Teenagers ….

yewlun

And chui would start to think.. if he xian bu.. and on the boat...should I let him marriage bo?

MoeLanYong

@moonraiser @MoeLanYong Nedd chui feedback on teeenages girls boy different..Which ones less worry?

Teenagers are all like that one. At first, I too was not used to it. They suddenly changed. Morphed into someone I dun know.

Then I attended an event. Teenagers camp. About 100 parents. The speaker said when your teenage child answers you with 1 word or gives the look of disgust, it is normal.

All 100 parents nodded their heads. That's when I know my kid is normal too, to do such things.

I’m talking about mine ..probably apply more to boys than girls
Ever since entered puberty, always one word answer, very little appreciation or joy for anything…hardly comes out of room… default mode is disinterest and disrespect.
Years of this can really wear one down. I am beginning to understand why Angmohs like their kids to move out after turning 18.
Does it ever get better?

zueinder

Ever since entered puberty, always one word answer, very little appreciation or joy for anything…hardly comes out of room… default mode is disinterest and disrespect.
Years of this can really wear one down. I am beginning to understand why Angmohs like their kids to move out after turning 18.
Does it ever get better?
Not to put you down but it has to do with how you communicated and set the foundation before that caused this. So really, it's still you causing the problem. You want to kick them out asap then don't kpkb when you dying no one give a f**k.

vvsian

So we just resign ourselves to fate la… the happy cute kid is just no more… here to stay is this one-word alien who ignores you most of the time and finds you “cringy’’ when forced to acknowledge your existence.

just another bitter pill to swallow 🥲

vvsian

Not to put you down but it has to do with how you communicated and set the foundation before that caused this. So really, it's still you causing the problem. You want to kick them out asap then don't kpkb when you dying no one give a f**k.
but the whole message is to put me down so why preface with “not to put you down”?
No offence by the way, I know your point
But for you to say this, you probably do not have a teenager

tank_t

ts need to start a social media account then go partying tag your children.

then they will know they have a wonderful parent.

LoaGong12

Does it ever get better?
it’s because u failed to emotionally bond with your kids? no offence but i have some knowledge of this area and am just asking
they are asserting their identity so you do not impose your views or even suggest that yours is correct even if they are
talk on their terms ; spend time with them doing what they exactly want?

zueinder

but the whole message is to put me down so why preface with “not to put you down”?
No offence by the way, I know your point
But for you to say this, you probably do not have a teenager
Right. So must have teenager child then can comment ah? Okay lor. Your mind is made up then. Good luck.

Tsoukalos

Does it ever get better?
In before joy of having kids
In before family not complete
In before aiya u no kids u no understand

PhantomOpera

I have two teenagers. They also like to stay in their rooms and do their own things. Only come out to eat. But so far they have been respectful and responsive when we speak to them. Key is to not to micromanage them and respect them as individuals. I have to remind myself not to nag at them. Easy to say, not easy to do. Anyway, we are always learning in this parenting journey. Don’t be too hard on yourself. We are all the same.

arsenalfc85

I thought it’s common

Usually ppl tend to hang out with ppl of the same age group as them

Especially when they reach teenagehood

They spend so much time in sch with friends, studying and playing tgt

Then they also start to have crushes on the opposite gender

They will start to find that parents are irritating.

I think it’s normal

That’s why when children grow up liao, can slowly let go. Parents should have their own circle of friends too.

arsenalfc85

Also nowadays with hps and computer games, they are even less likely to want to interact with others, much less with parents

Social media and games n Netflix can occupy them for a long long time. That’s why all hiding inside room

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.