The Criterion EC

tokidoki_sg

cos even if we drive, i do drive actually. if we drive, anywhere is consider ok also but majority are thinking of their kids i believe, they need to be near transportation to go school. u see the ECs u mention, there are not really many primary schools nearby within walking distance.

Northland Primary School and Chung Cheng Sec School (Yishun) both within 1km. Both are good schools in Yishun.

tokidoki_sg

When Ave 8 is ready, those from Sembawang can also access Ave 1 and CTE/TPE. At least there is an improvement in infrastructure before Canberra is developed, not after.

Go BKE also very convenient. My current place also fast access to expressway but Criterion location is even better since can go TPE real fast too via the new road.

hwaa

Northland Primary School and Chung Cheng Sec School (Yishun) both within 1km. Both are good schools in Yishun.

forgot abt northland, still walkable but a little bit far. yes and northland usually need to ballot, if cant get in then need to look elsewhere. chungfu is the best in yishun and most parents would wanna put their kids there, need transportation to go there.

i mean end of the day drive or not unless no kids then any location will be okay cos just 2 person only.. if have kids then best would be try to be near mrt or have buses that goes many places.

eg. chong pang, they have many buses that goes to different places.. airport, orchard, woodlands etc...

hwaa

on a side note i really love avenue 1... the morning crowd that uses lentor is really a headache for those who drive.. left right center all using lentor. :s13:

tokidoki_sg

forgot abt northland, still walkable but a little bit far. yes and northland usually need to ballot, if cant get in then need to look elsewhere. chungfu is the best in yishun and most parents would wanna put their kids there, need transportation to go there.

i mean end of the day drive or not unless no kids then any location will be okay cos just 2 person only.. if have kids then best would be try to be near mrt or have buses that goes many places.

eg. chong pang, they have many buses that goes to different places.. airport, orchard, woodlands etc...

of coz not walk to Northland lah. Take school bus. At least it is within 1km, got chance to ballot in Phase 2C.

Northland and Chong Fu are on par in terms of PSLE grades. Chong Fu consider quite KS from what i know. Sat also organise optional tuition from external vendor for P1. End up parent will feel pressurized to sign up bcoz whole class going.

hwaa

of coz not walk to Northland lah. Take school bus. At least it is within 1km, got chance to ballot in Phase 2C.

Northland and Chong Fu are on par in terms of PSLE grades. Chong Fu consider quite KS from what i know. Sat also organise optional tuition from external vendor for P1. End up parent will feel pressurized to sign up bcoz whole class going.

i thot u meant walking to northland. :s13:

paiseh paiseh. :o

yah chungfu quite competitve, got good got bad i guess.

vroomvroom

Slight different view here. Personally, I feel for primary sch going kids, I reckon most (not all) parents will either fetch (by car, bicycles) or walk them to the sch and back or use the services of sch bus. Hence my consideration of house location (if mainly based on kids education) will only be based on the primary sch they are going to. It is good logistically if it is nearby.

However, once they reach secondary sch and beyond, I think there is no need to factor in that much on ease of transportation for them. Call me a bad father but if I can walk (or take a bus) from Criterion to Khatib Mrt station, a 13-16 yrs old kid surely can do better. :)

tokidoki_sg

Slight different view here. Personally, I feel for primary sch going kids, I reckon most (not all) parents will either fetch (by car, bicycles) or walk them to the sch and back or use the services of sch bus. Hence my consideration of house location if based on kids will only be based on the primary sch they are going to. It is good logistically if it is nearby.

However, once they reach secondary sch and beyond, I think there is no need to factor in that much on ease of transportation for them. Call me a bad father but if I can walk from Criterion to Khatib Mrt station, a 13-16 yrs old kid surely can do better. :)

Agree, i will expect my kid to be on his own once at sec sch level. When i shifted to Yishun, i also took bus all the way from Yishun to Clementi to attend sec sch. Even have to change bus at AMK. That time no JE station yet and Yishun was still so ulu.

Walk from Criterion to Khatib MRT! How long does that takes? SG weather not gd for walking leh. Even though now my place is 5 to 7 mins walk to MRT, i rather take feeder bus.

I hope after the revamp, there will be better shops in new mall at Northpark. Northpoint though has improved a lot but still not gd enuff. Then SunPlaza at Sembawang MRT after so many revamp, still so boring. zzzzz Hope the new mall at Canberra Station will be interesting too.

vroomvroom

Agree, i will expect my kid to be on his own once at sec sch level. When i shifted to Yishun, i also took bus all the way from Yishun to Clementi to attend sec sch. Even have to change bus at AMK. That time no JE station yet and Yishun was still so ulu.

Walk from Criterion to Khatib MRT! How long does that takes? SG weather not gd for walking leh. Even though now my place is 5 to 7 mins walk to MRT, i rather take feeder bus.

I hope after the revamp, there will be better shops in new mall at Northpark. Northpoint though has improved a lot but still not gd enuff. Then SunPlaza at Sembawang MRT after so many revamp, still so boring. zzzzz Hope the new mall at Canberra Station will be interesting too.

Due to my work and family commitment at home, I make it a point to walk everyday from Khatib MRT station back home @ Blk 4++ in order to clock in some form of exercise everyday. Normally (weather permits as long as it don't rains), it should take about 25mins. If you walk from Khatib to Criterion, you can cut through acacia breeze estate and it should be nearer. I reckon 20mins would be enough.

tokidoki_sg

Due to my work and family commitment at home, I make it a point to walk everyday from Khatib MRT station back home @ Blk 4++ in order to clock in some form of exercise everyday. Normally (weather permits as long as it don't rains), it should take about 25mins. If you walk from Khatib to Criterion, you can cut through acacia breeze estate and it should be nearer. I reckon 20mins would be enough.

I used to stay in Blk 40x. ;)
B4 there's 806, i also used to walk from Yishun interchange back home. :D

Egon Yeo

Got direct bus 805 to northland from criterion.

Sent from Xiaomi MI 4I using GAGT

hwaa

Slight different view here. Personally, I feel for primary sch going kids, I reckon most (not all) parents will either fetch (by car, bicycles) or walk them to the sch and back or use the services of sch bus. Hence my consideration of house location (if mainly based on kids education) will only be based on the primary sch they are going to. It is good logistically if it is nearby.

However, once they reach secondary sch and beyond, I think there is no need to factor in that much on ease of transportation for them. Call me a bad father but if I can walk (or take a bus) from Criterion to Khatib Mrt station, a 13-16 yrs old kid surely can do better. :)

agreed, thats why i only mention primary school.

hongge

B4 I bought my car, I walked from yishun mrt home. Yishun mrt->adora green->jade spring->dew spring. Abt 20mins slow walk. Just hated that need to give way to cyclists along yishun park area.

hwaa

the new avenue 1 can link us to seletar mall and abit further up punggol waterway. think thats abt it already..

tokidoki_sg

the new avenue 1 can link us to seletar mall and abit further up punggol waterway. think thats abt it already..

yah, already explore that road to go to Waterway Point. also try the new road when returning from CTE. at least got option to bypass Lentor but end up the small roads are so congested now. Luckily the road leading to The Criterion is not congested as compared to the other direction.

vroomvroom

yah, already explore that road to go to Waterway Point. also try the new road when returning from CTE. at least got option to bypass Lentor but end up the small roads are so congested now. Luckily the road leading to The Criterion is not congested as compared to the other direction.

I tried once at Yishun ave 7 during peak hrs (about 6pm) going towards VICOM direction. I really wonder how are those symphony suite residents going to cope in future just to get home by car. It is a crazy jam situation.

tokidoki_sg

I tried once at Yishun ave 7 during peak hrs (about 6pm) going towards VICOM direction. I really wonder how are those symphony suite residents going to cope in future just to get home by car. It is a crazy jam situation.

Exactly lor. I also avoid that stretch during after office peak hrs. And so many heavy vehicles lor. Luckily now Chong Fu is single session already. Else the kids taking bus home also will be stucked in the jam.

hongge

Wow, all of you so healthy lifestyle leh. All walk home from MRT.

That's bcos 804 n 806 long que at bus interchange when 860 not introduced yet. Come to think of it, it was quite nice experience walking home. Journey is long but I get to chit chat anything under the sun with my wife till we reached home. Now with car, she slp all the way till reach home. Haha

vroomvroom

i wonder who will buy symphoney suite :D

Being the cheapest PC around, I reckon most are investors. I doubt there will be many who will want to re-locate their whole family to that location. I may be wrong though for its really close to Chongfu Pri.

But even if I have kids going to Chongfu in future and if eligibility to EC is not an issue, I probably still choose Brownstone/Visionaire (over symphony suites).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.