nyquist2000
Ability to breathe and blow in water is a basic skill in swimming. Once you achieved that, you should not feel tired anymore. Have a good weekend swim. 
Reply to "TomDwan" on Post #382,
Go to Queenstown swimming complex on Sunday morning around 9plus, there's a coach teaching young children at the small pool, i cannot remember his name though. His complexion is tanned, flat top hair style, quite lean, around early 40s, around 173cm height..
Approach him on the lesson fee, he can teach very well

does it matter? In fact, swimming inefficiently gives a better workout because you're exerting more effort with each stroke.
My stroke is terrible, and a swim coach would just shake his head at my form. But I've gone from being barely able to swim a lap to swimming for 40mins - 2hrs at a time, freestyle at just above 1min/50m (obviously slower if swimming for duration). Just try to swim a little bit more every day. I still remember when swimming two lengths of a 50m pool would leave me gasping for breath.
Swimming has really improved my posture, and I find that if I don't swim when I do weights, my body tends to become that bulkish top-heavy caricature that most people get in the gym. Sure, they look strong, but they also look like they dropped 20 IQ points.

does it matter? In fact, swimming inefficiently gives a better workout because you're exerting more effort with each stroke.
My stroke is terrible, and a swim coach would just shake his head at my form. But I've gone from being barely able to swim a lap to swimming for 40mins - 2hrs at a time, freestyle at just above 1min/50m (obviously slower if swimming for duration). Just try to swim a little bit more every day. I still remember when swimming two lengths of a 50m pool would leave me gasping for breath.
Swimming has really improved my posture, and I find that if I don't swim when I do weights, my body tends to become that bulkish top-heavy caricature that most people get in the gym. Sure, they look strong, but they also look like they dropped 20 IQ points.
Wah, you quite fast leh, can keep up 1 min per lap for 40-120 min. I cannot, I can only sprint and rest, sprint and rest, ask me do continuous laps i will get out of breath very easily and slow down.
Breathing and arm movement should always go hand in hand. Swimming requires coordination skill. So alot of multi tasking at work when you swim... you need to breathe... you need to kick.. you need to move your arm.. you need to roll.... that is why if you focus too much on one thing.. you forget the other.But with more practise.. will iron out all the above. So long you can coordinate all together in syncronise... you are ok. Good luck.
After a while you don't think at all. Its just stroke after stroke. I think about what I have to do the next day, I think about work, about the gf, about what to eat later. Its very zen-like.
Its very peaceful because when you're swimming, you're really focusing on nothing. Stroke stroke breathe and repeat. Of course, it helps that the pool I swim at is always deserted. If you're swimming at a public swimming pool and have to deal with packed pools, navigating around kids, people swimming across lanes instead of along, then of course its a different experience. Try to go at off-peak hours and you'll find it much more relaxing.
Its good to switch from running to swimming every now and then because while they're both endurance sports, they train very different muscles.
Also, it feels like heaven after a long swim to sit in a dry sauna. You feel your muscles get so loose as you get warm.
Only bad thing is that's its a bigger time commitment. You have to change, quick rinse, swim, shower, change and if you add sauna time, its going to take 1.5hrs. That's why when work is busy, swimming is the first thing to cut.
In comparison, you can hit the gym and be out in 45minutes assuming a quick 30minute fast workout or just do an insanity workout in the comfort of your bedroom or living room.
i learned swimming from a book, lol (Total Immersion)
I absolutely love swimming. I think if I have to give up everything and keep one activity, it'll be a very tough choice between swimming and weight lifting.
Public swimming pools are one thing Singapore takes for granted. This is one of the few aspects that this country has done really well with urban planning. Every neighborhood has access to a public pool (and running track).
No other country I've been in has the same accessibility or the weather for swimming like Singapore.
Are you not residing in singapore?

You will find learning much easier thru swimming video than just reading from the book. Trust me..... a short cut to success.There are such video in youtube you can watch. Here is one example of the TI by a japanese guy. In this video, he is doing a free style Total Immersion.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rJpFVvho0o4
Total Immersion can be applied in frog style, butterfly too. Not only front crawl. Alot tend to link TI with free style only.![]()
Yeah lah right now I am, that's why I say swimming pools are a much taken for granted public facility here. I NEVER swim when I'm overseas
Weather is pretty sh!t recently, this morning was sunny and by the time I wanted to head out for a swim, rain liao.![]()