The Leather Thread

chromehead

Here's what I did for the scratch on my "Tony the Ant"

Kena scratched... Sian...

Spoon it with Saphir Renovateur (cause don't want to pay for deer bone)

Caked it with AE Cordovan polish (applied too much actually, you'll see why I should have put on lesser amount)

Brushed the hell out of it. Scratch is gone but still have to do more brushing to take away the extra polish...

For some reason, mine is very prone to scratching so I do this like once a month since I had mine last Oct... How's it for the rest of you horse ass owners? :D

i scratched mine even with fingernails, rubbing it a little makes them less obvious as you massage the oils and waxes out.
big deep scratches may have to use spoon like you did.

i only gave it a wipe once in a long time and leave the small scratches as it is.
jeans pocket is gonna do the daily buff/scratch for me lol

how do you find the Tony's design for our currency size?

whatme

Few days ago made an order with Toby88 ..

Very excited to meet him and receive it.. :s13:

Shall gpgt in few days time...

SquallLH

i scratched mine even with fingernails, rubbing it a little makes them less obvious as you massage the oils and waxes out.

i only gave it a wipe once in a long time and leave the small scratches as it is.

Guess I'm a lot more OCD :s13:

Hmm... I have some issues with anything bigger than our 50 dollar bills. I can probably stuff up to 5x 50 dollar bills at most before it refuses to sit flat due to the space allowance of the cash slot (due to how close the money flap and the wallet proper is). I will probably post some pictures to show what this means later when I reach home.

However, I got mine when this model is still referred to as the "Small Herbie" via a MTO request so am not sure if they made any changes after they debuted it as "Tony the Ant".

Given a chance to choose again, I'll probably get the Fat Herbie instead as its card slot can accommodate a lot more cards and the cash slot would be able to accommodate more bills.

One advantage of "Tony the Ant" though is since I don't like to sit on my wallets to avoid damaging them. As it's small, it fits my front pockets without bulging. Very useful when I'm wearing tighter pants/jeans :s13:

All in a Day

Guess I'm a lot more OCD :s13:

Hmm... I have some issues with anything bigger than our 50 dollar bills. I can probably stuff up to 5x 50 dollar bills at most before it refuses to sit flat due to the space allowance of the cash slot (due to how close the money flap and the wallet proper is). I will probably post some pictures to show what this means later when I reach home.

However, I got mine when this model is still referred to as the "Small Herbie" via a MTO request so am not sure if they made any changes after they debuted it as "Tony the Ant".

Given a chance to choose again, I'll probably get the Fat Herbie instead as its card slot can accommodate a lot more cards and the cash slot would be able to accommodate more bills.

One advantage of "Tony the Ant" though is since I don't like to sit on my wallets to avoid damaging them. As it's small, it fits my front pockets without bulging. Very useful when I'm wearing tighter pants/jeans :s13:

Many other countries currency bills are bigger sized than our sgd50. If u get wallet just nice for sgd50 size type, when travel n get bigger size notes u sure pek cek.

SquallLH

Many other countries currency bills are bigger sized than our sgd50. If u get wallet just nice for sgd50 size type, when travel n get bigger size notes u sure pek cek.

Well, I would say most Ashland wallets (other than fat herbie and Johnny the fox for larger bills) are not meant for holding lots of cash since it's made for the Americans where CCs are used more often. Probably have to email Phil with exact specifications so they can modify the specs for you. No one told me these when I made mine :o hope this helps those who are considering Ashland.

As for bills from other countries, I normally swap for my cheaper old wallets so that I wouldn't feel the pinch if they happened to be lost or stolen when I'm overseas :)

PetiaC

I give up already, cut and buff my finger nails blunt still bo tai bo ci scratch with normal use.

once a while i will brush with horsehair brush to hide small scratches. if major scratch put some Venetian and buff with cloth.

chromehead

I give up already, cut and buff my finger nails blunt still bo tai bo ci scratch with normal use.

once a while i will brush with horsehair brush to hide small scratches. if major scratch put some Venetian and buff with cloth.

yea somehow it behaves like this for shell. now i wonder how those OCD can tahan with their shell shoes.
iirc usual full grain should hold better against small scratches, maybe it is the inherent result of heavily stuffed/pull up leathers. if thats the case, chromexcel should exhibit similar response to scratches and scuffs.

try leaving them scratches alone and see if you still like it after 6mths to 1 year of use. not everyone enjoys 'character' on their goods though.

if really bth with many small scratches maybe its better for the person to go back to those leathers with stamped textures and clear coated. those textures will hide small scratches very well until one manages to scratch it deep.

CallmeZen

My experience with chromexcel is that it behaves similar to horsebutt but it's easier to take care of. Small scratches or rather scratches in general are easily covered with obenauf and some scrubbing.

whatme

fo3uwn.jpg

Just received my keyholder with extra card slot from Toby88!

Very nice of him! Explained every enquiries i made and very patience and nice chap.

Ordering process is very smooth and easy, during meet up, did some chit chat and some doubts that i am unsure of.

I must say.. very very experienced fella!

SquallLH

yea somehow it behaves like this for shell. now i wonder how those OCD can tahan with their shell shoes.
iirc usual full grain should hold better against small scratches, maybe it is the inherent result of heavily stuffed/pull up leathers. if thats the case, chromexcel should exhibit similar response to scratches and scuffs.

try leaving them scratches alone and see if you still like it after 6mths to 1 year of use. not everyone enjoys 'character' on their goods though.

if really bth with many small scratches maybe its better for the person to go back to those leathers with stamped textures and clear coated. those textures will hide small scratches very well until one manages to scratch it deep.

Well, I guess that's just the nature of the beast since the layer that we're always scratching is probably just the polish layer so unless it's a cut down to the skin fiber itself, we can always polish it away? Personal opinion though... :) I just tahan the scratches till the end of the week polishing normally... :s13:

My experience with chromexcel is that it behaves similar to horsebutt but it's easier to take care of. Small scratches or rather scratches in general are easily covered with obenauf and some scrubbing.

Sounds interesting. Do you have chromexcel as wallet or as footwear?

Erwinlow

anyone got any obenaufs lp wanna let go? dont need too much hence no point getting a full jar

rikukoh

Belt altering

Hello,

Any recommendations on belt altering ? Recently bought a new A|X belt but too loose. Planning to shorten as punching another hole looks very ugly with all those excess leather hanging out.

Thanks,
:D:D:D

All in a Day

Hello,

Any recommendations on belt altering ? Recently bought a new A|X belt but too loose. Planning to shorten as punching another hole looks very ugly with all those excess leather hanging out.

Thanks,

Depends on your belt design whether u can shorten the belt or not

jtv_tm

Hi all,

Not sure if this has been asked in the thread as the thread is rather long.

May I know where can I buy Neatsfoot oil in Singapore? I've recently bought a leather bag with natural veg tan, and the manufacturer has recommended me to use the oil to condition it.

SquallLH

Hi all,

Not sure if this has been asked in the thread as the thread is rather long.

May I know where can I buy Neatsfoot oil in Singapore? I've recently bought a leather bag with natural veg tan, and the manufacturer has recommended me to use the oil to condition it.

Well, Pure Neatsfoot oil is not sold in Singapore. I got mine from the States just couple months back, you could pm me if you're interested as it's still 95% full and I'm not using it anymore...

zeronine79tn

Hello,

Thanks,

Hey, maybe you could send me the pic thru whatsapp and i shall see if it can be altered. =) You can contact me at 8388383Four =D

zhenyu1994

Hi everyone,

Just wondering if anyone is using yuketen leather boots here?

If yes, what type of oil do you recommend?

jtv_tm

Tuckshop has been selling neatsfoot oil since 2012.

hey, thanks for the information. Anyway, I just found out recently that my bag is staining my pants due to the tan :(

That's why the manufacturer is recommending me to use neatsfoot oil.

However, I'd like to ask the experts here if there's an alternate solution to my problem, or do I need additional products to "seal" the tan other than neatsfoot oil, which is primarily used to maintain the leather.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.