Swimming anyone???

3inone

Just wondering, 40 laps on freestyle in 50mins - 1 hour is considered slow, fast or average speed?

erm. i find it hard to comment on that cause im on a different level.

40 laps in 50-1hr. thats more than 1 minute for 1x 50m.

lets put a mini scale here(seconds per 50metres):

<30 = competitive racing pace.
<40 = leisure swimmer racing pace.
<50 = fast for leisure swimmer.

if u are about 20year old, averagely sporty, i would definitely expect <50 per 50metres. yup.
if u are doing about 1min10sec per 50metre, i guess that could potentially mean decent areas for improvements. unlike foosoomin, i dont encourage much. instead, i prefer to be frank, so you can decide whether to work more on these areas.

so i'll say either you are really relaxing, or else u could seek improvements. yup.

however, there is no need to go to such detail for calorie counting...

3inone

I can swim butterfly, but the only problem is, the most i can fly 14 strokes, which is about slightly more than 1/2 length, that's all & after that arm no strength already

How come so good, give us guidance F.O.C ? Haha, i don't stay near Bishan, but i working near Bishan....

I don't need to learn better butterfly stroke, as now i only swim once per week with friend, 20 laps via breaststroke & had started to go back gym for strength training

So all in all, thank you for your offer....But i no longer need to train on my swimming stroke already

not every thing is calculated in $$ lah. i teach for fun too.

its not just about learn better butterfly stroke.

swimming in itself is a life skill. and yet, you want to put a limit to your knowledge in swimming. a pity since u sound rather enthusiastic.

butterfly IS a tiring stroke. but it doesnt mean its a privilege for the young and fit.

proper stroke doesnt only help u get faster/better, but it also helps u stay out of injury when executing those strokes.

then again, if theres people really keen to learn any stroke, form a group or something, and we can always meet up to learn a thing or 2.

foosoomin

lycans said:
Just out of curiosity loh...need to any other reason meh?

3inone said:
erm. i find it hard to comment on that cause im on a different level.

40 laps in 50-1hr. thats more than 1 minute for 1x 50m.

lets put a mini scale here(seconds per 50metres):

<30 = competitive racing pace.
<40 = leisure swimmer racing pace.
<50 = fast for leisure swimmer.

if u are about 20year old, averagely sporty, i would definitely expect <50 per 50metres. yup.
if u are doing about 1min10sec per 50metre, i guess that could potentially mean decent areas for improvements. unlike foosoomin, i dont encourage much. instead, i prefer to be frank, so you can decide whether to work more on these areas.

so i'll say either you are really relaxing, or else u could seek improvements. yup.

however, there is no need to go to such detail for calorie counting...

Hi brother 3inone,

This forumer "lycans" has quite a good figure, look at his body physique, here: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=49957310&postcount=229

Just wondering did you saw my reply to "lycans" ? I asked him what does he want to achieve, then his reply is stated on the top of this post...Then i just keep quiet lor, really nothing to say already

I totally agree with you, there's really no need to do calorie counting, the reason is because if he can swim 40 laps of front crawl in 50 minutes, he's really burning a lot of calories already.

Even after his swim, i believe he can eat a lot to recover back lots of energy & strength

foosoomin

3inone said:
its not just about learn better butterfly stroke.

swimming in itself is a life skill. and yet, you want to put a limit to your knowledge in swimming. a pity since u sound rather enthusiastic.

butterfly IS a tiring stroke. but it doesnt mean its a privilege for the young and fit.

proper stroke doesnt only help u get faster/better, but it also helps u stay out of injury when executing those strokes.

then again, if theres people really keen to learn any stroke, form a group or something, and we can always meet up to learn a thing or 2.

Brother,

What can we learn from swimming ? Haha.....would like to be enlighten from you, please state down in detail here

foosoomin

swimming coach "3inone", where are you ?

Did you read my reply on Post #325 & 326 ?

soeyism

if u swim very often 40laps in < 1 hour is pretty decent
though i did not did 40laps before, usually 2x20

i swim leisurely main reason is to train my breathing and tann myself
i swim at temasek poly as i was a alumni

will try to time myself when i hit the pool again

yourswimpal

I am asthmatic, that is why the doctor sent me to swimming when I was young. It works !! I am a living example . Sad to say, when I stop swimming during my uni days, it relapses. Now i am back to the pool again !

btw, pls advice if you could see anything that I could improve on .

crandfs

I am asthmatic, that is why the doctor sent me to swimming when I was young. It works !! I am a living example . Sad to say, when I stop swimming during my uni days, it relapses. Now i am back to the pool again !

btw, pls advice if you could see anything that I could improve on .

Eeek! You are very fast wor! 20m (right?) in 15s?

ManikBhai

Yeah, it can be. Just make sure you wash it after you get out and use conditioner. You might also want to try a shampoo that gets the chlorine out such as Ultra Swim or a purifying shampoo. I've been doing that and the last time I got my hair cut the lady said she couldn't even tell I was a swimmer. That's amazing because they usually complain about my hair being damaged.

Nicke.a

Hi everyone!! Are there any indoor swimming/competition pool in the west area? I'd like to keep myself healthier by exercising! But can without the sun =:p

Abdullah

dont think there is any indoor pool in sg, i am also looking for one ..

swim at nite lor

ketua

Semi-indoor can? Seng Kang Sports Complex, 1 of the pool is fully sheltered.

Anyway, you sure you don't want sunlight? good for you you know? gives you Vitamin-D, strengthen your bone.

ketua

semi indoor? may i know how much is the entry fees? 1 dollar?

3 sides have walls with openings (windows); 1 side no wall, opens to the rest of the outdoor pools. Fully sheltered on top.
2h3sbqt.jpg

1 dollar?!! :s31: Your Ah-Kong's swmimming pool huh?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.