Swimming anyone???

ketua

Assuming it is not caused by permanent abrasions, the blurriness could be because the antifog treatment has worn away. For this, scubadivers got 2 standard tactics.
Spit into your lenses and wipe a bit then flush slightly once. This is dependent on the sliminess of your saliva.
Another better one is to use johnson and johnson's tearless :) baby shampoo. Wipe just a few drops inside the lenses, then dip it quickly into water once and shake it clean. Works really well

Scuba divers has one more to share.

Toothpaste!
But please use common sense, avoid those Mint or whatever favors that will irritate your eyes.

And don't rub too hard as toothpaste has sand-like property (fine particles).

crandfs

Ummm, actually scuba divers only use grit free toothpaste to clean the lens of new goggles of.any factory grease etc before it is used for the first time.
Toothpaste with grits will abrade your lens.
So far I haven't heard of anyone actually using toothpaste itself as antifog. I think it confirm will sting the eye like hell.
Unker ketua must go for refresher course liao :p

ketua

Ummm, actually scuba divers only use grit free toothpaste to clean the lens of new goggles of.any factory grease etc before it is used.
Toothpaste with grits will abrade your lens.
So far I haven't heard of anyone actually using toothpaste itself as antifog.
Unker ketua must go for refresher course liao :p

OIC! Noted. :s13:

Actually it was the Dive Master who passed the tube around for all to share.

ketua

Talking about swimming goggles, noticed that lately the design sibei chio ( or may be I slow?)
Shape like wearing those sporty sunglasses for mountain biking.

Will look out for discount / sales events :s12:

carey

Talking about swimming goggles, noticed that lately the design sibei chio ( or may be I slow?)

I just gotten myself one of those - haven't started using it yet though...hahah

Yxy

i learned TI from their DVDs and books :s13:
but then I didn't know how to swim before that, so no bad habits to unlearn

I'm quite curious about TI, any links to check out? How are you learning it?

vurtomatic

I use these Arena ones, best I've used. Will buy another if this spoils.

Arena_Cobra_Mirrored_Racing_Goggles_2000x2000.jpg

crandfs

That person you saw may be me.... :o
Its Speedo's Rift Pro Mirror Mask, good in that it doesn't try to dig my eyeballs out of my sockets, very comfy. But ultimately useless to me because my face shape just doesn't match well to it, keeps leaking when swimming, tighten strap also no use. :(

Who wants I sell for $10, it may fit other faces better.

If you're interested, PM me for further info

carey

That person you saw may be me.... :o
Its Speedo's Rift Pro Mirror Mask, good in that it doesn't try to dig my eyeballs out of my sockets, very comfy. But ultimately useless to me because my face shape just doesn't match well to it, keeps leaking when swimming, tighten strap also no use. :(

Who wants I sell for $10, it may fit other faces better.

If you're interested, PM me for further info

I don't mind...hahah

vurtomatic

Best as in what? No leak or minimum drag or...?

But NOT chio at all. :s13:
So traditional in design.

Still not chio ah? What did you see man :s13:

No leak, fits the eyes well, the design seems to even out the pressure on the eyes when the straps are tight. Dunno about drag, I never notice drag when I use any goggles, maybe I don't swim fast enough :o

ketua

Still not chio ah? What did you see man :s13:

No leak, fits the eyes well, the design seems to even out the pressure on the eyes when the straps are tight. Dunno about drag, I never notice drag when I use any goggles, maybe I don't swim fast enough :o

See crandfs link above. Looks like mountain bike goggles.

Also saw another one like those Oakley sports glasses.

Gan chio! :D

nyquist2000

In the year of water dragon, I want to wish all good health and prosperity. Plus...gaining alot of good pointers in swimming and putting it into good use.

Good execution of the stroke come from the combination of a well cordinated arm, body and feet at one point to give a max effect. So it all take practise and practise and practise to get that feel of the effect. Good luck.

nyquist2000

There is no secret in swimming. All it takes is a streamline body... and apply the correct technique.

There are 5 step of arm action in a front crawl:
1) Recovery
2) Arm Entry
3) Catch water
4) Pull
5) Push
Back to step 1.

Have fun learning. Watch youtube for more picture and idea about swimming. It help a great deal. :)

ancientczx

Does anybody have breathing problems during swimming? I always get this sudden panic attack where my heartbeat increases and I can't breathe normally and have to stop and tread for air. Wonder is it psychological or what.

I also can't even hold my breath for the horizontal length of the pool. Anybody got tips on how to increase the breathing capacity? Occasional swimmer here with occasional swimmer friends that can hold their breath like nothing.

gtreds

Does anybody have breathing problems during swimming? I always get this sudden panic attack where my heartbeat increases and I can't breathe normally and have to stop and tread for air. Wonder is it psychological or what.

I also can't even hold my breath for the horizontal length of the pool. Anybody got tips on how to increase the breathing capacity? Occasional swimmer here with occasional swimmer friends that can hold their breath like nothing.

If u cant hold ur breath then dun do it..why wanna play hero just becoz ur frends can do it?It's personal capacity and besides,there's not reason for u to hold ur breath for the horizontal length of the pool,being able to hold ur breath also depends on how well u can swim frm 1 end to another.

crandfs

Something like that happens to me when I perform one too many strokes without coming up for air, but I dun consider it a panic attack. I feel it is just my body reacting to the CO2 build up rather than a lack of O2. So without stopping swimming, I just breathe out thoroughly, and take another deep breath, straightaway feel better in the next stroke.

I also cannot hold my breath to swim the horizontal length, so what? Its not like you need to be a free-diver to swim in public pools. Swim more, get used to the horrible feeling of CO2 buildup and I find that I can hold my breath for ~20m (around 15s) on my good days.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.