Teenagers ….

TA200

I’m talking about mine ..probably apply more to boys than girls
Ever since entered puberty, always one word answer, very little appreciation or joy for anything…hardly comes out of room… default mode is disinterest and disrespect.
Years of this can really wear one down. I am beginning to understand why Angmohs like their kids to move out after turning 18.
Does it ever get better?
maybe we were once like that, but not so complicated

TheSilentBang

very common for teenagers to behave like dat lar. Puberty and defiant stage. Dats why children are more cute when they're younger.

Shinning_Wolf

My 2 teenage boys are also like that. Plays computer games with friends (older boy) and on his own (younger boy) and doesn't like to be disturbed.

Very difficult to talk to them. Always ask me to go away. Only when need something then will talk to me.

Younger 14 year old still let me kiss and hug him daily though. Relishing that. Older 18 year old will never let me do that.
Competitive games combined with toxic trash-talker players are probably the reasons why he behaves like that.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
as boys gets older, then it might be a problem
thru' peers they will be influenced of all the stuffs that u never thot they would do

anw good luck in educating them
just not thru' violence/abuse can alrd :s22:

asmartng

i make my teenager to stay in the living room instead of the room. Must have more conversation and family outings. Talk to them. listen to them

iamsai

actually ts got consider go give birth another one? liddat got another bb to engage your attention and can shower tlc. when the bb becomes teenager, your son grow up already got his bb, you got another bb to shower tlc again

Sent from toilet pipe

vvsian

actually ts got consider go give birth another one? liddat got another bb to engage your attention and can shower tlc. when the bb becomes teenager, your son grow up already got his bb, you got another bb to shower tlc again

Sent from toilet pipe
No leh it’s horrifying to think of .. the energy alone needed to take care of a baby … omg
I’m glad I had my baby in my 20s when i was still full of fun and energy

drkcynic

Travelling with a friend and the family. The son only 8 yo, everything boring boring boring want to use phone or else whine x infinity. Cannot control, don't listen to anyone.

Really feel like slapping him to wake up his idea.

canteen0101

i think many bbfa edmwers are still behaving like teens in their day-to-day online posting. u couldnt tell the difference from real ones if u didn't ask.

begintoend

personally i observe

many dun have habit to have meals together at the table,
many dun watch TV together,
dun say the kids, now the parents also will tend to be selfish towards their own indulgence.

even at festivals or events and even holidays
the get-together becomes very separated into groups or individuals.

vvsian

Travelling with a friend and the family. The son only 8 yo, everything boring boring boring want to use phone or else whine x infinity. Cannot control, don't listen to anyone.

Really feel like slapping him to wake up his idea.
Sounds like addiction… using phone supposedly gives constant dopamine so they find it very hard to resist it.. adults as well much less kids.. everything is boring in comparison.

grevq80o

Their growing phase. U can be pissed off, that's perfectly normal and justified, rem that a period or phase only. Memorable moments, please treasure. After this phase will be next phase.. every phase different.. r u up to the experience?

vvsian

personally i observe

many dun have habit to have meals together at the table,
many dun watch TV together,
dun say the kids, now the parents also will tend to be selfish towards their own indulgence.

even at festivals or events and even holidays
the get-together becomes very separated into groups or individuals.
Yes so many family gatherings just end up with each looking at their own phone .. thank god for gambling else got very little to do together

canteen0101

Sounds like addiction… using phone supposedly gives constant dopamine so they find it very hard to resist it.. adults as well much less kids.. everything is boring in comparison.
yup.. notice tt most adults who are hooked onto their phones are behaving like teens themselves, even crossing road also cannot cross properly always nearly kena bang by motorist

canteen0101

Yes so many family gatherings just end up with each looking at their own phone .. thank god for gambling else got very little to do together
lol i dun think its appropriate to "thank god for gambling" its like thanking god for prostitution else kids will end up ***-ing to prawn instead.

Mephist0pheLes

I was like that bcos i was extremely irritated by the excessive concern my family had for me. Imagine being asked have u ate lunch, when u going to eat, have u bath, when u going to bath, how come still havnt bath, have u ate dinner, when u going to eat, when u going to sleep. Every. Single. Day.

It gets better as i grew older

drkcynic

I’m talking about mine ..probably apply more to boys than girls
Ever since entered puberty, always one word answer, very little appreciation or joy for anything…hardly comes out of room… default mode is disinterest and disrespect.
Years of this can really wear one down. I am beginning to understand why Angmohs like their kids to move out after turning 18.
Does it ever get better?
How were they like when they were younger?

Personally i try to make sure they can talk to us about anything, enjoy going out with us, in hope that they will not become the typical kind of teenagers.

But I'm not sure how they will turn out also. So far they are ok, not glued to phones also.

vvsian

yup.. notice tt most adults who are hooked onto their phones are behaving like teens themselves, even crossing road also cannot cross properly always nearly kena bang by motorist
my father used to call us addicts for using the PC a lot in our youth. After he retired in his 50s he himself became hooked onto watching YouTube on his iPad, even brings it into the toilet. He comments on it himself.. how hard it is to control, I dont think it’s a matter of age or maturity

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.