The bears den

DukeCS33

The U.S. Commerce Department said on Thursday it was proposing a new rule to impose anti-subsidy duties on products from countries that undervalue their currencies against the dollar, another move that could slap higher tariffs on Chinese products.

This war of words across both sides is just not stopping - how can there be a continuation of talks with this type of posturing and stance?

churnmaster

The SP500 held above the 2800/2820 level. While I have mentioned that I am bearish from a fundamental point of view, I do not see technicals confirming that fundamental view.... at least not yet until we see 2800 crack and the weekly breaking and closing below its 50d moving average on a sustained basis... If such an event comes to past, there are ways to play it - short the break or wait for a retest and failure to initiate a new short.

Again, I would not want to be carried away by the current bearishness for reasons I mentioned last night. The price action also does validate my views to be more conservative - we have a close that bounced above the lows just off the 2800. The volume transacted last night was higher than the past 7 sessions but as with a bottoming tail, it does suggest good buyers supporting the market below. So unless we have a catalyst for this 2800 break.... bears may just be banging their heads against a wall. I may be wrong but look at SPY... the volume transacted last night was double the prior 2 sessions! (There is selling but there is also some hidden buying from high volume)The last 2 hours of trading attracted good buying volume. All this just tells me that there is demand at the key support level. And after the market tests the downside, would it then try to test the topside resistance again? All these fits my view that we see sideways for awhile until we have a new catalyst..... if it is from China, then it can potentially cut both ways - if the Chinese's retaliation is less severe than expected and leaves the door open for more talks, we may yet see another relief rally. On the other hand, a move that demonstrates no recourse may be that reason to break 2800.

The way I may play this current state would be to take partial profits on shorts, or turn tactical intraday long just for tonight's session (some short covering ahead of the weekend makes this a possible play)

I closed my E-mini OTM short call position yesterday and now waiting to sell again into another rally. A weekly range of 50 to 80 pts in the underlying provides around 15 to 24 pts opportunity at 30% option delta. Accounting for the bid/offer spread and playing in mid portion of the range (rather than always waiting for the top of the range to sell and bottom of the range to close), brings down the earning potential to 6 to 10 pts, which I think is decent enough if its a weekly affair and considering the fact that its a leveraged product.

Most markets in Asia have seen 3 weeks of selling and I guess next week should see some retracement and consolidation especially considering that its the last week of the month (window dressing period for the institutions).

DukeCS33

Another food for thought:
The current 10y UST yield is 2.324%
The effective fed funds rate as of last night is 2.38%

The equity markets typically underperforms when 10y UST yield is below the Fed funds rate.

klarklar

See wat happens when one makes seditious or racist remarks online:

https://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20080521-66273.html

This is not the first time that this troll making such remarks leh. Will mod please report to the authorities since past actions of banning has no effect and this troll still continuing.

I believe moderator has totally eliminated all his posts from hardwarezone.

THis is the right thing to do. His posts shame Singaporeans. Banning him shows that we condemn his racist, seditious posts.

coolhead

Rise on profit taking by those who shorted... and the reason for covering those shorts may be to mitigate potential good news over the weekend instead? If there would be fresh shorts, it is not too late to put them on come Monday where the weekend risk is over.
Definitely there'll be people who think good news will come on weekend and some who think bad news will come.
Personally, it doesn't look like good news will come anytime soon, US posturing has been negative. By Monday/Tuesday next week it'll be too late as when the premarket opens, the price is immediately baked in.

Perhaps market rose towards the end yesterday for those who closed their shorts.

Sent from HMD Global TA-1004 using GAGT

madtari

Which user id is that guy who got arrested?

THis is the right thing to do. His posts shame Singaporeans. Banning him shows that we condemn his racist, seditious posts.

theMKR

Question.

The shares that Elon musk holds in TSLA is borrowed using the shares as collateral. So assuming the shares falls to a point where he get margin call means what?

he has to sell the shares no matter what, then lose position in the coy?

so in theory he will use all coy funds to prevent the stock from dropping below a certain price?

DukeCS33

He will reappear again. He has made several seditious remarks before including one offensive to Christians during Good Friday and banning him and removing his posts just does not stop him from reappearing as another clone. And the story repeats itself. Just ignore him and if anyone is offended enough, make a police report and shut him out of this forum for good. There are more than enough of his racist comments on this forum that may get him locked up.

limster

All markets green now. No joy for bears today.

I believe studies have shown that more than 50% of the time, Fridays are up days because of short covering though i haven't seen a recent study that includes 2018/2019... :s13:

revhappy

I believe studies have shown that more than 50% of the time, Fridays are up days because of short covering though i haven't seen a recent study that includes 2018/2019... :s13:

Since this whole trade war issue is man made and by one mad man, bulls believe that eventually it will be resolved and markets will go higher.

But I believe even without the trade war the economy was weakening and resolution of trade war is not enough for a sustainable recovery.

Bulls are in a half glass full mode based on past experiences of BTFD always works, so they are betting this time they would rather not wait for a dip.

So it is a question of when bulls will capitulate.

coolhead

Bears already gotten some nice field trips for the past few days.
If everyday bear also will be very scary. Need to give and take bah.... Give the bulls a slow boil then shiok.

Mecisteus

If everyday bear also will be very scary. Need to give and take bah.... Give the bulls a slow boil then shiok.

Bulls no worry one.

You just open the long term chart.

Just have some S&P500, STI and World stocks.

coolhead

Bulls no worry one.

You just open the long term chart.

Just have some S&P500, STI and World stocks.
Piang eh... U say like that, there is no need to invent instruments for the purpose of shorting Liao.

Mecisteus

Piang eh... U say like that, there is no need to invent instruments for the purpose of shorting Liao.

Those tools are there for short term traders to trade.

Mid to longer term traders/investors can stick to long only.

coolhead

Those tools are there for short term traders to trade.

Mid to longer term traders/investors can stick to long only.
Yeh... I'm trading short term. Intra day or at most 2days trade.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.