for helmet + crampons + harness, main pack: Osprey Atmos 65 with rain cover.

Excludes group gear: ropes, quickdraws, slings, cams, nuts, ice screws. Amount depends on objective.

OMG!!!! so many carabiners!!!

might wanna be careful as airlines nowadays are slowly lowering the max weight for cabin hand carry.
most full service airlines still at 10kg
issue will be with Budget... most are 7KG. only few still allow 7KG (Cabin luggage) + 3KG (Handbag/small backpack)

Henabi

Below are my standard items for both work and leisure travel. Both of which I do quite a fair bit of, though more of the former in the past year or so.

All to fit into one clear toiletries kit:
- Toothbrush, toothpaste, floss
- Shampoo in a small bottle (not a fan of hotel shampoo)
- Facial wash
- Deodorant

Carried in backpack/messenger at all times:
- Dhamotil anti-diarrhea pills
- Cold/flu pills
- Travel adapter
- USB phone charging cable
- Pen
- Contact lens case and solution

Clothing:
- One full set of clothes for every 2 days; Most of my business travel hotels provide laundry service in their corporate package. Otherwise, will send all the dirty laundry for washing (charged to business expense, of course), when I have just two clean sets left, one of which I wear for the day. For my long solo trips, will use coin laundries or the hostel washing machines.
- Spare pair of shoes

The most important, and to check for every once in a while:
- Wallet (with ATM card, credit card and local currency)
- Phone
- Passport (plus APEC biz travel card, if you have it)

I slowly leaning towards bringing a small soap bar for travel which I can use for both hair and body. firstly, don't need to be bothered with the 100ml liquid limit. secondly, i don't need to worry about liquid spill or leak.

always love hotel laundry service. pass to them at 6am in the morning and ready by 4pm the same day.

for leisure travels, i prefer to use those quick-dry t-shirt cuz its thin and light. sometimes if i lazy, i will just pack saf PT singles :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.