The bears den

churnmaster

I was watching the karate kid 2010 movie on Netflix and what amazed me, the set up of the story is about a black family in Detroit leave for China due to the slump in US automobile industry.

In those days I remember there was a saying: Shanghai, Dubai, Mumbai or Bye Bye. Which implied you had to move from the west to these EMs if you want to survive.

It is funny how things have changed 180 degrees. Now apparently US has the best job market, best economy and EMs are screwed.

https://www.thisismoney.co.uk/money/markets/article-1631771/Dubai-Mumbai-Shanghai-or-bye.html

No doubt the US economy has done quite well over the last few years, however even the EMs have not done so badly. They may not have performed to their full potentials or have not met the high expectations due to their own constraints, but they still continue to be future drivers of growth.

What is a worry though is that debt levels in these economies are also increasing and may give rise to serious systemic risk at some point in future, if not managed properly.

churnmaster

Actually, 18 months is a too short period to make a meaningful comparison if you are doing a long term investment.

It's better to look at the 5, 10 or 15 years performance instead.

Yes I agree ... long term investment is for couple of years and not 18 odd months.

However, its always good to know if the under performance is due to the underlying currencies. Because, if that's the case then it has a potential to adversely affect the returns even in the long term especially if we get into a currency war situation.

Let's see if someone has an explanation to this under performance :)

chopra

given the recent high, it's actually a good time to rebalance ur stocks:bond ratio

Shiny Things

FCS, HWZ The Only Proven None Troll Professional Trader.

Hey, FCS, I'm curious about something, and I promise I'm trying to be nice here: why do you always crop everything out of your photos?

Your Saxo photo is just a quote list; anyone can do that, even if they only have a demo account.

Your Maybank photo just shows a list of trades and shows that most of them were profitable. But it doesn't show what your total profit was, and it only shows your closed positions - if you have a lot of open trades that you're holding "until they get back to flat", then you could actually be hiding some pretty big losses.

Those photos don't make you look like a professional; they really do make you look like you're trying to hide something.

Also, I'll give you a heads-up: Saxo is not a good trading platform. Their fees are too high. The pros use Interactive.

Is XM recommended?

Never use random Cypriot brokers. They could literally run off with your money and you wouldn't be able to do a thing about it.

atf0007

Hey, FCS, I'm curious about something, and I promise I'm trying to be nice here: why do you always crop everything out of your photos?

Your Saxo photo is just a quote list; anyone can do that, even if they only have a demo account.

Your Maybank photo just shows a list of trades and shows that most of them were profitable. But it doesn't show what your total profit was, and it only shows your closed positions - if you have a lot of open trades that you're holding "until they get back to flat", then you could actually be hiding some pretty big losses.

Those photos don't make you look like a professional; they really do make you look like you're trying to hide something.

Also, I'll give you a heads-up: Saxo is not a good trading platform. Their fees are too high. The pros use Interactive.

Never use random Cypriot brokers. They could literally run off with your money and you wouldn't be able to do a thing about it.

Very simple lah. Hiding losses loh….

Someone alreadi point out liaoz - he kena ripped off by saxo but still dun know why... how to say he is pro leh? Onli ownself say ownself pro but actually all the signs point that he fake onez… pro traders got short but his trades machiam longs.... all his brokers charge high... the pro who use saxo all negotiate for cheap fees but most use interactive.

coolhead

Don't feed the troll....

Sent from HMD Global TA-1004 using GAGT

revhappy

Hey all, how's all your investing going?
Sharing my 2 year anniversay with Ibkr as we managed to beat the index amidst the bear market talk. I like to think my 'fund management' skills did better than those insurance professionals? =:p
PUYm3hL.jpg

I think pyschology is the biggest factor here. How much did you invest, to get these returns?

If I had to invest 10k, it is easier to stay in the market and chase some momentum stocks and generate profits. But try doing that with 1 million.

starfish.starfish

I think pyschology is the biggest factor here. How much did you invest, to get these returns?

If I had to invest 10k, it is easier to stay in the market and chase some momentum stocks and generate profits. But try doing that with 1 million.

Oh did you invest 1 million?

d5dude

10k was a lot of money to me when I was still in ns, and 1m may not be a lot of money to someone who has many millions to invest, its all relative.

wutawa

Isnt it easier to generate profits with more capital? Big fish r the main winners in the mkt, by diversity, lower overhead costs, and creating momentum. Or my thinking is wrong?

atf0007

coolhead

K|muRa^84

what do you guys think of ray dalio's comments on the rate cut

"The financial world is now awash with liquidity chasing investments because of all the rate cuts and especially the QE that put $15trn into the hands of investors since the Global Financial Crisis. The Fed and other central banks easing today will push more money and credit into financial assets, which will cause prices to rise but future expected returns to decline. In other words, it's short-term bullish and long-term bearish because future expected returns will fall and central banks are running out of stimulants; interest rates are already very close to zero, and the Fed pushing more money into the system by printing it and buying financial assets will soon push the expected returns for equities and other assets as low as they can go."

coolhead

what do you guys think of ray dalio's comments on the rate cut
How does printing money and pushing credit into financial assets cause future expected returns to decline? I think this is applicable to bonds but is it applicable to other asset classes?

K|muRa^84

How does printing money and pushing credit into financial assets cause future expected returns to decline? I think this is applicable to bonds but is it applicable to other asset classes?

yeah i dont quite get the logic behind it
i'm an econs dummy though

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.