The bears den

DukeCS33

Stock markets across Europe is in the red with most down 1% or more. This in turn feeds into the SP futures which is currently down 1.08%. Going to be an interesting night.... can the US markets attempt a flush of stops below to spring for a positive close? Or we may see the stage set technically for a more bearish week next week?

theMKR

If u dun wish to adjust , some trading platform allow you to use a trailing stop loss,e.g interactive brokers. Trailing Stop loss can be to limit your losses and/or maximise your profits.

Let's say a stock keep going up and you want to protect your profits in case stock price moves down. Let's say stock price is now 100. You can say set a limit price of 90 with a trailing % of 2%. So the stop price is 2% downwards of the maximum stock price. At current stock price of 100, then trailing stop is 98 and limit is 90.

If stock price is 110, then trailing stop is adjusted upwards to 107.80 and limit is maintained at 90.

Sent from HMD Global TA-1004 using GAGT

looks useful!!!

revhappy

Stock markets across Europe is in the red with most down 1% or more. This in turn feeds into the SP futures which is currently down 1.08%. Going to be an interesting night.... can the US markets attempt a flush of stops below to spring for a positive close? Or we may see the stage set technically for a more bearish week next week?

Still this market is very dilusional, considering that the Mexico tariffs came out of nowhere. The world was supposed to be a beautiful place, according to the bulls, trade deal with China etc. Now with the kind of escalation we have had, this is worse than what was priced in December 2018. Yet markets are hardly 5% below ATH.

It is most probably not people buying but companies buying back their own shares which is supporting this market.

coolhead

looks useful!!!
It's useful before I go to sleep. But a trailing stop order doesn't mean the order will be executed. In the example I give, if the last done price never fall more than 2% of the highest stock price of the day, then the order remains an order. In this case, I set an alarm and wake up before market close to see if I want to execute the order.

limster

What is it in Sembcorp that is drawing your attention?

(1) Ignoring SembMarine The Non-O&M part of its business provides steady income flow and dividend stream.

(2) SembMarine more likely to surprise on the upside rather than downside.

(3) I believe it will outperform STI.

(4) Did I say I like dividends? Yup, I already did. :s13:

coolhead

Both gold and uvxy ejaculated....song boh...

theMKR

I dun buy/sell futures.... I don't see a future in doing so..

Why?

I been trying to find ways to earn a lot of money from not a lot of money by trading. Thus trying out a lot of diffrrent things

All my sleepless nights only can buy a few pokemon cards like damn bo hua

coolhead

Why?

I been trying to find ways to earn a lot of money from not a lot of money by trading. Thus trying out a lot of diffrrent things

All my sleepless nights only can buy a few pokemon cards like damn bo hua
In future when I have time I will do so. I'm pretty much pre-occupied with wedding prep, visiting IDs for renovation etc...

Trader11

Still this market is very dilusional, considering that the Mexico tariffs came out of nowhere. The world was supposed to be a beautiful place, according to the bulls, trade deal with China etc. Now with the kind of escalation we have had, this is worse than what was priced in December 2018. Yet markets are hardly 5% below ATH.

It is most probably not people buying but companies buying back their own shares which is supporting this market.

ETF are mandated to keep buying every month..... Like our dear friends in Moneymind

Trader11

In future when I have time I will do so. I'm pretty much pre-occupied with wedding prep, visiting IDs for renovation etc...

How much do you spend for wedding and renovation?

theMKR

Actually i cant trade futures. Maybe ibkr knows i m a newbie.

Actually is true now i anyhow buy options :s13:

coolhead

How much do you spend for wedding and renovation?
Wedding is a very private affair... Forking out about 3k for function room with lunch.
Reno will be 30k for HDB 4rm bto and 10k for household appliance.

Back to topic, in future will look at futures.

coolhead

How does anyone think this will open? The redness is surprisingly resilient... I would've expected less red but it got more red very gradually. Not sure if it'll end -2% eod

Trader11

(1) Ignoring SembMarine The Non-O&M part of its business provides steady income flow and dividend stream.

Limster only buy dividend stocks?

DukeCS33

How does anyone think this will open? The redness is surprisingly resilient... I would've expected less red but it got more red very gradually. Not sure if it'll end -2% eod

The Market just did not like the new tariff front opened against Mexico - Businesses would have their supply chain disrupted on top of the current disruption from China. The implication is that China may also view any agreements made to be subject to Trump's moods and less inclined to resolve the current trade dis-agreement.
Anything can happen and I half expect some jawboning to happen tonight. That said, the sell off as depicted by futures is heavy and some serious technical damage may be done which may in turn weigh down on the index next week.

Think open gap down and made worse by stops being triggered since the 2800 has been breached. Open would be ugly unless we have some jawboning by our composite operator, Trump and company.

DukeCS33

I thought the O&M portion represents a significant part of the business and this is quite cyclical in nature... dividend yield looks low so not sure if it is a div play per say.

Trader11

I thought the O&M portion represents a significant part of the business and this is quite cyclical in nature... dividend yield looks low so not sure if it is a div play per say.

Starhub and SingTel looks more attractive yield

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.