The Nexus 4 Thread

YNWA888

You guys got check battery under setting to see how long the phone lasts without charging before you go charged it?

Terminatrix99

Battery Impressions

Well over the weekend I decided to push the battery.

I turned on GPS and did 1.5hrs of turn-by-turn navigation with the screen on (bai nian all over sg lol), with good amounts of FB, Whatsapp, and Instagram photo taking thrown in. Wifi, GPS, Google Now, background sync on all the way.

I got about 6hrs in with 3hrs of screen-on time, finishing with 20% battery. Running on 4.2.2. Maybe I am easily satisfied but I was pleasantly surprised (I came from HTC Inc S CM7.2, which averaged 1.5hrs screen on time per day).

Can't wait for Cyanogenmod 10.1 to become stable. I think the only real way to prolong battery life is to down clock the processor. 1ghz is enough for FB and WA and web browsing.

cheong79

u all bought the 16gb one issit? how come 500+ sia

i bought the 8gb one(cause i have nexus 7 liao)

299+15+20 * whatever the us rate is now.

nvm, i just realised i forget to declare tax :/

US$299 is less than S$400 so no need to declare lah.

Do not include shipping charges ok.

kebosatu

anyone got this problem when in call, the other party hear you like very far away like the mic not sensitive but sounds alright when in speaker mode?

software issue?

yes... sometimes I thought I was in the speaker mode....

kebosatu

Mine can last for about 13 hours in total with 4hrs+ of screen on with both 3G and Wifi. Quite heavy usage, frequent checking of whatsapp and other social media apps. :o Running on Carbon ROM + Trinity Kernel.

13 hours is amazing. mine just unplug from charger had 2 lines whatsapp chat, it drained to 98% already. weird....

kebosatu

regardless of what...the thing the battery life for the nexus 4 is really absymal.....i owned previously gnexus and nexus one......and the battery life of the nexus 4 is really incomparable to its 2 predecessor. the gnexus battery isn't a battery monster either but i didn't expect it to be so bad for the nexus 4.....

there's serious some sort of tuning needed for the battery....i've disabled all location based reporting, much of the sync, brightness at 20% and still the battery life is barely able to substain...this is the first phone i've used that its battery life decrement in 2% continuosly within a few minutes of screen-on but not doing anything....

i just wander what is wrong because my nexus 7 with 3G is a monster in battery life but my nexus 4 is real bad. i configured everything exactly the same and both have 3G data...

i might need more tuning and kernel testing before i can deduce the battery life of nexus 4 a failure..but so far, the first week of my nexus 4 usage...i am really dissappointed. :(

bro, let us know once you have find out how to preserve the battery life...

jeaimentvous

Turn off NFC, turn off GPS, go into your Google account disable sync for the services you don't need (Currents, Music etc.)

For me personally is to run a custom kernel eg. Franco. Can undervolt if you wish but not necessary; the default settings good enough imo; basically you won't have all 4 cores running when doing email. =)

hawthorne

If the battery life is that poor, I think I'll cancel my order. :-/
I've owned galaxy nexus before and I thought web browsing battery life is poor because of amoled using more power to display white color.
Now N4 with IPS LCD, bigger battery also poor battery life. Google/OEM really need to optimize for battery life.

Battery life quite ok, compared to my SGS2 with 2000mAh battery.
Usual before when I reach home my SGS2 already in the red liao.

N4 same time lowest is 30% nia.

lordlad0

anybody want the Nexus 4 wireless orb charger?

I am thinking ordering...let me know if anybody wanna tag along order...i only charge an extra SGD10 for 'trouble fee'....

Price:

Wireless charger price in Play Store = USD60 = SGD75

Domestic Shipping to forwarder = USD14 = SGD17.40 (these will be split, the more ppl order, the more can save).

International Shipping = Unknow for now but since this is less than SGD300, no need GST. Again, the more ppl tag along for order, the more can be saved.

Do PM me if you really want. Thanks.

lordlad0

Yesterday's not that bad...i installed Franco's R83 Kernel...smoother and getting better battery...usage of whatsapp, light surfing, and watched couple of short videos plus music listening.

screenshot2013021910430.png

on another note, any of you used dashclock widget yet? One of the nicest lock screen widget out there. Plus the developer open up its api so alot of other 3rd party extensions were already created for it like Whatsapp notification.

screenshot2013021910432.png

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.